We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #13 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fabulous!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My son and I just spent a truly wonderful week at Maple Lodge.

Berny, Paul and their gorgeous dog Minnie are fantastic hosts. We really felt like we were special guests in their home. The rooms are really warm and comfortable, well appointed with beds that felt like sleeping on clouds. The heated floor in the bathroom was very special.

We were in Wanaka to ski, and every morning we were greeted by the smiling faces of our hosts, armed with the most up-to-date information about the ski fields. Added to that was the truly yummy breakfast, with the home-cooked made to order hot options making for the perfect start to a skier's day.

At the end of an exhausting day skiing, our hosts were there to look after our needs. Over a cup of tea, they gave us advice about great places to eat, had copies of all of the menus in town, and made reservations for us. Paul and Berny really know about food and their recommendations are spot on.

We have fallen in love with Wanaka and our stay at Maple Lodge was a huge part of this. This skiing holiday in Wanaka staying at Maple Lodge surpassed every previous experience, both in New Zealand and in the Australian ski fields. It was a magical experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
It was a pleasure to host you and your son while skiing in Wanaka. We really liked the afternoon tea time updates of your spills and thrills while skiing the Cardrona mountain area. See you next winter or summer if you can get away from work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at Maple Lodge for the Easter weekend during our trip to New Zealand. Paul and Berny are great hosts, happy to give us advice and how to make the most of your time in Wanaka. (2 nights was not enough). Maple Lodge is a very relaxing place and we felt very comfortable from the moment we arrived. We had tea and scones in the garden for afternoon tea which was delightful. The room we had was upstairs, décor was in modern style, very comfortable bed, a private balcony and views to the Wanaka mountains. When we return to the lodge after dinner our room had been tidied and Easter eggs put on our pillows, that was so thoughtful and a lovely touch to make our stay very special.Planning on coming back to Maple Lodge for the winter skiing.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reeja1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My partner treated me to a weekend away at Maple Lodge.It was a great choice! The lodge is a warm modern place and is in a beautiful location just a short distance from Wanaka town. The room was very comfortable and we were able to walk straight out into the beautiful garden and enjoy the fantastic autumn colours of the maple trees. Paul & Berny were very helpful in making dinner reservations for us. We loved breakfast - it was a real treat to have so much choice and the scrambled eggs are superb.
We took a relaxing walk from the lodge to the Clutha River but were not lucky enough to catch any fish. Maybe we will have better luck at fishing on our next visit to Maple Lodge & Wanaka.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor room as we could walk straight out into the garden.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank millman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about Maple Lodge. The walk down to the Clutha is a nice walk in the evening and is the best time to try and catch a fish. See you in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We booked two nights at the Maple Lodge, but once there we asked if we could stay another night. The lodge is beautiful, and Paul and Berny are amazingly helpful. We appreciated their friendliness so much (especially after being in Queenstown and feeling lost in the shuffle at the motel we chose).
Berny and Paul suggested restaurants and activities and everything they suggested was great.
Upon arrival Berny pointed us toward the Clutha River track, which can be picked up just down their road from the lodge. It felt so good to get out and hike after our drive.
We were in the Rimu room and it was quiet and extremely comfortable. Lovely setting, and we could step out on the balcony at night and enjoy the stars.

Can't say enough about the breakfasts....lots of choices of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, and Paul made awesome omelets.

Paul and Berny made us feel like family, and we definitely will go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Maple Lodge is an excellent bed and breakfast. The owners recommended a running track which was interesting, the room was very comfortable with a pretty view - and the cooked breakfast delicious! A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Such a wonderful relaxing stay, Gorgeous surroundings, and tasteful room decor. The hosts are absolute naturals - NOT 'trying to hard' at all (as another guest wrote) They are so polite and welcoming. Breakfasts are AMAZING - they have a menu! Next time we're in Wanaka we will definitely stay again. It's situated right underneath Mt Iron which we walked up both mornings before breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Maple Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are truly wonderful and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast provided by them is so good and gets you on your way for the day. It is lovely and quite with the sounds of sheep in the distance. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a taste of hospitality in New Zealand

By the way, interesting fact - the rooms are all named after trees in New Zealand! On our many walks, we came across those trees. It's a great way to bring the ambiance of nature into the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
745 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
489 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#5 of 52 in Wanaka
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing