We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Hotel(Wanaka)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Moorings(Wanaka)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Apartments(Wanaka)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
234
19
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
19
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblueberry pancakescaroline suzienew zealandother guestswonderful hostsgreat tipssouth islandbed and breakfastwanaka areahome away from homeshort walkwonderful staylocal knowledgeclose to townstayed longerstayed for two nightsliving room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were referred by another B&B owner to Caroline and Suzie when we arrived ahead of schedule in Wanaka and found everything booked up. How lucky we were!

They are incredible hosts, just bubbling over with enthusiasm and very knowledgeable - whatever you want to know they will immediately either have the answer or turn over every stone to find it out for you! Thanks to them we knew exactly what we wanted to do in Wanaka.

The main B&B and apartment were full but they rent out the adjacent property - a very luxurious 3 bedroom detached house - on behalf of the owner. We had this to ourselves, and it was so good that we immediately cancelled our other accommodation for the following night to extend our stay at Criffel Peak.

Although we were last minute arrivals, we were still treated to homebaked muffins fresh from the oven. We also took breakfast in the main B&B where you eat at a communal table with other guests and the hosts, and the conversation flows just as well as the excellent coffee.

Our stay at Criffel Peak was one of the most memorable times of our 6 week holiday and we would certainly return if we visit NZ again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed one night at Criffel Peak, we wished it could have been longer. This is a five star establishment that is run by two super ladies, Suzie and Caroline. We were lucky in that we were upgraded to a very large apartment, so spacious you wouldn't even find the cat if you wished to swing it: which we didn't. The reception was friendly, informative and helpful; breakfast was tasty and substantial and enhanced by the kitchen table discussions with other guests who came from different parts of the world. The property is situated a short walk form the centre of Wanaker. This town is like a small Queenstown. It has a beautiful lake, first class restaurants and a dry climate. We stopped at Wanaker on our way from Te Anau to Franz Joseph glacier. It is a good place to stop as it breaks what would otherwise been a longish drive on not the easiest of roads. Don't miss it and don't miss Criffel Peak.

Room Tip: Fill up your petrol tank, petrol stations are not numerous on the way to Franz Joseph.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived at Criffel Peak, were greated by Suzie and Caroline and offered a cup of tea. Whilst chatting over tea my husband happened to mention that he was having a little bit of trouble with his shoulder, which was concerning him as we were off climbing for the week. Within minutes a recommended sports massage appointment had been made, which was fantastic and really helped. Looking after people just seems effortless to Suzie and Caroline, they are so relaxed and friendly and really want you to enjoy your stay. They were also kind enough to give us a lift to our climbing guides, which was very much above and beyond and appreciated. Thank you for turning what was essentially a travel day into a really pleasant and relaxed experience for us.

Room Tip: From what I saw they're all lovely. I loved ours, which was right next to the desk and the kitchen, but I heard no noise.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairePLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

One month after our stop in Wanaka, Criffel Peak view was one of our best memories thanks to Caroline and Suzie who have been so nice!

Comfortable and spacious room, great advices, great breakfasts, and very funny conversations !

If you pass by Wanaka, don't hesitate one second :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Criffel Peak B &B run by Caroline and Susie. Our stay in Wanaka was one of our highlights of our three week tour of the South Island. The B&B is located a short walk from town, the accommodation is of an excellent modern standard, Caroline and Susie were fun, always ready with recommendations to suit their varying guests needs. It is a place that we would definitely recommend to anyone and the blueberry pancakes are second to none! We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews