We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gathering for a wedding”
Review of Spelga House

Spelga House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spelga House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hilltown
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent a week at Spelga House, twelve of us as a family gathering (quality family time) and to attend a family wedding. Fabulous space to relax, just what we all needed. All brilliant reviews are so accurate, no disappointment (even the weather was good to us). Met Kathryn on our arrival, so lovely and helpful which we really appreciated. A long way to come from North, West and East Yorkshire but well worth the effort and would love to think that we might be able to do this again. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

10 of us just spent 4 days in Spelga House and didn't want to leave. The location is amazing surrounded by hills with great views and excellent walking right on the doorstep. The house is really well appointed very comfortable with a roaring fire and jazuzzi bath more like a 4* hotel. The kitchen is perfect for catering and entertaining family and friends with everything you need and more including champagne glasses to toast the new year! There's plenty of room for 10 people whether you want to be all together or need a bit of space. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed last weekend at Spelga House and as before it was the most relaxing away from it all break you can find. Ten of us stayed the house and it was more than able to accomodate us.Kitchen is fantastic all you need is a cook!!!!!!!!!!! The showers and the baths are wonderful. Large living space, reading and TV area all in one. Outside plenty of private parking and 1,000s of acres of the Mournes in your garden with Spelga Dam as your backdrop.This house is modern and well furnished with a real fire in the living area. The photos on website are good however I think the House has to be seen to be believed. Will we be back you bet.Near to Newcastle Newry Kilkeel and Banbridge..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Amazing House.... Just back from three days stay and i cant recommend enough! The views are spectacular and location is ideal. Within ten minutes drive you can be in Tollymore Forest Park, Silent Valley, Kilkeel, Cranfield and many more of N Irelands amazing sights and attractions. The house itself is very high standard and the fact i was allowed to bring my dog was definately 10/10 for me. 5 bedrooms to choose from all furnished beautifully, one with a balcony which allows you to wake to the fresh mountain air and the friendly sheep baa-ing. The garden at night takes you to a different world where you can star gaze in the clear fresh skies! Also worth a mention is magnetic hill at the bottom of the garden ( your car drives itself). Only down side is that i had to leave to come home! Will def be back and will def be telling everyone i know about this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Wow! What a house! And what a location! The photos don't do this place justice - it's nicer than some 4* hotels I've stayed in. Everything is finished to a very high standard and the views are unbelievable. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed at Spelga House for a weekend had a fantastic time right in the middle of the Mournes. The views are spectacular and the House is fabulous and very spacious the kitchen is very high spec as is the bathroom with the whirlpool bath and shower in the en suite is amazing. Plenty of room for ten in the bedrooms and no sofa beds. Will be back later in the year. Highly recommend this self catering house.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

House was amazing and views were spectacular. Loved the jacuzzi bath and it was a real hit with all the family.WIll come again later in the year for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilltown
6.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
159 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kilkeel
115 reviews
6.5 mi away
Riverway House
Riverway House
#1 of 9 in Kilkeel
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
6.3 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spelga House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spelga House

Address: 91 Kilkeel Road, Hilltown BT34 5XL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Hilltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hilltown
Hotel Class:4 star — Spelga House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing