We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Reverie in Dream World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Nyeri
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My stay in Tafaria was what I would call walking into a sweet dream.
Everything about it was magical.
Right from our awesome welcome at the gate by the gatekeeper.
The staff are all wonderful, all working towards making your stay memorable and I loved the way they all went out of their way to make you feel special.
I loved the tour of the place with Daniel and we were all truly immersed into the stories of castles, vikings, damsels and all.
We stayed at the Damsel Rooms and the rooms are special. I loved the hot water bottles we found tucked in our beds at night for warmth. How caring.
The meals are lovely and we had our own 'disco' at the fireplace sipping our drinks.
Everything was just magical and we truly enjoyed the castle feeling.
Would go back any day.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank SusanGitonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, General Manager at Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi Susan and many thanks for your compliments, it was lovely having you around and we are pleased you got more than what you expected! We look forward to welcoming you back at the Castle in the near future:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Awesome awesome experience.great outdoors with quad bikes which made total kids out of us.The rooms were good very clean and comfortable..excellent balcony view with Mt.Kenya on the one hand and the aberdare ranges on the other..food was great as well..would love to go back again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kaswii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

For the first time in my life, my kids didn't want to go back home!
Masaku at the entrance, great guy, and will happily give you tips on how to enjoy the stay, and even when leaving, he'll give you great advise on the best route to use and what to expect.
Daniel & Diana, I never asked for anything they didn't deliver, awesome crew.
When my daughter wanted to see what is at the Dungeon, Daniel left everything and took us around the photos and the history, that was humbling.
Victor at the restaurant was excellent, even where there was buffet, he didn't mind serving us, and everything we asked for, was delivered, quite an experience.
The Chef, a great guy, he not only cooked good food, he followed it up with us, to see our experience.
James the room steward, ever on call, he brought the hot water bottles even before we could ask, if that isn't going out of one's way, then ain't sure of any.
The Lodge calling us later to know if we reached our destination safely, never has that been done before.
Splendid, can't wait for another trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, though I used Lost Knights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gibson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Front Office Manager at Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi Gibson, lovely feedback thanks! The team prides in personalized services and making all part of the Tafaria family! Hope to book you back for Christmas, will have an amazing program for the whole family..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Its a nice place where one just gets out of the norm in terms of ambiance.The lodge is good, with nice rooms, good food and nice and friendly service. Its very thoughtful of the staff that they gave us a heater even though they had given us hot water bottles. They really personalize their services. The view over the Aberdares is to die for.

I would recommend Tafaria without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Primrose118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely place with amazing staff who go out of their way to make their guests as comfortable as possible!

I loved the serenity the place offers and the amazing accommodation; out of this world shower, super comfy beds, wifi in the rooms and even fireplaces in some considering how cold that area gets!

It is a place for everyone; family, singles, couples and even going there as friends. It is definitely a place I see myself going to again!

For more on my experience at Tafaria, have a look at my travel blog post on the place http://elsiemtembezi.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/tafaria-castle/

Room Tip: Choose a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My experience at Tafaria was absolutely amazing! I felt like I was in a sort of a 'dream', like I had been transported to a different time and place. Everything about the Castle is carefully thought out..the rooms are so beautiful and warm and cosy! The decor is exquisite.
The kids had so much fun swimming, horse riding and most of all the quad bikes. We also got a beautiful view of Mt. Kenya and the Aberdare ranges as well....Best of all...the food is excellent. Kudos to the chef!! oh and all the staff are so friendly, helpful and sensitive to kids...many thanks to Kimutai for his help with the bikes and the fishing! I could go on and on....but will definitely visit again....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I had been planning to take our kids to Tafaria for a long time. Our opportunity to stay here presented itself when we were not with the kids. My wife and I really enjoyed the visit.

If you are arriving at night, the signage on the Nyeri - Nyahururu road is not easy to read, so we passed the Tafaria turn-off and almost decided against turning back. Aren't I glad we didn't do that!

The ambience is authentic medieval, and one feels transported to a different time and place.

Food is of very good quality and the portions are very generous. We had buffet dinner and breakfast and got a picnic lunch packed for us the following day.

Our accommodation was very cosy in the "lost knights" tents. Our worry about being cold in the night was quickly dispelled when hot water bottles and a room heater were provided.

There were a couple of corporate team building activities running which led to a very lively night of music, drink and dance at the "dungeon".

My wife and I got to plant a tree on the compound, so we are now forever attached to Tafaria.

Staff and management are very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.

Well done, keep it up!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, General Manager at Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Hi Roy, nice to hear you accomplished one of your "bucket lists" at Tafaria and good to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon with the whole family, kids can take part in horse riding, quade bike and fishing, I am sure they will have a blast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyeri
30.6 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 6 in Nyeri
62 reviews
30.7 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
20.5 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Batian Grand Hotel
Batian Grand Hotel
#4 of 6 in Nyeri
8 reviews
0 mi away
Maiyan
Maiyan
#2 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
7 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Panari Resort Nyahururu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge

Address: Nyeri-Nyahururu Road | Near Aberdares National Park, Nyeri 10100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Nyeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Nyeri
Price Range: £115 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tafaria Castle And Country Lodge Kenya/Nyeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing