We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Criffel Peak apartment, Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Ranked #13 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We were booked into the B&B for 2 nights, but as there were two other couples already staying in the B&B, rather than putting us into the 3rd en-suite room in the B&B, Caroline upgraded us to the apartment which was not booked for then. This was highly spacious & luxurious for us just as a couple, and would be good for 2 couples though only one shower-room. Caroline & Susie were very friendly and hospitable - fresh baked cakes for tea, good advice on what we could do during our stay, chatty duringcooked breakfast, etc.. Criffel Peak is well located - within short walk of Wanaka centre, yet entirely quiet and with good views from the aprtment (see attached photo).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dermot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, a family of 4 with 2 children. The kids loved the spaciousness of the apartment and gardens and playing with Splodge the cat. The view down to town and of the mountains was spectacular. The rooms were really comfortable, and the kitchen well stocked with everything a kitchen needs. Bathrooms were new and modern and town just a short walk away. We didn't have time to explore them but we saw a collection of shops just across the road where you could find groceries, deli, meats etc and a big gym. Caroline and Suzie were great hosts and took time to entertain the kids, plus recommending a lovely excursion out on the lake with Davy of Adventure Wanaka to a little island in the middle with its own little island at the summit,with some fishing along the way (we caught a salmon). The kids were thrilled to see the wekas (cousins of kiwis?) near the landing and along the trail to the top.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTLC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Arrived on spec to be greeted warmly and asked if I would like a drink. A choice of bedrooms and then invited to join Suzie and Caroline for happy hour at their local bar. Lots of excellent local knowledge and superb muffins and pancakes. The comfortable and spotless facicilities were almost incidental. Thank-you beautiful ladies.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights with our college son in the apartment. It was large with 2 bedrooms and incredibly clean. We also purchased the $10 per person breakfasts in the bed and breakfast which were delicious and affordable when comparing restaurant prices in New Zealand. Caroline and Suzie were wonderful hosts and gave great advice on things to do in Wanaka. We would highly suggest this for future visits to beautiful New Zealand!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSFRANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here in October 2011. Caroline and Suzie were wonderful, helpful and most knowledgeable hosts. Absolutely loved Caroline's blueberry pancakes and banana muffins. Very knowledgeable on the walks in and around south island. Bedroom very clean and comfy. Bathroom modern and very clean (need to bring your own shower gel/soap though). Only tricky to find this address for the first time, but no complaints there.
Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zicron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

When we turned up we were amazed at the place given the amount we had paid for the 8 nights. It is a lot bigger than the photos suggested. The place has everything you need for a short stay and is extremely comfortable. The locaton is great, not overly busy but only a 5-10 min walk to the centre of town. The use of the lock-up garage is a bonus for those with ski gear. We will definitely be staying here again if we need a 2 bedroom place in Wanaka.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

It was a long drive from Franz Josef, with a few stops along the way to get bitten by sandflies whilst admiring waterfalls. We arrived at Criffel Peak View and were greeted with a cup of tea and a piece of cake. What a warm welcome.

A great little B&B with 3 bedrooms and a stand alone apartment at the back. The first room we had was very nice, if a little compact for two of us with our luggage. It had an ensuite bathroom and a wardrobe. We were then moved up to the apartment for our last night at no extra charge, and this (when available) is very spacious and well equipped.

There is free parking on the driveway. Communal living room and kitchen area, where breakfast is served.

Mmmmm....breakfast.....After a few B&B stays during our trip, we'd had some good breakfasts and the three here were up amongst the best. Fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts etc followed by pancakes or egg & bacon.

There is a desktop computer in the lounge for communal use.

When in Wanaka, go to Red Star Burger. Thank you Caroline & Susie for this recommendation. The bakery around the corner from the B&B (hammer & nail or something like that) was top notch, with great fillings on lovely bread. We thought that they were so good when we took them on our walk up to Rob Roy glacier, that we went back for more to take on our journey to Mackenzie country.

Wanaka is lovely and this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuttleTydirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Address: 98 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £91 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, modern cottage with 3 rooms of B&B all with en-suite or private bathrooms. Complimentary wireless internet, afternoon tea, large sunny deck and Splodge the crazy cat! We also have a 2 bedroom self-contained apartment at the top of the garden, perfect for families or 2 couples travelling together, sleeps 5 comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing