We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“public holidays surcharge left a bitter after taste.”

Winston Gardens Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“public holidays surcharge left a bitter after taste.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My family went for YumCha at this restaurant on a public holidays. The venue was spacious and newly renovated, service was fast and courteous. Food was generally above average by Chinese standard. HarGaw (prawn dumpling ) had really thick skin. charsew pau and charsew kok (BBQ pork bun and pastry ) were below par, actually quite tasteless. ZhaLeong (deep fried Chinese donuts with rice noodle wrapping ) was crispy and fresh, best dish of the day. Chicken feet, very average. Tea was flat.

We were told that there was a surcharge of $3 per head for public holiday only when we were paying the bill. There was no sign warning us about the surcharge at the entrance. We thought this left a bitter after taste. We may come back for YumCha but definitely not during public holidays.

BTW, there is a minimal $15/person charge for YumCha.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont Hills
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Years Celebration”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Winston Gardens Restaurant have only recently been taken over by Yoko and her husband and for new year's eve they did the patrons proud. We had a fantastic assortment of beautiful chinese food, good wines, wonderful service and the staff are so friendly and attentive. To top off the night's celebration, Yoko and hubby had added all the little accessories for you to use to hallow in the new year (hats, rattles, tooters, streamers, etc etc) and had hired a resident band for live music and dancing. It was a great night and a wonderful celebration at a reasonable price. Worth booking again for further celebrations, lunches, dinners as they really want to ensure you have a good experience. Thanks for the great night!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Used to be so much better”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have been eating at this restaurant for over 25 years, but lately after re-opening due to renovations in the centre, it is not the same. We went on a Saturday evening a few weeks ago to celebrate a family birthday. It was sooooo loud we could not hear each other across the table. The tables were so jam packed, it was difficult to walk through the aisles.The lovely host and waitress Annie, were missing also: I don't know whether it has new owners. They have a band which is fine, but on this occasion they allowed a group of 12 year old girls to take over the dance floor to celebrate their netball grand final win and no one else could get near it due to 9 screaming dancing girls and their parents.I don't think restaurants on a Saturday night should be inundated with noisy children.The food was fine as usual, but I will not return as it has lost its atmosphere and good feel and now is noisy and crowded unfortunatley.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynr36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the same.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My family and friends have been attending this restaurant for the best part of 35 years.
We always felt welcome, never waited long for our meal even on Saturday nights and the food and staff were first class, however, we have noticed over the past several months some of the meals have become tasteless and not of the same quality as before and the home delivery meals are barely warm.
I am afraid this restaurant has lost that "something special" for us as regular patrons which makes me sad as we had so many years of happy memories, good food and wonderful staff, I guess nothing stays the same forever.

Helen

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Fare”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

New fit out has vastly improved the feel of this suburban gem. Good quality Western style Chinese featuring tried and true favourites and some options from the tank. Efficient welcoming service and good parking within the building.
Ideal for a business lunch where options in the area are somewhat limited !

Overall a pleasant dining experience which could be enhanced by some more authenitic dishes on the menu !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winston Gardens Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Beaumont Hills, The Hills Shire
 

Been to Winston Gardens Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing