We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maple Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardrona Hotel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
YHA Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
151
23
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
23
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaple treeshomemade sconesboutique bed and breakfastrural settingnew zealandhot tubstunning locationsmall hoteltwo nightsfresh fruitnice breakfastgreat hostspleasant place to stayloved staying herespacious bathroomguest kitchencomfortable accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Maple Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are truly wonderful and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast provided by them is so good and gets you on your way for the day. It is lovely and quite with the sounds of sheep in the distance. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a taste of hospitality in New Zealand

By the way, interesting fact - the rooms are all named after trees in New Zealand! On our many walks, we came across those trees. It's a great way to bring the ambiance of nature into the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A bit of a schlep out of town, the property is nicely proportioned and the room clean and comfortable. Paul and Berny try very hard - perhaps too hard - they sought to engage us in small talk at every opportunity; some people may welcome that - we dont; particularly not after having explained we had been travelling for five hours to get there! Were offered a welcome cup of tea but had to collect it from the kitchen ourselves.

Breakfast was OK - but not at all excellent by NZ standards. Internet was slow and limited to 100MB. No minibar in the room - it all felt a bit clinical and controlled.

One of its selling points is the distant views of the mountains. Get there soon if that is what you are interested in because they have planed soem 30 Maple trees between the house and the view; these are already 4-5 metres high. .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This B and B was immaculately presented. It was spotlessly (and I really mean spotlessly!) clean throughout, the room we had was large and opened out on to a terrace with distant mountain views and the communal sitting / dining room was light, large, friendly and comfortable. Paul and Berny could not have been more welcoming, helpful, friendly and informative and we wished we had been able to stay longer than the one night our itinerary allowed. What we didn't realise until we got there was that they run a gratis shuttle service into town. This meant we could go into Wanaka itself and have a good meal and some wine, without worrying about driving, without having to taxi both ways and have all the advantages of a peaceful out-of-town site with lovely grounds. Oh, and the bed was really comfortable, too and I don't think we had a better breakfast anywhere in NZ. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

When I stay in these boutique bed and breakfast locations, which are almost unique to New Zealand, I judge them on three criteria.

The layout out of the property and the rooms sense of specialness.

The passion of our hosts for offering hospitality.

The quality of the breakfasts.

In all three regards Maple Lodge delivers I fell at home, welcomed but crucially not in someones home.

Paul and Bernie were the perfect hosts knowledgable indeed they have built up an encyclopedic knowledge of the area, friendly and approachable. As with our previous visit they offered a full conceirge service.

The lodge is prestine clean and they have added one or two pieces which makes it a little warmer.

The breakfasts made by Paul were very good, my favourite the pancakes fruit and maple syrup.

I talk a good deal about how Trip Advisor has its fair share of passive/aggressive reviewers incapable of asking their hosts to deal with an issue but quite ready to tell the global audience how something minor went wrong which could easily be addressed. If something needed addressing Paul and Bernie would do it for you.

I do wish to emphasise two points:-

Wanaka is an absolute gem it really puzzles me that more people do not stay here rather than the more bustling Queenstown if you want a quiter more thoughtful Kiwi experience but full of life and great food options and stunning locations its all here even a small boutique £D cinema. I was pointed at Wanaka last year rather than Queenstown by a traveller whom had 25 weeks of N Z experience I am glad he did.

Maple Lodge is set apart in its own grounds minutes away from a wonderful walking track down to the river. It is a akin to staying on a farmstead in open country but is 5 minutes from Wanaka. Serenity and convienance combined.

Room Tip: The upper floors have even more stunning views toward the mountains.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at Maple Lodge. The entire experience cannot be faulted. The building and surrounding gardens are beautiful, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is relaxed. Despite all of this, the highlight of the stay was the wonderful hosts. Paul and Berny are generous and friendly people who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, the outdoor spa is a treat and we were also treated to two afternoon teas with freshly baked scones and homemade jam. We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews