We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riversong Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Delightful ground floor room opening on to a beautiful deck right across the street from the Clutha River with it's wonderful river walk.

Ann and Ian were perfect hosts. Welcomed by home made cookies and gracious hosts, we enjoyed our one night stay - wish we had booked for another night. If you like fishing, I would recommend staying longer. The downstairs room we had was a bit small so if staying longer you might want the upstairs room with it's wonderful deck.

Room Tip: Downstairs room is smallish - queen bed and two chairs - small alcove for suitcases and amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
113
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- location, location, location
- hosts (& Molly!)
- beautiful spread for breakfast
- thoughtful tin of cookies

Cons:
- it's popular so book ahead!

My husband and I were lucky enough to score a night's stay at this lovely place. I went for a run/hike on the nearby trail that parallels the Clutha while husband went went fishing with Ian. We slept like babies and woke to a wonderful breakfast. I wish we had booked more nights here instead of Queenstown. The owners are delightfully warm and genuine people and we really enjoyed my stay at Riversong.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had two super nights at Riversong. This is the pinnacle of Homestay B&B - Ann and Ian are perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Ian even drove us into Wanaka so we could do the riverside walk back. The view from the room over the river to the mountains is breathtaking. This is an exquisite peaceful location, a 5 minute drive out of Wanaka. Breakfast was an absolute treat.
Wanaka itself is a lovely town and a "must" for any visit to South Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahonia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Beautiful location and a charming cottage-y property. We had the ground-floor room opening straight out on to the garden. Thoughtfully and very attractively decorated, interesting books and pictures. The room is small, but we were sating only 1 night, so was fine for us. Ian and Ann were very welcoming and helpful hosts, breakfast was great and we'd have liked to have at least another night in Wanaka

Room Tip: only 2 rooms I think. The upstairs onewould have been bigger, probably better for a longer stay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We had a wonderful two nights at Riversong in early February. Ann and ian are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome but the accommodation also enabled us to have our own space.
Tea and coffee and yummy biscuits were availabe in our room and the breakfasts were delicious. A great base to explore the area at the start of our third trip to New Zealand. We will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Ann and Ian made our stay with them truly memorable, with a wonderful welcome, comfortable room with magnificent view of the spectacular Clutha, breakfast was superb. The only problem was we were only there one night! Hope to return to what we found was the best B&B in south island!
Valda & John Fiddian

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Ian and Ann offer magnificent hospitality in their beautiful home overlooking the turquoise waters of the River Clutha. Ann provides many lovely touches such as fresh flowers in the bedrooms, and her breakfasts are outstandingly good. She also provides a buffet platter on request - local produce (cold meats/fish/pate/chutneys/fruit etc) together with home baked bread. Delicious and excellent value for money. "Riversong" is the best B&B we have encountered anywhere in South Island.
Maureen and David Johnston

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenandDavid... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
4.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.0 mi away
Te Wanaka Lodge
Te Wanaka Lodge
#17 of 58 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
16.7 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#5 of 58 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversong Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Wicklow Terrace | Albert Town, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a unique riverside setting just minutes from Wanaka town and the lake. Guestrooms have en-suite bathrooms & stunning river & mountain views. Cooked or continental breakfast included, guest library, internet, parking. Relax in our private gardens, enjoy river walks & superb fly fishing from our backdoor. Take advantage of our local fishing knowledge, tuition and guiding service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing