We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing!!!”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #14 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
1 review
“Simply amazing!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We traveled to many places in the North and South Island and this was by far our favorite place we stayed. From the moment we walked through the door we felt overcome with a sense of serenity. Paul and Berny were gracious hosts and knew everyone in Wanaka. They helped us with a lot of our activities. The rooms were very cozy, beds plush, and extremely clean. They were very eco-friendly as well which is very important in New Zealand. We woke up each morning drinking coffee in the room and looking at the mist over the river and hills through our sliding glass door. The sun hit the maples and their orange color was truly gorgeous! They cooked the freshed breakfast each morning (again best we had our entire trip). The room fee also includes free parking and free wireless internet. Many of the places we stayed had extra charges for this so it was nice to have it included in the room fee. The lodge was about 5 minutes drive from downtown Wanaka. This was very nice since parking in Wanaka is very easy and you have a sense of privacy. Another fun thing was they had a hot tub in the back. We relaxed and watched the night stars in the sky (since this is slightly out of town you could see all of the formations and the milky way). We also took walks around the lodge trails and saw the beautiful nature and sheep herds. We would defnitely stay here again on our next trip! Don't waste your time staying anywhere else this was the best of the best.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We really enjoyed the hospitality and luxury of this lovely B&B. Our room was lovely, with great view over the mountains. The bed was huge and comfortable and the breakfasts were first class. Hope to return for a longer stay next time

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester england
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Maple Lodge is an exceptional hotel. We could not fault it in any way, the proprietors are friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was superb and well presented. The room was comfortable and very well equipped. The location is quiet and very convenient being located just off the state highway into Wanaka. The rooms have balconies or patios and give excellent views of the surrounding area. There is plenty of parking with easy access. We would certainly stay at Maple Lodge again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Very pleasant couple who bent over backwards to make our stay a great one. Fabulous home cooked breakfast and lots of advice on where to eat and what to see while in the area. Very comfortable bed, quiet relaxing place, but close to airport and town. Nice leafy garden to sit out in. Quite pricey but the little touches make the difference.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Heading South towards Queenstown, we stopped over for a one night stay. The first thing to note is that if you're looking for a hotel with spectacuar views, this is not the place for you. It's nowhere near the lake but is set off the main road in its own grounds. It is a peaceful location and the property is well appointed with an attractive interior. The rooms are very nicely furnished using high quality materials. Strangely the room had no TV, no fridge, no iron/ironing board but this didn't bother us. The host was very friendly and knowledgeable and cooked an excellent breakfast. A lot of care, attention and expense has gone into the property's 'green' credentials as explained in the information pack we found in our room. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This property is a purpose built lodge set just outside Wanaka off the main road down to Queenstown, and near the airport. The setting is beautiful, overlooked by mountains and surrounded by hundreds of infant maple trees that one day will be spectacular. The lodge facilities are first class with nothing spared when it comes to attention to detail.
The hosts are welcoming and friendly with a huge knowledge of the local area. The unofficial doggy host is also friendly and although not officially allowed into the main lodge, is very keen to be welcoming too.
Breakfasts are great, with generally a choice of dishes. There is a hotpool in the grounds and at night the clear and unobstructed views lends itself perfectly to admiring the stunning southern night sky. We had 3 very relaxing days here, and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Berny and Paul made us very welcome with afternoon tea and delicious muffins on arrival. Exceptionally clean and excellent food and could not have been made more welcome.Lovely hot tub in grounds. Would thoroughly recommend Maple lodge and if returning to New Zealand would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireFeetup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#11 of 52 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing