We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kololo for a Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kololo Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kololo for a Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

everything was fine, but because we were there in June it was quite cold after the sun went down. The Lodges are wonderful, but the open fire place was not enough to heat it up a little. We will come back in spring or summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review! Unfortunately June is one of the coldest months for our region. Hopefully you will have time and the possibility to visit us in Spring or Summer when the days are nice and warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    101
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
175
103
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Not only for Africa-"beginners" it is a lovely place just to stay - within the spacious landscape with the different animals and nice meals in the evening.
And the last more than 20 km can be managed also with a small car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gudrun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was nice having you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

we carefully planned our last days in South Africa. We stayed the last days in Kololo to relax. This is really the place to relax, enjoy a walk through the fields and watch the animals. A safari in the late afternoon is realy nice. Overall a place to come back
Marian Baas Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Douwe_Baas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Kololos service was excellent, all problems swiftly sorted out. My personal disappointment was with the location. It is not situated in a scenic area of the Waterberg, I realise that it is an unsolvable problem but I felt that the tarriffs were high for probably a piece of old farm land. I was also dismayed to see a lot of alien species of Flora, Jadarandas Syringas Lantana Australian bottle brush, and a questionable set of trees near the restaurant

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mits M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review and critical note. We have worked very hard for several years to bring back the land to its original state. Unfortunately, these process take time and very hard work. A recent project we have done is the time consuming process of removing the bankrotbos from Kololo. Large sections of the open plains on Kololo are already recovering from the removal of these plants. In all the work we do, we focus on the following: Is it Green? What can we do to make it Greener? We have also been investing in reintroducing game to Kololo such as giraffe, wildebeest, eland, waterbuck, blesbok and zebra. There is a long list of items we want to improve and implement which will never end. However, we are very proud of what we have achieved so far! The enormous progress we have made and the growth of the numbers of animals in our wildlife area, motivate us to go on with our mission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff were friendly, the room was large and the mattress comfortable. The wine list was boring but the food was ok and well presented. Nice birds in the garden. No interesting game, scenery or plant life. VERY overpriced and the 30 km of dirt was really terrible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunatly, we had a lot af rain which hasn't been good for the road. Luckily, you found the way to our lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay a lot, beautiful location, great cabins, the food was delicious. The gamedrives were great and very informative. Very friendly and competent staff. The drive to the lodge over the Bakkerspass was an adventure in its self. The horseriding with Savannah horse trails was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for you review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

great family friendly lodge in a wonderful setting! accommodation is superb and facilities like the game drives were very good (saw a spectacular breeding herd of Elephants), mountain biking also great fun!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
11.6 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
18.5 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
23.3 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#7 of 35 in Vaalwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Dinkweng Safari Camp
Dinkweng Safari Camp
#15 of 35 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
24.5 mi away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#6 of 35 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololo Game Reserve

Property: Kololo Game Reserve
Address: Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololo Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kololo Game Reserve is situated in the beautiful province of Limpopo, South Africa, in the heart of the Waterberg biosphere. Vast, peaceful and incredibly beautiful, this is a fascinating destination with a rich cultural legacy and natural splendour.A malaria-free area, child friendly and home to a large variety of game, Kololo is a perfect safari destination. Visit neighbouring reserve Welgevonden Game Reserve (of which Kololo is also part) and view the Big 5 - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo - or enjoy a sneak preview over the fence, from the comfort of your chalet at Kololo.Kololo has its own gate near the reception, which provides direct access to Welgevonden Game Reserve. Kololo therefore has a unique concept: the Big 5 and accommodation in a luxurious, comfortable lodge where only the safe wildlife roams free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololo Game Reserve South Africa/Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing