We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Ranked #13 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in Wanaka”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After reading all the great reviews about this B&B I was really looking forward to stay there... and I was not disappointed!! Suzie and Caroline are amazing hosts and will definitely make you feel at home here. We were greeted by Caroline as soon as we got out of our car, and she immediately offered us drinks and homemade cake.

Wanaka is such a nice place with many different things to do and great restaurants. Caroline and Suzie also have many good suggestions regarding what to do and where to eat. They recommended us a half-day kayak trip on Lake Wanaka which was really nice and fun.

The room was very comfortable and clean with an ensuite bathroom. It had everything we needed and it was really quiet at night. The breakfast was also amazing, with homemade eggs and bacon one day, and blueberry pancakes the next. And lots of fresh fruits :D (very nice touch when you live in Japan and miss fresh fruits^^)

It's one of the best places we stayed at in New Zealand (or any other country we visited, for that matter), and we would definitely recommend it to anyone. Thank you Caroline and Suzie!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endareyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
172
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Suzie and Caroline are great hosts and were very helpful in their suggestions for things to do and where to eat. The room was immaulate, comfortable and the place was beautifully decorated and to top it off the breakfast was awesome. Great location.

One of the best places we stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulOlga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I were made to feel really at home here. Caroline and Susie are wonderful hosts. Caroline came out to greet us as we drove up and, after showing us our room, made tea for me and coffee for my husband and served us some delicious homemade chocolate-chip cookies that had just come out of the oven -- Yum!
The B&B is a short walk to town and the lake with plenty of restaurants and stores to choose from. The main living room is very comfortable with plenty of reading material, games, and information on all that the area has to offer; there is even a 3-ring binder with menus from most of the restaurants in the area. We had an ensuite bedroom that was very comfortable with nice linens and comfortable pillows.
In the morning, breakfast was amazing and one of our best on this trip. Fresh fruit, juice, cereals, blueberry pancakes with maple syrup, and coffee or tea. Caroline made us very comfortable and was a fount of information.
Out of 5 stars, we would give it a 6! We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely comfy home. Thank you, Caroline and Susie.

Room Tip: We had a room with a king size bed with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the B&B for one night. Unfortunately, we booked a room with an ensuite bathroom and got a room with a private bathroom that was not connected to our room. We had to use a public hallway visible from the breakfast table. This was a little uncomfortable and inconvenient.
Otherwise, the stay was nice. The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was big, with both tub and shower. The house was very quiet and easy walking distance to central Wanaka. Parking was easy and the wifi was free.
The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollysnapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Caroline and Suzie are very kind and perfectly prepared hosts who can even give you a copy of all of Wanaka's restaurant menus. We felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay a lot. Try Caroline's blueberry pancakes, they are awesome!
The room was a bit small for our two huge suitcases to open but that was a minor thing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngoLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Criffel Peak apartment for 1 week in September. We took our 1 year old daughter with us.
The apartment was great! It was clean, nicely furnished, and had a well equipped kitchen. The views of Wanaka and the hills were always captivating (from inside or from the spacious balcony).
It is located within walking distance of the town centre and even closer to the local bakery for nice morning rolls and coffee.
The apartment offered everything it needed for a relaxing holiday with family. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. She even organised a high chair and baby cot for our little one.
A welcome folder with information on Wanaka was very helpful, with suggestions for places to eat or take out.
Free wifi was also very handy.
We would stay here again next time!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was supposed to stay in Wanaka for one night. And stayed for five! The stunning natural beauty was clearly a factor, but so was the warmth and hospitality of Caroline and Suzie. After a friendly welcome they made sure I was comfortable throughout the stay and were on the ready to help with all local recommendations - walks, cafes, etc. My room was super comfortable and spotless and they are just a shot walk from the center of town with its lively cafes and restaurants. This is an excellent option in Wanaka. I want to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW3Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Property: Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Address: 98 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, modern cottage with 3 rooms of B&B all with en-suite or private bathrooms. Complimentary wireless internet, afternoon tea, large sunny deck and Splodge the crazy cat! We also have a 2 bedroom self-contained apartment at the top of the garden, perfect for families or 2 couples travelling together, sleeps 5 comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing