We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really, really good quality accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Altamont Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altamont Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tannum Sands, Australia
1 review
“Really, really good quality accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

You cannot fault Altamont Lodge. I am very fussy and like to stay at good quality accommodation. This accommodation is fantastic. So cheap but such a high standard. It is kept immaculately every day. There is a very big kitchen with cupboard and frig space for each person - it is so well organised that it does not have that communal and crowded feel. There is a dining area and lounge with fireplace. There are only ten rooms so you don't feel as though you are staying with a busload of people. I never had to wait for a shower. There is a great drying room for all your ski gear - everything is just perfect. The hosts are real human beings. We loved staying here. Wanaka has everything you need for a ski base and sightseeing.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
31
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I see someone else has said it was a home away from home, and I agree wholeheartedly.
The staff were great, and the other 'lodgers' uniformly friendly and helpful as well.
The communal nature of the lodge we found a plus, as we had to meet people when we cooked our meals and we enjoyed their company. Some were shareholders, other like us had just 'struck it lucky' [Well , in our case that is not strictly true as we had heard it was a great place to stay from a relative]
The beds are very comfortable and warm. Our room was well heated and had a double bed and two bunks, mirror, lights, shelves and a big cupboard. Good storage for the two of us.
The bathrooms were spotless with showers and toilets, hairdryer.
And kitchen well organised with private space for all, space in large refrigerator, shelves and cupboards to store foodstuffs and there was an excellent laundry, dryer and drying room for damp ski-wear.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daleringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for two years now. I am usually pretty sceptical about staying in cheap accommodation but this place is great. The hosts are fantastic. They are regularly making sure everything is just perfect. There are shared facilities but this works really well. The kitchen is really well stocked and organized.
The rooms are a bit small is my only concern but the shared common areas make for good conversation and give the space needed in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijouxtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
258 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Altamont Lodge is owned and operated by a shareholder collective, and many of those who you share your stay with will be lodge members/family members etc. Non-members are able to stay when vacancies allow. I stayed 5 nights as a solo traveller in a very reasonably priced single room upstairs. Facilities are communal (lounge/commercial kitchen/bathrooms) and are absolutely spotless and well maintained. You have your own cupboard & fridge space. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, and most people turn in pretty early meaning you can get a good night's sleep. My room was sizeable enough, warm and with a comfortable bed. It was a little noisy as it is adjacent the TV lounge and the wall is pretty thin. Wifi is available on a pay as you go basis (thanks Heather). Complementary wifi is not so common in NZ. The lodge is close to town on the road to TC. Noeline and Rod are gracious hosts, and the Chairman of the lodge Adrian was also present during my stay. It is obvious that all work to maintain high standards in this budget but value for money accommodation option. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramarama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed at the Altamont 5 times in the past 4 years, mainly for skiing, but we also had a wonderful summer holiday there 2 years ago. Rod and Noeline are so friendly and helpful - they bend over backwards to help with every request, no matter how difficult. They treat all the guests as if they are part of their family, and the facilities at the lodge are great. It is extremely clean, has a great new kitchen, a TV room, and lounge, as well as plenty of outdoor space, barbeque area and tennis courts for the summer. For skiiers, there is good storage, a drying room and a spa to soothe aching muscles. It is a very restful lodge suitable for all ages, but fortunately the sleeping areas have an enforced quiet time which means everyone gets a good sleep. It is great value for money, and an easy walk into town.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms 3,4 and 5, looking out over the garden, and away from the kitchen and the main entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineRamarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed for 2 nights with my family and another family. The place was spotlessly clean and very warm and cosy. The rooms were fantastic with very comfy beds and warm with electric blankets.
The kitchen was very well stocked and organised for the guests to cook there meals. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone who goes to Wanaka. Rod and Noelene the property managers were just very warm and lovely people with so much information about the area and things to do. I will definitely be going back to stay on my next ski adventure.
Great value .Thanks !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Im not a fan of having to share bathrooms and other facilities but this time is was a pleasure. Everything was beautifully cleaned, the rooms are warm and very quiet. There is also a big kitchen that is brand new, with everything you would need to get yourself a great meal. I felt so comfortable there that I could even see myself living there for a couple of weeks! All around a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaRebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont Lodge

Property: Altamont Lodge
Address: 121 Mt. Aspiring Road | PO Box 289, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Altamont Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Quality, wood-lined 10 bedroom Lodge * Large lounge with cosy wood-burning fire * Large modern, light kitchen/dining area with complimentary tea/coffee * All bedrooms have quality double beds together with a single or in some cases bunk beds as well * Friendly welcoming staff * Separate TV lounge * Internet available * Drying room * Laundry * Store room * Free spa pool, barbecue and tennis court for guests* Within easy walking distance of down town Wanaka * On the arterial route to probably NZ best ski field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altamont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing