We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wedding Venue of our dreams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #14 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Wedding Venue of our dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding at Maple Lodge Wanaka and really could not have asked for anything more!

When choosing where to hold our wedding, we considered many different options, and chose Maple Lodge as believed the service and package they offered was better than any other in Wanaka...and we were not disappointed.

We stayed for 4 nights over the wedding along with the rest of the bridal party and our families. Paul & Bernie went out of their way to ensure that everything ran smoothly, and went above and beyond with the service they offered.

Once the pavilion marquee was erected, the lodge was transformed and felt like a whole different world. It went from a homely comfortable bed and breakfast to a classy, elegant venue which completed our special day.

The rooms are lovely, each room has it's own theme and I would highly recommend booking the Premium Suite which is what we stayed in. The rooms were extremely spacious and gave us enough room to spread out all our piles and piles of things for the wedding!

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Maple Lodge to anyone else planning a wedding, as we got everything we expected and more!

Room Tip: The Premium Suite on the garden side of the lodge has spectacular views of the mountains and is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat-aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
121
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Poor value, particularly the package we purchased. Service was non existent except for the provision of breakfast, but even that was nothing special, considering the rating. Were offered wine on first night, accepted and then were provided with a red wine that was off. Reminded me of faulty towers that effort :). Apologies for having to make this review, but the whole experience was just unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

For my sister's wedding last month I spent four nights at Maple Lodge alongside the rest of the bridal party. Having already visited Maple Lodge once before with a friend I knew the great things I could expect of this accommodation and I was not disappointed. As this location served as both our accommodation and our reception venue I feel that I must comment on both. I have travelled a lot and know what it is like to enter a room with hopeful expectations and find that it is much less than you had expected, so I think these review websites are really important!! The rooms were spacious, clean and a delight to stay in. I would love to know where they source their beds as I have never had a better sleep. I loved how each of the rooms were uniquely themed, all allowing plenty of floor space for hair and make-up design on the morning of the wedding. We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning, containing a wide range of local and homemade products to tantalise the tastebuds (homemade preserves, tasty fruit salads and scones and muffins fresh from the oven!!). The hosts, Paul and Bernie, provided an excellent service - whether this was in keeping our hunger at bay, servicing the rooms or just providing some quality local knowledge of the Wanaka area. We were amazed to see how this modern yet homely lodge was then transformed into a stunning, spacious reception venue. The marquee provided an excellent flow between the comfort of the dining room and the beauty of the carefully landscaped outdoor area. In planning the wedding, we did not feel limited in numbers and were able to work alongside Paul and Bernie in deciding on the best in catering, entertainment and design for the wedding day. Paul and Bernie appear to have a lot of experience in planning this sort of event and had some great connections with local companies which helped to make the day a huge success. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue to others in future, whether this be for a few night's escape or for a function such as we had. Maple Lodge is becoming a much talked about feature amongst my family and friend groups and I can only say that I very much look forward to my next stay there!

Room Tip: Having seen most of the rooms on this trip I would struggle to really recommend one over the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emlouise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at this delightful B&B and enjoyed every minute we were there. The room was very comfortable (we had a premier suite), with plenty of room and a small patio in front. The hosts, Paul and Bernie were very welcoming and made every effort to ensure we were well looked after. The breakfast was delicious and the homemade muffins were especially yummy. The setting is tranquil and amongst maple trees, so we really felt part of the countryside. We felt very much at home in this B&B. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquamarine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

After several days at the lodge I could only come to the conclusion that this was a Boutique Hotel that chose not to offer evenings meals. The quality of the rooms, the furnishings, the delghtful area where you take their gorgeous breakfasts and the full conceirge service are entirely consistant with such a discription. The lodge is set amid an orchard of trees and the room we stayed in had stunning views of the foothills of the Southern Alps as well as some of the peaks. It is reached by its own private road producing a sense of exclusiveness and serenity which is quite different from the accomodation in Wanaka.

Wanaka, 10 minutes down the road, is about gentle hospitality a few good restaurants offering "new healthy cooking" as well as the best Indian Restaurant on the South Island. 15 minutes down the road in the opposite direction is Wanaka Airport and a journey there may lead you to Milford Sound via Mount Aspiring or Mount Cook or even skydiving.

The climate in Central Otago is ideal for those wishing to avoid Northern Hemisphere winters with annual rainfall of 12 inchs a year.

Would I return, no doubt about it, I would be "There and Back Again" in a shot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Fantastic location just outside Wanaka, 5 minutes from the heart of the town and lake - a really peaceful haven, with amazing views of the mountains. The accommodation was spacious, immaculately clean and very comfortable. Bernie and Paul were the perfect hosts with nothing being too much trouble for them, and their attention to detail and their guests needs was second to none. The Lodge is ideally situated to access many places of interest and adenalin fuelled activities - loads of ways to spend your days following a hearty, home cooked breakfast (usually by the resident Hobbit - ask Paul for details!!) There is a large selection of local information and Bernie and Paul were happy to book excursions/activities on guests behalfs.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay on the South Island, you'll struggle to find better than this, and we would highly recommend it.

Thank you Bernie & Paul for making this a memorable stay

Andy & Sue (UK)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This wonderful inn was designed and built by Paul and Bernie, the owners, and everything down to the smallest detail is first rate. It is beautiful and elegant and our accommodations were large and comfortable. They have landscaped the grounds with taste and imagination and it was a pleasure to sit outside on our own patio with a glass of wine, admire our surroundings and appreciate the peace and quiet. Paul and Bernie were very friendly, hospitable and helpful hosts, giving us delicious breakfasts and afternoon refreshments. They have a good selection of recent movies, and we watched a couple on their large flat-screen tv in great comfort. They also provide free internet use, which was rare on our trip and very much appreciated, since we hadn't brought along our laptop.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrugalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#12 of 58 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing