We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #14 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Maple Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are truly wonderful and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast provided by them is so good and gets you on your way for the day. It is lovely and quite with the sounds of sheep in the distance. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a taste of hospitality in New Zealand

By the way, interesting fact - the rooms are all named after trees in New Zealand! On our many walks, we came across those trees. It's a great way to bring the ambiance of nature into the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A bit of a schlep out of town, the property is nicely proportioned and the room clean and comfortable. Paul and Berny try very hard - perhaps too hard - they sought to engage us in small talk at every opportunity; some people may welcome that - we dont; particularly not after having explained we had been travelling for five hours to get there! Were offered a welcome cup of tea but had to collect it from the kitchen ourselves.

Breakfast was OK - but not at all excellent by NZ standards. Internet was slow and limited to 100MB. No minibar in the room - it all felt a bit clinical and controlled.

One of its selling points is the distant views of the mountains. Get there soon if that is what you are interested in because they have planed soem 30 Maple trees between the house and the view; these are already 4-5 metres high. .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This B and B was immaculately presented. It was spotlessly (and I really mean spotlessly!) clean throughout, the room we had was large and opened out on to a terrace with distant mountain views and the communal sitting / dining room was light, large, friendly and comfortable. Paul and Berny could not have been more welcoming, helpful, friendly and informative and we wished we had been able to stay longer than the one night our itinerary allowed. What we didn't realise until we got there was that they run a gratis shuttle service into town. This meant we could go into Wanaka itself and have a good meal and some wine, without worrying about driving, without having to taxi both ways and have all the advantages of a peaceful out-of-town site with lovely grounds. Oh, and the bed was really comfortable, too and I don't think we had a better breakfast anywhere in NZ. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwiththewind47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

When I stay in these boutique bed and breakfast locations, which are almost unique to New Zealand, I judge them on three criteria.

The layout out of the property and the rooms sense of specialness.

The passion of our hosts for offering hospitality.

The quality of the breakfasts.

In all three regards Maple Lodge delivers I fell at home, welcomed but crucially not in someones home.

Paul and Bernie were the perfect hosts knowledgable indeed they have built up an encyclopedic knowledge of the area, friendly and approachable. As with our previous visit they offered a full conceirge service.

The lodge is prestine clean and they have added one or two pieces which makes it a little warmer.

The breakfasts made by Paul were very good, my favourite the pancakes fruit and maple syrup.

I talk a good deal about how Trip Advisor has its fair share of passive/aggressive reviewers incapable of asking their hosts to deal with an issue but quite ready to tell the global audience how something minor went wrong which could easily be addressed. If something needed addressing Paul and Bernie would do it for you.

I do wish to emphasise two points:-

Wanaka is an absolute gem it really puzzles me that more people do not stay here rather than the more bustling Queenstown if you want a quiter more thoughtful Kiwi experience but full of life and great food options and stunning locations its all here even a small boutique £D cinema. I was pointed at Wanaka last year rather than Queenstown by a traveller whom had 25 weeks of N Z experience I am glad he did.

Maple Lodge is set apart in its own grounds minutes away from a wonderful walking track down to the river. It is a akin to staying on a farmstead in open country but is 5 minutes from Wanaka. Serenity and convienance combined.

Room Tip: The upper floors have even more stunning views toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at Maple Lodge. The entire experience cannot be faulted. The building and surrounding gardens are beautiful, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is relaxed. Despite all of this, the highlight of the stay was the wonderful hosts. Paul and Berny are generous and friendly people who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, the outdoor spa is a treat and we were also treated to two afternoon teas with freshly baked scones and homemade jam. We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A fantastic lodge built by wonderful hosts with care and passion? Check. Beautiful building, lounge and rooms set in amazing surroundings? Naturally. Every little detail taken care of to make our stay just a bit special? All part of the service!

We spent an awesome two nights at Maple Lodge and loved every minute of our time there. Paul and Berny were truly superb hosts. From their attentive service through breakfast time (and tucking into the wonderful muffins, eggs and other tasty offerings prepared to-order) to the turning-down of our bed at night (just an example of the attention to detail) we always felt welcomed into their home. And they are just fantastic people, great to chat with and only too happy to help. Our plans were pretty-much fixed for the weekend, but any questions we had were quickly and informatively answered.

Maple Lodge is exceptional in every respect. You owe yourself the absolute pleasure of staying here!

Room Tip: Choosing either the Kowhai or Rimu rooms will get you a balcony so you can survey the beautiful back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndEBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our tour of South Island. From the outset our hosts Paul & Berny were on hand to make our stay a pleasant experience and share their beautiful home. On our arrival we were offered tea and biscuits or something stronger once we had settled in. We chose the latter and enjoyed wine and cheese with our hosts who proffered both advice and recommendations on things to do and places to dine in Wanaka. Our accommodation was both spacious and comfortable with a large ensuite bathroom. Our room was a downstairs with a sliding patio door onto well maintained gardens. An added luxuary was the hot-tub a short distance from our patio that we used while also taking in the superb mountain scenery around us.The things got even better when we were treated to Paul & Berny's delicious breakfast menu choices served in a front of french windows with a view to the mountains. Truly five star.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing