We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Ranked #14 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Staying in Wanaka was one of the highlights of my trip to New Zealand. I was in Wanaka on three separate occasions. Criffel Peak View had the best service of any of the hotels or B&Bs I stayed in. Caroline and Suzie were amazingly thougthful in helping us plan our activities - one day they went so far as to drive us 30 minutes out of town to the head of a mountain bike trail.

There are numerous other examples that I won't list, but just read the rest of the reviews.

If you care about service and want to stay near down town Wanaka in a clean, comfortable B&Bm stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onobed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Caroline and Suzie made us incredibly welcome, with fresh baked cookies and lots of advice on whre to go and what to do. We felt immediately at home. After one night they moved us into the 2 bed apartment, which was simply amazing - loads of space, great views and beautifully peaceful. Wanaka is a lovely town, with lots of great walking or space just to chill out - we did both!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic four night stay in the apartment. Caroline and Suzie were fantastic hosts and had some great tips on what walks to do, bike rides etc. The apartment is well maintained and clean and the view from the deck is just spectacular. I could have sat there for hours looking at it, especially when we woke up one morning to find snow on the mountains! Great location too, Wanka is a fantastic place to stay, much more relaxed than Queenstown and the day walks and bike rides you can do in the area are really fantastic. We can't wait to go back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I highly recommend Criffel Peak as a place to stay in Wanaka. It is clear that the owners, Caroline ad Suzie, have a heartfelt interest in contributing to the holiday experience of their guests. I would absolutely return to Criffel Peak next time I am in Wanaka.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Hosts are energetic and enthusiastic and the breakfast was very good! If staying in the B and B as we did, ask to be in room away from the kitchen and laundry or you will be kept awake by other guests doing late night laundry and woken up by Breakfast noises in the morning. Other than that it was good value for money and a ten minute walk to town.

Room Tip: Not the one near the kitchen and laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cinbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had a very warm welcome from Caroline and Suzie, and to our surprise we were upgraded to the beautiful apartment with its gorgeous views over Wanaka. The is so much space here, with two bedrooms, a large open-plan lounge and kitchen, a double garage, and a wonderful sun-deck - and everything was in beautiful order. A very well equipped apartment meant we wanted for nothing. We slept really well - very large and comfortable bed bed and complete peace and quiet. We left the blinds open to watch the sun rising over the mountains - very romantic. (You are overlooked by the occasional high-flying bird!) Breakfast was really tasty, and gave us the chance to chat with our hosts and find out more about the town and the area.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treaclecat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Back again to Wanaka and Criffel Peak B&B with hosts Caroline and Suzie. Still the best hosts, just like visiting old friends. Very knowledgeable about the walks around New Zealand, 3 out of 3 recommendations on the walks, with superb views, were spot on! Generous with sharing their experiences and photos on their adventures around New Zealand. Booked the King bedroom because we stayed in the same room last year, clean and comfortable bed, but a separate huge private bathroom. Choose the other two rooms if you prefer ensuite.

Blueberry pancakes breakfast were one of the highlights from last year and so we had it again this year, yummy!

Will definitely stay here again if we come back...

Room Tip: King Room seperate private bathroom. Queen Room next to the King has ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zicron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
119 reviews
13.7 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Address: 98 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £93 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, modern cottage with 3 rooms of B&B all with en-suite or private bathrooms. Complimentary wireless internet, afternoon tea, large sunny deck and Splodge the crazy cat! We also have a 2 bedroom self-contained apartment at the top of the garden, perfect for families or 2 couples travelling together, sleeps 5 comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing