We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned accommodation and service”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #15 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned accommodation and service”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great hosts, fantastic, modern facilities and the best breakfast in Wanaka to start the day off. I would highly recommend staying at Maple Lodge if you are planning a ski holiday to Queenstown / Wanaka - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig_brook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hi Craig, glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Lodge and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in Wanaka for 3 nights and Maple Lodge and itsexcellent hosts were the highlight of our short trip.

Well designed and comfortable, clean and cosy would be the best tag lines to describe this property.

Original artwork and logfire in the evening made up for miserable weather on the mountain during the day.

Easily accesible in a pretty rural setting just outside of Wanaka. Why don't you give it a chance to surprise you?

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with nice view and a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad your stay with us made up for the poor weather you had on the mountain. We look forward to welcoming you back to Maple Lodge on another visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Maple Lodge for 6 nights. It was heaven. While the snow and weather were pretty good, the hospitality we were shown by Bernie and Paul made our trip. The lodge itself is immaculate. Having very modern furnishings, exquisite rooms and luxurious beds, it still felt like "home". Paul and his "sous chef" Bernie offer a fantastic range of homemade and wholesome foods for breakfast ( I'm still waiting on that muffin recipe!). They were very accommodating to anything we needed, going above and beyond our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maple Lodge, and will definitely be referring our friends and family there! Would love to come back in summer!

Room Tip: View from the front rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Symes_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you David & Sarah for your lovely review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Lodge and look forward to seeing you on another trip to Wanaka. I've emailed the muffin recipe - so hope you are enjoying those to :>)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were only going to stay for a week, and ended up there for two months (with the odd day off for side trips like the West Coast). So you can tell we liked Maple Lodge! We loved Paul and Berny's hospitality, always helpful but never intrusive. It was a real home from home. Tea and home-made scones greeted us every afternoon as we sat on our private patio enjoying the sun, the mountains in the background and maple trees scattered on the far side of the lawn. Even little Mini, the sweet house dog, joined in, waiting patiently for a bit of scone to come his way. The rooms were modern and very comfortable. Maple Lodge was a haven of tranquility after the lively atmosphere of nearby Wanaka, where we had our meals in a variety of good restaurants. Truly, nectar for the soul. Ulla and Bryan, Oxford, England.

Room Tip: They'e all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan and Ulla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Its was a pleasure to have you as guests at Maple Lodge. Hopefully see you in the summer when you come back to defend you title's. Mini is still looking out for her auntie Ula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A very friendly welcome from our hosts Paul & Bernie, who are happy to share their knowledge of the surrounding area and the things you can do, whilst chatting over a glass of wine.

We loved the downstairs space, and could imagine this would be a lovely location to relax during the skiing season, chewing the cud with your fellow guests after a day skiing. The lodge, whilst in a peaceful rural location, which has its plus points, is a bit of a drive out of Wanaka. You need to consider this if you want to eat out in town during the evening, which we like to do without having to consider driving afterwards.

We were allocated an upstairs room which was very well appointed and with a very comfortable bed. Although the room was not enormous, the en suite bathroom had a very good shower, but not the bath I had been expecting.

Exceptional breakfast with plenty of choices, expertly cooked by Paul, albeit I suspect that Bernie had an input with the lovely muffins! We had to make an early start on our last morning with them, and an early breakfast was very willingly accommodated.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We took a short trip to Wanaka for Warbirds Airshow and stayed at Maple Lodge for 3 nights. Everything was fantastic - location to the airshow, super breakfast and afternon tea waiting for us when we got back. Paul & Bernie were great hosts giving recommendations and organising restaurants for us. Very comfortable accommodation we would recommend to anyone. We hope to be back for 2014 Warbirds.

Room Tip: We had a beutiful view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freebird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Maple lodge presents itself in a friendly and professional manner providing beautifully appointed rooms in a very picturesque environment. Attention to detail stood out over my stay. Bernie and Paul were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing