We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really welcoming experience from enthusiastic hosts in an amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Ranked #13 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ruislip
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really welcoming experience from enthusiastic hosts in an amazing place”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Criffel Peak B &B run by Caroline and Susie. Our stay in Wanaka was one of our highlights of our three week tour of the South Island. The B&B is located a short walk from town, the accommodation is of an excellent modern standard, Caroline and Susie were fun, always ready with recommendations to suit their varying guests needs. It is a place that we would definitely recommend to anyone and the blueberry pancakes are second to none! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
172
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was definitely one of our favourite places to stay. We arrived in Wanaka, thoroughly enjoyed our first couple of days, and extended our stay further. So much to experience and a very beautiful location too. Suzie and Caroline made us very welcome - freshly baked cakes on arrival with a friendly cup of tea and chat. Their enthusiasm and interest in Wakana is contagious and they gave us lots of good advice, not just relating to Wanaka, but elsewhere in South Island too. Also, very good value and excellent internet access! We would thoroughly recommend this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
470 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Suzie and Caroline are dream hostesses. They welcome you with tea and pastries, and are curious, helpful, and kind every minute. We loved the wonderful bathtub that comes with the room of twin beds. Even though the bath is outside the room, we were never uncomfortable, and robes are provided if you like. The breakfasts were huge, delicious, and lively with guests from around the globe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

One of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. The hosts are so friendly and warm, full of helpful suggestions on what to see and do in Wanaka, and even called ahead and booked us seats to the Paradiso Cinema - we would have missed out without their help. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome, with delicious home baked muffins and a hot cup of tea. Town is an easy 5-10 minute walk. We'll definitely stay again and highly recommend a stay with Caroline & Suzie!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POlka_DOT_Blu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The i-site in Wanaka helped us find this gem. We haven't stayed at many b&bs but this one exceeded our expectations. Accommodations were a beautiful house up on the hill, no view of the lake but charming nonetheless - as billed you have a nice view of the mtns, "Criffel peak". Town is a reasonable 10 minute walk away. The bed was comfy, the shower was nice, and the house was nicely sized. Straight off were welcomed by the fine ladies of the house who spent lots of time welcoming us, directing us to the best food and hikes near town, and answering any and all questions we had. They had a full house with several other coupled between their 3 houses but all were young and fun and it didn't feel crowded. The breakfast in the AM was delicious and filling, and made to order as she made eggs for us and pancakes for another group, as well as cold cereal and yummy muffins were on the table. Would absolutely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here after a somewhat disappointing tour with G Adventures and it was like the first days of spring after a hard winter. What a welcome from Caroline and Susie to go with a comfortable and well provided room, free internet after being fleeced by hotels, resorts and the like and so much more - one word of advice, in New Zealand go B&B for better service and facilities (and prices). Even so amongst the B&B we enjoyed, Criffel Peak stand out - Thank you Caroline and Susie for your advice, the peaceful atmosphere, .................. (more could be said, but go and find out for yourselves)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewRoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We first stopped with Caroline & Susie 3 years ago and didn't hesitate in booking again this year.

From the minute you arrive to the day you leave you are spoilt with good food, great company and helpful advice re restaurants, walks & etc.

Rooms are immaculate and garden area is very nice to sit and relax whilst waiting for afternoon tea and cakes!



Stayed in lots of places around the world but this is B&B is exceptional and look forward to revisiting for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Property: Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Address: 98 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, modern cottage with 3 rooms of B&B all with en-suite or private bathrooms. Complimentary wireless internet, afternoon tea, large sunny deck and Splodge the crazy cat! We also have a 2 bedroom self-contained apartment at the top of the garden, perfect for families or 2 couples travelling together, sleeps 5 comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing