We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”
Review of Altamont Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altamont Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and our room was spotless as were the communal bathroom and shower rooms. ,kitchen facilities were super.
Nolene and rod were very welcoming and helpful.
The lodge is great for walking into Wanaka or driving further afar to do day hikes in mt. Aspiring.

Room Tip: The rooms have nice outlook onto a garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We only stayed one night,and would have loved to spend more time in such a pleasant and comfortable place! Everything was perfect.The best value for money you can find in
Wanaka,and with such, friendly hosts..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muxu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I spent 7 days here,I was attending a wedding close by,noleene and rod were utterly brilliant-looked after me so well-I cannot say enough good things about my experience here-loved every minute-rod has a great sense of humour and noleen is just lovely dropped me off at the wedding venue so I would not be late and washed my shirt for me too-fabulous-Kitchen has everything u need,showers and toilets spotless

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martDdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our 6 month old daughter and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating!

The facilities were exceptionally clean and the kitchen was well equipped!

The hosts were full of helpful information about the local area and the walk to Rocky Mountain via Diamond Lake was fantastic!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Taane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I couldnt agree more with the rave reviews. This place is really a cut above the rest - spotlessly clean and you have your own space in the refridgerator and storage. Rod provided many helpful suggestions and made every effort to make our stay delightful. the kitchen and the common living spaces are simply wonderful. There was another group who were a lot of noise pretty late at night and Rod very rightfully asked them to lower their voices keeping the other guests in mind. i couldnt recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_Panda2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This place is truly a 'gem' and I use the term in all authenticity and very sparingly. Rod and his wife are exceptional people and very helpful and friendly from the very beginning.

Secondly, the room and the whole living area and kitchen are like a small boutique ski lodge. This is in no shape way or form a backpacker hostel and must I say a very unique place.

It is clean, tidy, excellent location and staffed by the best 'kiwis' one will encounter. Rates are competitive and everything is simply wow!

10/10 on all counts

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was pretty disappointed at the rude treatment we received. Some guests complained about the 'noise' we were making. Completely unfair. While we did come in late, not one of us had said a single word and we had been in the building for less than a minute before some lunatic came running out to tell us off.

In the morning, someone made further complaints about noise. Even going as far as saying we had guitars!

The person running the show then came into our room and barked orders at us to leave. He even came right up to where I was sleeping and shouted at me in particular. I felt that he used his size and the fact that he was male to intimidate me.

He calmed down when we explained our version of events. He then went on to tell us all about his inappropriate way of dealing with some drunks in the evening before. None of us paticularly appreciated this after being shouted at and being treated so horribly.

I found the manager's behaviour to be very inappropriate, intimidating and rude. Even if we had been singing with guitars and making real noise I think he could have dealt with us in a different manner.



  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayehtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 48 in Wanaka
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont Lodge

Address: 121 Wanaka-Mount Aspiring Road | PO Box 289, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £48 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altamont Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Quality, wood-lined 10 bedroom Lodge * Large lounge with cosy wood-burning fire * Large modern, light kitchen/dining area with complimentary tea/coffee * All bedrooms have quality double beds together with a single or in some cases bunk beds as well * Friendly welcoming staff * Separate TV lounge * Internet available * Drying room * Laundry * Store room * Free spa pool, barbecue and tennis court for guests* Within easy walking distance of down town Wanaka * On the arterial route to probably NZ best ski field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altamont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing