We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant B&B & flyfishing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Julie and I are privileged to have enjoyed excellent holidays with the Riversong Flyfishing Guide Service and accomodation at Riversong B&B. Ann and Ian Horrax have welcomed us into their beautiful riverside home on 3 trips to the South Island. Albert Town and Wanaka have been a special "vacation home" and Riversong a comfortable and welcome rest in our travels. On our last trip we should have doubled our stay through the Easter holiday! Our stays have become longer on each visit. Beyond friendship, Ann and Ian have guided our travels with advice for tramping, day hiking, auto touring, dining, shopping, reading and relaxing. Genuine Kiwi hospitality will continue to make the Riversong a highlight of our trips to Otago. Ian, John and Jake have guided us on epic fishing journeys into superb wild trout backcountry fishing venues. Julie and I enjoy the guiding tutelage and patience so expertly shown by Jake, John and Ian. Keen fly anglers, we hope to return to Otago annually to renew and cultivate our friendships.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nztrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2008

We recently returned to Sydney from our third annual weekly stay at Riversong and have booked another week in February 2009. The whole experience is reminiscent of my visits to relatives on summer holidays in the country as a young child growing up in the depths of New York City. We really cannot speak highly enough of the hosts,Ian and Ann. Both former professionals, they are dedicated , warm and caring and make sincere efforts to get to know their guests and ensure a pleasurable stay for all.Accordingly, every detail from the from the freshly baked cookies in the room, to the comfortable bed and bath linen, superb views,fresh homemade breakfasts as well as the cleanliness and charming decor contribute to making Riversong just about as good as it gets.

During our visits we have shared the kitchen breakfast table overlooking Ann's creative and picturesque garden with many other travellers from diverse worldwide locations and backgrounds. All seemingly bound by a desire to enrich their travel experience with charm,nature and local culture so often missing in today's global urban lifestyle.Witout exception, all agreed that this charming B&B on the banks of the Clutha River
was a "great find", one of those special places to return to. Moreover, many looked upon Ian and Ann as newly found friends and indeed this was our experience. Can you really ask for more ?

Well yes, that is if you are a keen fly fisherman as I am or want to learn as my Partner did. Then treat yourself toa day or more on some of New Zealands remote and pristine rivers guided by Ian or fellow guide John the deer farmer and they will put you on to some trophy sized Trout. If however, you want to do it on your own then there is always the Clutha at your door step, full of large strong Trout but getting one on your line is another story.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gerrysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Our main reason for staying at Riversong was the chance to spend some time learning how to fly-fish with the host, Ian. If it had not been for this reason we would have definitely stayed in the town centre (this b&b is a 5-10 minute drive from the restaurants and bars). I had contacted the hosts to check whether they needed us to let them know whether we would be taking the lesson the day of arrival or departure but were assured that this was not necessary. Therefore, we were really disappointed to learn that Ian had cancelled the lesson and decided to take another booking as they had decided that we were not turning up (we arrived at 7pm which I didn't think was particularly late). I think we would have felt better about it had Ian came out and spoke to us but he didn't even come and say hello, which actually made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. That said, the breakfast was very nice and Ann was a friendly host.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trout01, Owners at Riversong Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2008

This "review" has been written with a considerable degree of malice. It also has to be read, with knowledge that our Bank advises, we are not to be paid. It is not worthy of our response, something best left to the better judgement of others.
Ian and Ann Horrax
Riversong B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Beautifully located by the Clutha River, Riversong was recommended by a work colleague who had been staying there for a week.
Had I had a week I too, could have spent it quite happily with Ann and Ian, wonderful hosts.
Divine room and ensuite, delicious breakfast and good value for money, highly recommended for the single traveller too.
A visit to the Wanaka Toy and Air museum is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marcothepolopony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

We loved our two night stay at Riversong. Everything about it is perfect - the room, the view, the hosts and the amenities. We stayed in the downstairs room wich had a wonderful river view and a nice little porch which was perfect for reading and sipping wine. The bathroom was wonderful with heated tile floor and a great shower. Ann and Ian were helpful in providing information about the area and walks, restaurants and things to do. We had a delicious breakfast and an enjoyable walk along the Clutha river which runs in front of the house. Wanaka was one of our favorite stops on the South Island - we will definitely stay at Riversong next time we are there.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My partner and I stopped for a night's stay at Riversong B&B and it turned out to be the most lovely b&b.

We were greeted warmly by the lady host, Ann, who then showed us to our lovely downstairs room (with ensuite). The door opened to a nice cosy terrace where you could sit and chill, while taking in the Clutha river views.

The room was clean and bright, with a large window panel that looked out to the same river views as the terrace. There was also a little corner, where teas, cups, wine glasses, plates etc were placed for our convenience. Beds were comfortable with nice and soft duvet and lining. It also has free wireless internet connection

At night, the terrace was the perfect place for us to look out to the night sky filled with stars. There was hardly any light pollution in this little town, and not one star was missing from the sky!

In the morning, Ann and her husband, Ian, made us light BUT terrific muffins, eggs, toasts and bacon.

Before we left, the lovely hosts gave us a parting gift each. And that was a first, hosts giving guests gifts! Very very sweet gesture.

One thing though, this b&b is situated in Albert Town, which is a 4 min drive into Wanaka Town. But if you're driving, this is not a problem at all. Afterall, this more than perfect b&b will make up for the distance.

If we return, we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KnickieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emma9438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.9 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
163 reviews
2.5 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#11 of 53 in Wanaka
272 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tin Tub Luxury Lodge
Tin Tub Luxury Lodge
#19 of 53 in Wanaka
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
360 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversong Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Wicklow Terrace | Albert Town, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £113 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a unique riverside setting just minutes from Wanaka town and the lake. Guestrooms have en-suite bathrooms & stunning river & mountain views. Cooked or continental breakfast included, guest library, internet, parking. Relax in our private gardens, enjoy river walks & superb fly fishing from our backdoor. Take advantage of our local fishing knowledge, tuition and guiding service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing