We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big 5 in hiding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kololo Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big 5 in hiding”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Kololo. However when it was time to see the Big 5 at the neighbouring game reserve only two of the big 5 showed up. The other 3 well have to go back for. Thank you fire everything.

Great times

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zuko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    106
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
185
107
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Situated in the beautiful Waterberg area of South Africa this a place to come and relax and see some wild animals. It is very peaceful. Safari drives are available at Kololo and at adjacent Welgevonden Safari park, where you find the Big Five. Indeed you can see into Welgevonden from Kololo. Rooms are functional safari type as is the food. Hosts and staff most welcoming You can get wifi and cellphone reception in certain places
One thing to note. The reserve is linked to the outside world by a serious 29km dirt road. Allow time about one hour and have a coffee in Vaalwater in that nice little shopping centre before you set off. Don't drive it after dark! And be warned that the first half is a lot easier than the second half! You will make it but you want to leave for a few days when you have, and that is part of the joy of going to Kololo

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing and sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review. The Bakkespass can indeed be challenging especially for unexperienced South Africa drivers. Guests arriving by car can Phone the reception once they arrive in Vaalwater and turn onto the bakkerspas, then we know when to expect them at the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friends advised us to stay at Kololo Game Reserve during our holiday and they have not said a word too much! It was great staying at Kololo. Nice area, lovely houses, and very friendly staff. Absolutely worth staying there for a couple of nights,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We expected something totally different, more romantic ,better cuisine and more to do. The fact that we only discovered that we PAID for the game drive at Welgevonden , that was not explained to us on arrival, annoyed me tremendously nearly R1000 wasted. The food was NOT up to standard and the restaurant was so smoked up it was unpleasant to sit there, so NO romantic dinners at all. Except for walking and cycling nothing else to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your critical feedback. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Due to the temperature in the winter months we have no other option than heating the restaurant with the fireplace. Unfortunate, that you weren't aware of the additional costs for activities outside Kololo. Personalized service and good information is very important to us, therefore we will take your feedback into account to improve our service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I went to Kololo for a short project and was surprised in all aspects.

Kololo is attached to Welgevonden Big5 Game Reserve, the entrance gate is only 200m from the reception. The parks are seperated by only a fence, making it possible to see the Big5 park from the restaurant, or simply walk upto the fence.

Because of this seclusion, I was able to walk around freely through the 2000 hectares that Kololo has to offer. There are many trails and bikes usage is free of charge. This way I was able to experience 'plain' game such as giraffes, zebras, wildebeest, kudu, waterbok and many more without having to be guided by a ranger. I even got woken up one night by a giraffe staring into my room (Weaver).

Especially when staying longer, this set-up gives many activity options in between the Big5 Game Drives that go into Welgevonden a couple of times a day. And it was nice for the families with kids that just wanted to run free.

My hobby is photography and it was awesome to be able to lay in the fields here for a few hours and take Macro shots. Not only big game in my photo album! (Although my zoom lens was used lots and lots in Welgevonden)

Do bring enough warm clothes when staying here in winter. It's very chilly at night!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya198511k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay on our reserve and enjoyed the activities we offer. Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review about your experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location next to Welgevonden Game Reserve and view from Kololo, beautiful, clean, luxury lodges, friendly, helpfull, knowledgeable staff, lots of wildlife (saw rhino's, elephants, lions, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JP_Weterings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The combination of the Kololo Game Reserve where you can cycle and hike as there are no predators. And the Welgevonden Game Reserve where the big 5 can be found, is a perfect match. In addition the houses on Kololo are very nicely decorated and clean. Beautiful situated so you have privacy. Don't get a fright when the nialas or giraffes are roaming near you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KLM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KololoGameReserve, Marketing & Sales at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will welcome you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
11.6 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
185 reviews
23.3 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#6 of 36 in Vaalwater
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#10 of 36 in Vaalwater
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
49 reviews
17.0 mi away
Dinkweng Safari Camp
Dinkweng Safari Camp
#14 of 36 in Vaalwater
54 reviews
24.5 mi away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#5 of 36 in Vaalwater
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololo Game Reserve

Property: Kololo Game Reserve
Address: Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololo Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kololo Game Reserve is situated in the beautiful province of Limpopo, South Africa, in the heart of the Waterberg biosphere. Vast, peaceful and incredibly beautiful, this is a fascinating destination with a rich cultural legacy and natural splendour.A malaria-free area, child friendly and home to a large variety of game, Kololo is a perfect safari destination. Visit neighbouring reserve Welgevonden Game Reserve (of which Kololo is also part) and view the Big 5 - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo - or enjoy a sneak preview over the fence, from the comfort of your chalet at Kololo.Kololo has its own gate near the reception, which provides direct access to Welgevonden Game Reserve. Kololo therefore has a unique concept: the Big 5 and accommodation in a luxurious, comfortable lodge where only the safe wildlife roams free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololo Game Reserve South Africa/Waterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing