We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Ranked #15 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a delightful place to stay in Wanaka! Caroline and Susie are like your best friends, so warm and welcoming and happy. We stayed in the apartment at the top of the property, and it was just delightful - spacious, airy and very quiet. Breakfast was included in the rate and the girls' yummy home cooking was exceptional.. The girls are also happy to share their local knowledge and if you're a golfer - it couldn't be handier to the Wanaka Club. You WILL enjoy your stay with these lovely ladies - Criffel Peak really IS a genuine home away from home.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the accommodation here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Criffel Peak was a highlight of our trip. What a gem in beautiful Wanaka. We were met by Caroline's fresh out of the oven muffins and tea. Both she and Susie took care of our every need from getting us dinner reservations at delicious Italian Francesca's to organising a movie at the Paridiso! The room and private bathroom were lovely and comfortable and breakfast was wonderful. I can't recommend this B&B enough. Book early though cos the secrets out.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Criffel Peak for 2 nights in November and wished we could have stayed longer. The welcome we got from Caroline & Susie was great. The accommodation is lovely and the service we got was excellent. But don't let Caroline talk you into doing a skydive!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Caroline, one of our hosts. Our room was comfortable and we really liked the shower. Blueberry pancakes at breakfast made for a lovely breakfast. Caroline had great suggestions for local restaurants and walks.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sallyanne1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

When we returned to Wanaka after almost 6 years away, we didn't hesitate in booking Criffel Peak again. Susie & Caroline are still the incredibly attentive, friendly and knowledgeable hosts that we remembered but managed to surprise us by upgrading our room booking into the apartment giving us even more room. The whole place is modern and immaculately clean yet still homely. Its 5-10 minutes walk to the town centre yet quiet and restful.

When one of our activities got delayed by a day, they let us move our room booking to match and when bad weather closed the SH6 to Haast, they let us stay until the road reopened and kept us updated with news.

They know Wanaka, its local activities and restaurants really well through their own experience so can recommend and book.

The reason that we revisited and will again is that the rooms and apartment amply meet our needs and Susie and Caroline are the perfect hosts making us feel like old friends while assisting and supporting us to have a fantastic holiday.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After reading all the great reviews about this B&B I was really looking forward to stay there... and I was not disappointed!! Suzie and Caroline are amazing hosts and will definitely make you feel at home here. We were greeted by Caroline as soon as we got out of our car, and she immediately offered us drinks and homemade cake.

Wanaka is such a nice place with many different things to do and great restaurants. Caroline and Suzie also have many good suggestions regarding what to do and where to eat. They recommended us a half-day kayak trip on Lake Wanaka which was really nice and fun.

The room was very comfortable and clean with an ensuite bathroom. It had everything we needed and it was really quiet at night. The breakfast was also amazing, with homemade eggs and bacon one day, and blueberry pancakes the next. And lots of fresh fruits :D (very nice touch when you live in Japan and miss fresh fruits^^)

It's one of the best places we stayed at in New Zealand (or any other country we visited, for that matter), and we would definitely recommend it to anyone. Thank you Caroline and Suzie!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endareyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Suzie and Caroline are great hosts and were very helpful in their suggestions for things to do and where to eat. The room was immaulate, comfortable and the place was beautifully decorated and to top it off the breakfast was awesome. Great location.

One of the best places we stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulOlga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Address: 98 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £97 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, modern cottage with 3 rooms of B&B all with en-suite or private bathrooms. Complimentary wireless internet, afternoon tea, large sunny deck and Splodge the crazy cat! We also have a 2 bedroom self-contained apartment at the top of the garden, perfect for families or 2 couples travelling together, sleeps 5 comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing