We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peter & Trudy - 8/2/2014 at Winston Garden Chinese Restaurant”

Winston Gardens Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peter & Trudy - 8/2/2014 at Winston Garden Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Celebrated Chinese New Year with work colleagues and we had a ball. The prompt service, food and entertainment were all excellent. There was so much fun and enjoyment - we danced the night away besides enjoying the sumptuous banquet dishes and winning a lucky door prize as well !! So, we will be returning..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamstrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great Chinese and nice staff..”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

we have lived in this area for 20 years, and it has always been our local restaurant its got great food really fantastic service and not overly expensive. i think the owners may have changed in the last 18 months but i dont think it has changed because of that its still great and i love the front of house lady she knows my name and is so cute!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank han19894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Year of The Horse”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We went for Chinese New Year, 5 adults and 2 children and we all had a great time. The restaurant was packed but there was a decent space left between tables so we did not feel like sardines and they were well organised. The buffet menu was a bit traditional Chinese/Australian fare but it was all very nice and there was a reasonable break between the dishes.
The Lion Dabcing kept everyone entertained for at least 30 minutes probably longer and the band played as well so the children did not have a chance to be bored.
We would definitely recommend this experience to others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuckieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“public holidays surcharge left a bitter after taste.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My family went for YumCha at this restaurant on a public holidays. The venue was spacious and newly renovated, service was fast and courteous. Food was generally above average by Chinese standard. HarGaw (prawn dumpling ) had really thick skin. charsew pau and charsew kok (BBQ pork bun and pastry ) were below par, actually quite tasteless. ZhaLeong (deep fried Chinese donuts with rice noodle wrapping ) was crispy and fresh, best dish of the day. Chicken feet, very average. Tea was flat.

We were told that there was a surcharge of $3 per head for public holiday only when we were paying the bill. There was no sign warning us about the surcharge at the entrance. We thought this left a bitter after taste. We may come back for YumCha but definitely not during public holidays.

BTW, there is a minimal $15/person charge for YumCha.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont Hills
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Years Celebration”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Winston Gardens Restaurant have only recently been taken over by Yoko and her husband and for new year's eve they did the patrons proud. We had a fantastic assortment of beautiful chinese food, good wines, wonderful service and the staff are so friendly and attentive. To top off the night's celebration, Yoko and hubby had added all the little accessories for you to use to hallow in the new year (hats, rattles, tooters, streamers, etc etc) and had hired a resident band for live music and dancing. It was a great night and a wonderful celebration at a reasonable price. Worth booking again for further celebrations, lunches, dinners as they really want to ensure you have a good experience. Thanks for the great night!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winston Gardens Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Beaumont Hills, The Hills Shire
 

Been to Winston Gardens Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing