We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green”
Review of Green HIlls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green HIlls Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nyeri
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I fell in love with the garden, quite beautiful. The staff were also very friendly and assisted us in our first swimming lessons plus I got to work out for the two days in their well equipped gym. Carry your shorts and your gym outfit not forgetting the swim wear the sun can be inviting.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Oleket E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was here in may 2010 for two weeks with a group of doctors from Nigeria and have been looking for a way to write my review until now. This a very well located hotel with many green gardens.
The ever smiling staff are simply wonderful they took time to teach us Swahili.
The meals are really nice and very good for the prize. The staff helped us every morning to make a take-away pack we took with us each time we were leaving to the villages. Besides the fact that we were allowed to eat as much as you want from a variety of food set before us. Dinner was a special treat for us too.
Sunday lunch was in the garden with life music band playing. The variety of cake was great leaving you confused on which to take.
The spa was another great place. We had a free session at the Spa and gym. Only one of the two jacuzzi was working though. But we had fun any way.
The rooms are lovely. Every morning we had a little basket with small of the essentials a traveller will need and a bottle of water.
The beds were always neatly made with a mosquito net.
The bathrooms are clean and neat with towels replaced everyday.
I had lots of fun here, learnt a little Swahili and made friends too.
I recommend this place and am looking forward to staying here again n again
ASHANTI BUA NA

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MgdaleneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The place is set in a good tranquil location that allows you to relax. Very clean and well kept hotel with good looking gardens (though we visited during the rainy season). Staff are very helpful. Our experience was wonderful.

Room Tip: They have parking near most of the rooms so remember to request rooms with parking access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

As you enter the hotel the security was good they checked the card underneath and handed a card that needs to be submitted at the gate while leaving.

The reception was neat and the Lady greeted and handed over a tariff card. as is the case with Indians i asked for a discount and instead she upgraded me to a so called Deluxe room.

The Room was spacious, comfortable bed with a mosquito net, strong WiFi, two small bottles of water and a TV. The bathrooms were spacious and hot water was really hot. except a Soap and moisturizer nothing much. There was no kettle nor the accompaniments that go with it.

Break fast was quite wide spread and i helped myself to some fruits, Muffins, and a Spanish Omelette that was made as i desired by the chef. the coffee was strong and good. Here again the staff Cyrus Maina and Grace were very friendly.

The hotel has wide green spaces that are great for outdoor lounging or spending an evening in leisure nursing a drink.

Over all a good experience which will make me go back.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viceroy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The people at the hotel are most friendly and very willing to cater to your needs.

The hotel is situated in a beautiful green area, has a very nice garden, a swimming pool and a very good choice of food.

Rooms are clean and quite large.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival the hotel looks reasonable, the staff are super courteous and very helpful. The rooms were fine in terms of size but very basic and could do with an overhaul. The lighting was poor and there was no heating (it was freezing in July). I didn't want to touch anything in the bathroom, so as it was freezing I never used the shower which was a trickle.

There is a new wing so perhaps these are modern rooms.

Breakfast and lunch were very good but there were few choices for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WIF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were unlucky in the fact that the weather was against us when we stayed here but in general the rooms were OK, in need of some renovation and a coat of paint, fly screens and a few more plugs.
The restaurant/pool deck were also OK, but we had a little difficulty in obtaining access to Wi-Fi from staff, best to go up to reception yourself to get the code as the waitress seemed to have no idea what we were talking about.
Food and dining was faultless, and overall staff were friendly.
Not 5-star but also not bad at all. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: On arrival you will find enormous pink flip flops next to your bed which is a little odd. One size f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Hutz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyeri
0.2 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
6.9 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood Hotel
Westwood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nyeri
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Batian Grand Hotel
Batian Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nyeri
7 reviews
5.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green HIlls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green HIlls Hotel

Address: Bishop Gatimu Road, Nyeri 10100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Nyeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nyeri
Price Range: £49 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Green HIlls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green HIlls Hotel Kenya/Nyeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing