We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded gem”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #14 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Secluded gem”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent 4 nights on ski trip with 3 older children, hosts Paul Berny very welcoming and really did provide a 5 star level of service, Rooms very comfortable and spacious and our room on upper level had wonderful views from the balcony.Short drive to Wanaka and easy 40 mins to Cardrona .
Loved the peace and quiet and the lovely vistas.

Room Tip: upstairs room has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Paul and bernie were the ultimate hosts. So glad we stayed here. Felt comfortable from the time we arrived.

Beautifully appointed acAndrecommodation, cleaned every day, lounge was georgeous, amazing leather lounge to relax in with nice warm fire place. Spa outside bedroom was awesome. Short drive to Wanaka nice and close but a very quiet location nice and relaxing. Breakfast was terrific. Love the award winning muffins. Love the think fire doors and queit closing doors could not hear a thing from other guests...

Great homely feel. Will bring my wife back next time instead of bringing my soon to go skiing. Thank you so much. We will be back. .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights with Paul and Berny in August. We were given a warm welcome with pots of tea and brownies in front of an open fire. We spent most of our days skiing and were starving when we came home each night. Fortunately Paul and Berny have a copy of all the menus from the restaurants in Wanaka and they pre-booked us in for dinner each evening. Spices Indian is very good and Francesca's Italian pastas are excellent BTW! The room was nice, spotless and the underfloor heating in the bathroom is great if you have to get up at night! A menu at breakfast with fab muffins to take skiing with us was a real bonus and much appreciated given the queues for food some days at Cardrona. Thanks Paul and Berny for a really great stay might see you again next ski season!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you Aoife & Ian for taking the time to review Maple Lodge and sharing your experiences of Wanaka. We look forward to seeing you next season for more skiing, fudge brownies and muffins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night, it was not enough to enough to enjoy Maple Lodge or Wanaka. Our room was downstairs and was a really generous size, large bathroom and we loved our big windows that opened to our own outdoor area with the country and mountain views.

Paul and Berny were super hosts giving us advice on all things Wanaka and letting me enjoy my dog time with Minnie their Border Collie Spinger crossed that is trained to not come into the guests quarters but I didn't know that rule :)

Free internet, really great beds and yummy breakfast - what more could one ask for!

A big thank you for our memorable stay - next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: We loved our downstairs room called Totura but next time I want to try one of the upstairs rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always0naplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always a rush when you are trying to combine a business and pleasure trip. Mini is always looking out for new guests that will make a fuss of her. Hope you had a successful time in Queenstown after leaving Maple Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My son and I just spent a truly wonderful week at Maple Lodge.

Berny, Paul and their gorgeous dog Minnie are fantastic hosts. We really felt like we were special guests in their home. The rooms are really warm and comfortable, well appointed with beds that felt like sleeping on clouds. The heated floor in the bathroom was very special.

We were in Wanaka to ski, and every morning we were greeted by the smiling faces of our hosts, armed with the most up-to-date information about the ski fields. Added to that was the truly yummy breakfast, with the home-cooked made to order hot options making for the perfect start to a skier's day.

At the end of an exhausting day skiing, our hosts were there to look after our needs. Over a cup of tea, they gave us advice about great places to eat, had copies of all of the menus in town, and made reservations for us. Paul and Berny really know about food and their recommendations are spot on.

We have fallen in love with Wanaka and our stay at Maple Lodge was a huge part of this. This skiing holiday in Wanaka staying at Maple Lodge surpassed every previous experience, both in New Zealand and in the Australian ski fields. It was a magical experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
It was a pleasure to host you and your son while skiing in Wanaka. We really liked the afternoon tea time updates of your spills and thrills while skiing the Cardrona mountain area. See you next winter or summer if you can get away from work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at Maple Lodge for the Easter weekend during our trip to New Zealand. Paul and Berny are great hosts, happy to give us advice and how to make the most of your time in Wanaka. (2 nights was not enough). Maple Lodge is a very relaxing place and we felt very comfortable from the moment we arrived. We had tea and scones in the garden for afternoon tea which was delightful. The room we had was upstairs, décor was in modern style, very comfortable bed, a private balcony and views to the Wanaka mountains. When we return to the lodge after dinner our room had been tidied and Easter eggs put on our pillows, that was so thoughtful and a lovely touch to make our stay very special.Planning on coming back to Maple Lodge for the winter skiing.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reeja1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My partner treated me to a weekend away at Maple Lodge.It was a great choice! The lodge is a warm modern place and is in a beautiful location just a short distance from Wanaka town. The room was very comfortable and we were able to walk straight out into the beautiful garden and enjoy the fantastic autumn colours of the maple trees. Paul & Berny were very helpful in making dinner reservations for us. We loved breakfast - it was a real treat to have so much choice and the scrambled eggs are superb.
We took a relaxing walk from the lodge to the Clutha River but were not lucky enough to catch any fish. Maybe we will have better luck at fishing on our next visit to Maple Lodge & Wanaka.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor room as we could walk straight out into the garden.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank millman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about Maple Lodge. The walk down to the Clutha is a nice walk in the evening and is the best time to try and catch a fish. See you in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
776 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing