We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff attitude”
Review of Green HIlls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green HIlls Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nyeri
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great staff attitude”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Basic room which can do with some renovations. The bathroom was clean but with very old sinks and bathtubs that need to be replaced to elevate the room appearance. The waiting staff however were great and no request was too much for them. Great a la carte menu with a variety to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    25
    28
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
4
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

need to style up on your room service, where on earth do you request for breakfast which take an hour to be provided. Any only to get a mere explanation that a one Beatrice got stranded since she didn't pick the room number from the call. I believe there are standard phone etiquettes, like of identified the caller details.

overall the other services, i.e.reservations and laundry are excellent

rm95 0n 29th/30th March

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I wanted to give this hotel a 3.5 rating. Although it was built in the 1970s (not fact checked) it gives off an air of faded colonial elegance - both in terms of its architecture and the rather sad state of the rooms. I stayed there for a week and just about remembered the way to my room by the time I left.
The room was large and basic, and the bed reasonably comfortable. However, the state of my bathroom left a lot to be desired. The toilet took a LOT of persuasion to flush, my shower (an attachment in the bathtub) didn't work, and there was a huge crack in the hand basin meaning that it didn't retain water long enough for me to shave. Having said that, I've stayed n worse places and soon adapted to the situation.
Breakfast was wonderful and the restaurant staff so friendly and helpful. Evening meals were good - I tried both local and 'western' dishes and enjoyed everything served to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Only there for one night, with most of the day spent in a meeting, the staff are friendly and attentive, food is nothing out of the ordinary but is good and plentiful. Check in and check out was very smooth. If your driving and in the lower wing rooms you can park right outside your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msitu_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was amazed at how the staff at Green Hills were friendly, warm and always willing to go the extra mile to help me. The premises are beautiful and I quiet. I would recommend Green Hills Hotel to anyone who needs a pocket friendly budget hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naisiadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was the second time we stayed at Green Hills. Its a good choice for visitors to the region. Safe, Comfortable, Clean, Family friendly and above all, Affordable. The food choice is quite good and suitable for travellers from Europe and the US who don't want to try the local fare, although the menu does have quite a good choice of that also. The rooms are basic, but have everything you need, and you can park right outside your room which is a huge plus. The spa and gym are great value and I would recommend that you partake in their services when you visit. The staff are friendly without being what I call "Tip Friendly". There is free WiFi over the entire complex, (including in most rooms) however it is a bit slow. Would definitely use it again, Anyone planning a Christmas or New Year away from home, I would suggest they look at Green Hills in Nyeri.

Room Tip: Choose the Lower Wing rooms, so that you can park outside, get one close to (behind) the Spa for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotschas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I fell in love with the garden, quite beautiful. The staff were also very friendly and assisted us in our first swimming lessons plus I got to work out for the two days in their well equipped gym. Carry your shorts and your gym outfit not forgetting the swim wear the sun can be inviting.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleket E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyeri
0.2 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
6.9 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
288 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Batian Grand Hotel
Batian Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nyeri
7 reviews
5.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood Hotel
Westwood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nyeri
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green HIlls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green HIlls Hotel

Property: Green HIlls Hotel
Address: Bishop Gatimu Road, Nyeri 10100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Nyeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nyeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Green HIlls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green HIlls Hotel Kenya/Nyeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing