We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Cardrona room, which was well presented and very clean, with great views of the mountains. The bathroom was spacious. The kitchenette, whilst small, was perfectly adequate and well equipped. Craig and Michelle were delightful hosts; the little touches like christmas cake on arrival were really appreciated. This accommodation is located just outside of town, but for us that was part of the charm, a very quiet and relaxing location after a days hiking, with no traffic noise. If we are fortunate enough to return to Wanaka, we will definitely stay here again. This was one of the nicest places we stayed in during our NZ trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2011

Spent 1 night here with our 2 teenage children. Were made to feel very welcome on arrival. Luxurious accommodation...great facilities. We left something very important behind and Michele, the owner, quickly emailed us and offered to send it on to our next destination, free of charge. Small gestures like that are really appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stujen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Great little family run place. Self contained unit had a nicely appointed kitchen, big dining table, large living room with pillows and a wool throw. Felt more like a friend's home rather than a rental.

Small, quiet place just off the beaten track. About 3km from Wanaka.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Excellent place to stay. The owners of the property are very welcoming and make sure that guests are comfortable and are enjoying there stay. The property has beautiful location. Kids have plenty of spaces to play and run around.I would highly recommend this place to any one who plans to stay in wanaka.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The i-site found the Alpine View Lodge for us - and we all agreed (my husband, myself and our 13 year old son) that it was one of the best places we stayed at during our month-long holiday in New Zealand. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable with beautiful landscaped gardens and BBQ area at our disposal.
Michele and Craig were really friendly and helpful. It was also very quiet - no road noise.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewlinda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of two nights in this beautiful area. There is a stunning view from every window. We were upgraded to the house and had the use of the deck and garden area. Michelle and Craig were perfect hosts and run their business to extremely high standards. They lent us bikes (with instructions on how to use them!) and requests for condiments and some CD's to listen to whilst we bbq'd were no problem.
We enjoyed the hot tub in the dark whilst gazing at the stars. This was a perfect stay and we look forward to returning in the winter for a different experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowrose68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Stayed in Alpine View Lodge with my son this July, second year in the row now. Love this place Very nice and quiet, away from noise and traffic, with awesome views of neighbouring mountains. Owners Michele and Craig are really passionate about their property and doing all possible to make sure that your stay there is as comfortable as ipossible. Highly recommend Alpine View Lodge to couples and Families with kids.

Rafael

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrv_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
3 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 53 in Wanaka
274 reviews
12 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
362 reviews
4 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 46 in Wanaka
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Address: 23 Studholme Road | Rd 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £98 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing