We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kololo Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What makes Kololo Game Reserve very special, is the fact that you can walk or cycle around and spot zebra's or giraffe's, the impala's came to our lodge and you can see all kind of animals that you normally never see (except in a zoo).
We had a great 3 hour-walk and the nature was very interesting and we were really excited to see some giraffe's on our way home to the lodge.

Ofcourse we took several Game Drives to "Welgevonden" with Jasper, one of the rangers. He is a one-of-a-kind ranger. I don't know about the other staff, but we had the feeling that Jasper was one of the best, as if Kololo Reserve rests at his shoulders.
It is absolutely great that Kololo has its own gate to enter "Welgevonden", and there starts a 3 hour drive where you can see the most beautiful nature and the big 5.
"Welgevonden" is quite special, it is not so touristic, they really care for the animals, they let the animals live a normal wild life. And in this setting you can take a game drive with Jasper who will explain all you ever want to know about nature and wild life, and who has all the patience of the world and you can actually feel his love for the animals who live there.
We found it very very special.

Kololo sent a van to the hotel we were staying in Johannesburg, with chauffeur. He was right on time so all went well. When we went back from Kololo to the airport we took the same van. It's a trip of 3,5 hour but we liked being picked up and dropped off. This way we didn't need to rent a car, you don't need a car when you stay at Kololo.
I booked the King's lodge, but the first night it was already booked so the first night we stayed in the Queen's lodge. Those two lodges are the biggest houses of Kololo, they are both really nice, Queen has an extremely stunning view, but King's view is magical too. King's lodge is the biggest house, a typical South African villa, with its own small swimming pool and lots of space at the terrace and living room etc. One small matter: they are too economical with the amount of towels, we found that a little bit funny. In a lodge like that you expect much more towels. Also the sun-beds and the covers near the swimming pool were a bit worn out, I think it's time to renew them.

About the food: the quality varied during the 5 days we were there, once or twice we were surprised by the good food we had, the other times it was basic but okay.
Normally we find that very important, but in this setting you don't care, as if it is not supposed to be extremely luxurious, I think it would feel fake. Now you almost felt as if you were not just some other tourist ;-)
And King's lodge was a beautiful villa, well decorated with fine South African furniture, all very comfortable, and great views, and it made us feel at home.

Kololo Game Reserve is a very special place, you are surrounded by the best nature you can imagine and you know that you're not there because of the quality of food, you're there because of the nature, the animals, the real experience.

Room Tip: If you want a real big house with lots of privacy, choose for King's lodge, or for Queen's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingdutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten_Jansen, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much for you extensive review and positive feedback. This information is very valuable for us to improve our service to our customers. Hopefully we can welcome you on Kololo again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Not the full big five safari experience but lots of animals on their own patch but more available next door. Nice staff and accomadation but only adequate food, overall good value. Service a little slow at times. Beware the VERY long dirt track to get there; allow enough time before sunset.

Room Tip: we can recommend Oom Piet, but didnt see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten_Jansen, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post. We will take your feedback into account to improve our service to our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had a fantastic stay at Kololo. The free evening game drive including sundowner drinks and nibbles was fab (saw lots of game and giraffe), our lodge (Lion's Den) was really comfortable and a great price, meals were delicious, setting is absolutely stunning, staff were polite and helpful and we did some lovely walks and cycles (on the free mountian bikes to borrow) around the kololo reserve - really magical to spot wildebeest and zebra when on foot/on a bike! The 6 hour Welgevonden game drive was also fab. Highly recommended, can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten_Jansen, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you very much for you great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Kololo is a very nice place, about 280 km from Johannesburg, about a 3.5 hour drive, of which the last 30 km is a bit bumpy, but possible for every vehicle.
The chalets offer a lot of privacy, and are all within a few minutes walking distance from the reception and restaurant. Chalet quality is good and you have everything you want available there, including a nice place to sit outside and a small kitchen and barbecue. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant are included, it is best to bring your own drinks and snacks for the rest of the day, though you can also have lunch in the restaurant. The quality of the food varied a bit over the 7 days we were there, between basic and good. It is certainly not the quality you get in the better lodges, but in general acceptable.
The location in a non-big 5 reserve makes the place very attractive for people with children. You can bike and hike all over the place if you have the energy for that.or just be lazy in and around your chalet. A daily 1.5 hour game drive in the reserve is included, which is a nice relaxing way of enjoying nature.
You can book at Kololo a big 5 safari in the neighboring Welgevonden reserve, but that costs 475 Rand per person for a 3 hour drive. If you are looking for a big 5 adventure in your vacation, you better go to a big 5 game lodge. If you want 2 big 5 game drives a day, you will find better and cheaper places. Kololo is more to relax in a friendly atmosphere, with the opportunity to get a preview of the big 5.
So a big YES if you want to relax, a big YES for people with children, but do not compare it with big 5 lodges.
I give 4 stars instead of 5, because of the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael188580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten_Jansen, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for your constructive criticism and your comprehensive review. We will definitely take your feedback into account to improve our service to our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Velgevonden Game drives are very expensive limiting the amount of times one would love to go for a game drive in the big 5 reserve. Perhaps cut the time down to 2 hrs and drop the price.
The 29kms sand road to Kololo, because it is up hill was very corrugated and tiresome. Coming home was downhill and not so bad.
But the peace and quite, the amenities and service at Kololo made up for
for the bad sand road experience.
Love Kololo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten_Jansen, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have had a wonderfull stay at Kololo!
We were there with our 2 little kids (2 & 5) and had an excellent time.
The drive on the Kololo farm was very nice. We saw a lot of animals and were told a lot about them. during the drive we stopped at a beautiful place with some drinks and snacks.
The people who work there are very friendly and willing. We had our little girls birthday there and they made her a special birthday cake! Very nice.
The houses are perfect. Everything is available. Good beds. Clean. Beautiful locations!

The restaurant and its swimming pool (a little cold in spring time, but that doesnt matter for kids) are very nice. The food is good!
We even saw Elephants from there! So nice

We can also advise to book the Game Drive to Welgevonden!!

We are defenitely coming back!!

Room Tip: Email with Kololo and tell them what you are looking for and they will give you all the information...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otje75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten_Jansen, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for your nice feedback! We are glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday! Hopefully we will see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Kololo. Two days with wonderful hiking trails, were we get next to zebra, kudu and giraffe. Nice accomodation "bushbuck". Very good dining and very friendly people at Kololo. Kalebucha - thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten_Jansen, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
11.6 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 2 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
201 reviews
18.5 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
424 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#5 of 43 in Vaalwater
80 reviews
49.9 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
69 reviews
0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#6 of 43 in Vaalwater
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololo Game Reserve

Address: Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range: £180 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololo Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kololo Game Reserve is situated in the beautiful province of Limpopo, South Africa, in the heart of the Waterberg biosphere. Vast, peaceful and incredibly beautiful, this is a fascinating destination with a rich cultural legacy and natural splendour.A malaria-free area, child friendly and home to a large variety of game, Kololo is a perfect safari destination. Visit neighbouring reserve Welgevonden Game Reserve (of which Kololo is also part) and view the Big 5 - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo - or enjoy a sneak preview over the fence, from the comfort of your chalet at Kololo.Kololo has its own gate near the reception, which provides direct access to Welgevonden Game Reserve. Kololo therefore has a unique concept: the Big 5 and accommodation in a luxurious, comfortable lodge where only the safe wildlife roams free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololo Game Reserve South Africa/Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing