We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion at Kololo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kololo Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Kololos service was excellent, all problems swiftly sorted out. My personal disappointment was with the location. It is not situated in a scenic area of the Waterberg, I realise that it is an unsolvable problem but I felt that the tarriffs were high for probably a piece of old farm land. I was also dismayed to see a lot of alien species of Flora, Jadarandas Syringas Lantana Australian bottle brush, and a questionable set of trees near the restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mits M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review and critical note. We have worked very hard for several years to bring back the land to its original state. Unfortunately, these process take time and very hard work. A recent project we have done is the time consuming process of removing the bankrotbos from Kololo. Large sections of the open plains on Kololo are already recovering from the removal of these plants. In all the work we do, we focus on the following: Is it Green? What can we do to make it Greener? We have also been investing in reintroducing game to Kololo such as giraffe, wildebeest, eland, waterbuck, blesbok and zebra. There is a long list of items we want to improve and implement which will never end. However, we are very proud of what we have achieved so far! The enormous progress we have made and the growth of the numbers of animals in our wildlife area, motivate us to go on with our mission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Kololo Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff were friendly, the room was large and the mattress comfortable. The wine list was boring but the food was ok and well presented. Nice birds in the garden. No interesting game, scenery or plant life. VERY overpriced and the 30 km of dirt was really terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Unfortunatly, we had a lot af rain which hasn't been good for the road. Luckily, you found the way to our lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay a lot, beautiful location, great cabins, the food was delicious. The gamedrives were great and very informative. Very friendly and competent staff. The drive to the lodge over the Bakkerspass was an adventure in its self. The horseriding with Savannah horse trails was amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for you review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

great family friendly lodge in a wonderful setting! accommodation is superb and facilities like the game drives were very good (saw a spectacular breeding herd of Elephants), mountain biking also great fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Cheetah bush village here.
Cycling between giraffes, zebras and other wildlife here is fantastic!
Very friendly and skillful staff and a great kitchen!!
We'll be back someday!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. It was nice having you with us, looking forward to welcoming you back again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed with my family (children 12 and 15) at Kololo for 10 days. We had a wonderful time. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and tried to help us in every way possible. We were sad to leave Kololo and their staff behind but we will come back for sure. What also sets this place apart from the others is that there is a large area where you can freely go hiking or take a mountainbike and meet al kinds of wildlife like giraffe, impala and wildebeest not being worried about lions or elephants as they are kept out from this part of the resort. The rangers are also really great and knowledgeable as is the break with them on the Savanna with a cool glas of white wine. Also the accommodation we stayed in was wonderful and the food was great. Thanks for a wonderful holiday Kellyn, Ellis, Richard, Ryan, Bok, Marjolijn, Tanya, Andries, George, Ton and Yvonne!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

It was great having you and your girls on Kololo! We are looking forward to seeing you on Kololo again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

12 of us stayed at the tented camp for a stag weekend. We enjoyed an excellent dinner and breakfasts at the main lodge, and made our other meals over the campfire. It is an excellent spot to get away from it all. The camp has a well equipped kitchen and the tents are comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful-- we were even able to request beer deliveries over the radio. We made one game drive on Saturday morning and saw many antelope, warthogs, and white rhino. All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Tank you posting The review. It was great having you wit us. Hopefully we will see you at a next stag weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#6 of 40 in Vaalwater
23 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
151 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#2 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
58 reviews
11.6 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
190 reviews
23.3 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#8 of 40 in Vaalwater
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololo Game Reserve

Address: Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range: £107 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololo Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kololo Game Reserve is situated in the beautiful province of Limpopo, South Africa, in the heart of the Waterberg biosphere. Vast, peaceful and incredibly beautiful, this is a fascinating destination with a rich cultural legacy and natural splendour.A malaria-free area, child friendly and home to a large variety of game, Kololo is a perfect safari destination. Visit neighbouring reserve Welgevonden Game Reserve (of which Kololo is also part) and view the Big 5 - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo - or enjoy a sneak preview over the fence, from the comfort of your chalet at Kololo.Kololo has its own gate near the reception, which provides direct access to Welgevonden Game Reserve. Kololo therefore has a unique concept: the Big 5 and accommodation in a luxurious, comfortable lodge where only the safe wildlife roams free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololo Game Reserve South Africa/Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing