We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B of our stay in NZ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Ranked #15 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best B&B of our stay in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at several pretty good B&Bs during our tour of NZ so it is setting the bar pretty high when I say that this is the best one we found. Originally we had only booked one night but a change of plans led to us inquiring whether we could stay for 3, and thank goodness they said yes. We were lucky too to be upgraded to the apartment, but I'm sure that we would have been as comfortable in the house, where we had breakfast and afternoon tea every day with the other guests and our hosts.

Caroline and Suzie bend over backwards to help everyone to feel at home and to get the best out of their stay in Wanaka - they will suggest walks, book excursions, reserve restaurant tables and all this whilst showing a genuine and warm interest in their guests.

Shame it's 12,000 kms away, but even so, we'll be back.

Room Tip: if it's available, the apartment is very comfortable and spacious, with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
167
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Caroline & Suzy who run the place live in a house above the B&B so you are sharing the house only with other B&B guests. It felt a little like staying in a hostel from my youth but a lot more comfortable lol! Very social atmosphere & nice to be able to do your own thing in the house. Would have been nice to have a tv in our room so we could retreat to our room in the evening but everything else was fab. Breakfast was great, again very social

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a delightful place to stay in Wanaka! Caroline and Susie are like your best friends, so warm and welcoming and happy. We stayed in the apartment at the top of the property, and it was just delightful - spacious, airy and very quiet. Breakfast was included in the rate and the girls' yummy home cooking was exceptional.. The girls are also happy to share their local knowledge and if you're a golfer - it couldn't be handier to the Wanaka Club. You WILL enjoy your stay with these lovely ladies - Criffel Peak really IS a genuine home away from home.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the accommodation here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Criffel Peak was a highlight of our trip. What a gem in beautiful Wanaka. We were met by Caroline's fresh out of the oven muffins and tea. Both she and Susie took care of our every need from getting us dinner reservations at delicious Italian Francesca's to organising a movie at the Paridiso! The room and private bathroom were lovely and comfortable and breakfast was wonderful. I can't recommend this B&B enough. Book early though cos the secrets out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Criffel Peak for 2 nights in November and wished we could have stayed longer. The welcome we got from Caroline & Susie was great. The accommodation is lovely and the service we got was excellent. But don't let Caroline talk you into doing a skydive!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had a very warm welcome from Caroline, one of our hosts. Our room was comfortable and we really liked the shower. Blueberry pancakes at breakfast made for a lovely breakfast. Caroline had great suggestions for local restaurants and walks.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sallyanne1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

When we returned to Wanaka after almost 6 years away, we didn't hesitate in booking Criffel Peak again. Susie & Caroline are still the incredibly attentive, friendly and knowledgeable hosts that we remembered but managed to surprise us by upgrading our room booking into the apartment giving us even more room. The whole place is modern and immaculately clean yet still homely. Its 5-10 minutes walk to the town centre yet quiet and restful.

When one of our activities got delayed by a day, they let us move our room booking to match and when bad weather closed the SH6 to Haast, they let us stay until the road reopened and kept us updated with news.

They know Wanaka, its local activities and restaurants really well through their own experience so can recommend and book.

The reason that we revisited and will again is that the rooms and apartment amply meet our needs and Susie and Caroline are the perfect hosts making us feel like old friends while assisting and supporting us to have a fantastic holiday.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Property: Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Address: 98 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, modern cottage with 3 rooms of B&B all with en-suite or private bathrooms. Complimentary wireless internet, afternoon tea, large sunny deck and Splodge the crazy cat! We also have a 2 bedroom self-contained apartment at the top of the garden, perfect for families or 2 couples travelling together, sleeps 5 comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing