We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Altamont Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altamont Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had an absolute great stay at the Altamont Lodge! Clean, spacious rooms and facilities. Beautifull garden. 20 minutes walk, 5 minutes ride, to the centre of Wanaka. The owners are very friendly and helpfull with all kinds of things. We would definitely recommend this lodge to everyone who is searching for a tranquil stay in Wanaka.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

We went to Altamont Lodge in middle of May and we were surprised that the place is actually quite big. However, we were the only occupant during that time. This is not an issue, we enjoyed our stay here. Everything was well maintained here. The kitchen is spacious and equipped with everything you need. The room is clean and comfortable. Parking space is available right outside the lodge.

The place is quite special as the whole accomodation is built with pine wood. Very comfortable to stay especially during winter time. Recommended place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

$49 a room is great value, especially for a single person as we often have to pay a double rate to get our own room. The rooms here are spacious and clean. Kitchen is well set out, lounge area is huge and there's a separate lounge upstairs. There's also a hot tub. The managers are very friendly and helpful. It's a pleasant 2 km walk into town, alongside the beautiful lake.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is quiet if there are groups of trampers, skiiers etc downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anomaly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have held our Yeti NZ tribe gathering at the Altimont lodge 2 years running and just love this place. Rod and Noeline are the most wonderful hosts and fully understand the needs of riders, such as offering us a indoor hideaway for our bikes, a nice big and fully equiped kitchen, a lovely spa pool and comfortable living area with fireplace. The backyard was even big enough to make a mini 4X course! Highly recommended to all sports people!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KashiLeuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in the lodge for one night. Hosts were very gentle, helping and supportive. Even though we check-in late in the night (around 10:45 PM), they were awake for us and kept the room ready and warm. We had booked 1 room for 4, however since they had extra room for that night; they gave us the room at no extra cost. They also suggested us the places to visit in Wanaka and Queenstown since we were new to the place.

We are totally touched by their hospitality and would like to recommend it to anyone who is planning in trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gitcraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was my third stay at the Altamont lodge. Its a budget choice with communal kitchen, lounge and TV room. Because its all wood it could be a bit noisy though. The managers are very nice people and even found a charger for my old nokia. Good for skiers, families an anyone wanting a place in Wanaka to chill out for a couple of days. Good value too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixstarsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

we had a short stay at the Altamont, the hosts were really helpful and friendly in welcoming and advising us - the beds were comfortable, large communal kitchen was well appointed and the fire was lit for us in the lounge room. Its a nice walk into town and would really recommend to anyone coming to Wanaka.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoESouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont Lodge

Address: 121 Wanaka-Mount Aspiring Road | PO Box 289, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £48 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altamont Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Quality, wood-lined 10 bedroom Lodge * Large lounge with cosy wood-burning fire * Large modern, light kitchen/dining area with complimentary tea/coffee * All bedrooms have quality double beds together with a single or in some cases bunk beds as well * Friendly welcoming staff * Separate TV lounge * Internet available * Drying room * Laundry * Store room * Free spa pool, barbecue and tennis court for guests* Within easy walking distance of down town Wanaka * On the arterial route to probably NZ best ski field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altamont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing