We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was a fantastic stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Z Hotel for 6 nights and would highly recommend this hotel. The food was very good, staff very friendly, service was terrific and the location superb. The rooms were very clean and well serviced. We also used the diving company affiliated with the hotel and would also recommend their services. Well worth considering when you are looking for accommodation in Zanzibar. My only minor comment would be that at times the service in the restaurants was slower than what we would normal expect. However, we were on holidays consequently we were not in a rush! Management is very attentive to the needs of their clients and were very welcoming and helpful to us! We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    239
    49
    25
    19
See reviews for
108
676
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Maybe my expectations are just too high, I can't understand how these reviews are so different from what I experienced. And these reviews are how we picked this hotel.

The good news is that the rooms are clean but the bad news is the musty smell in the room was overwhelming. Maybe it was just the suite that we occupied but it was so bad I had the front desk give me air freshener. It was impossible to mask that smell.

The Z bills itself as a "Boutique" hotel. We often stay in boutique hotels and this one does not fit the definition.

This place has so much potential, but they don't pay attention to details. Aside from the awful smell in the room, my bath towel had a hole in it. The pool towels look and feel as if they have been in use for the past decade. The pool area is sandy and while we were there it was never swept, in the morning would be a good time to clean that area up. The glasses the welcome drink arrived in looked, well let me just say I declined the offer.

The hotel does have two computers in the library. A flat screen in the suite. A safe too.

On a positive note: The garden area around the hotel is well maintained and very pretty. The housekeeping staff and the security guards were very nice. The location is good if you want to be in walking distance to many restaurants, shops and tour offices.

Perhaps if they worked on their customer service and started to pay attention to details I would reconsider. This place has potential but I can not recommend it. If we hadn't pre-paid so much for this place we would have moved hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KJSFt_Lauderdale_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornnix
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Z Hotel really is beautiful. Set on the white sands of Nungwi beach with the turquoise Indian Ocean lapping the shore.

We were a little worried at first as the hotel was overrun by boisterous South Africans in cowboy hats drinking copius amounts of beer in the pool - totally not what we expected at a Boutiquq Hotel aimed at couples.

There was however a wedding taking place there, and the Bride and Groom (who seemed to be the only members of the party staying at the hotel) had the hwole of their family and friends around from other hotels in the area.

After their wedding took place, and they left. The hotel was a tranquil paradise, ideal for lazing aon sunloungers and alternating dips between the ocean and the sun-warmed pool.

Rooms are well equipped with air-con (which does go off regularly in the night due to power cuts) so you will wake up with the heat. Beautiful 4 poster bed, with the most beautifully draped mosquito nets.

Spotlessly cleaned rooms with a great turndown service in the evenings.

Food is great - but becomes a little boring after a few days as the menu is repeated, although would reccommend taking advantage of the Swahili BBQ's and feasts on the beach. For those evenings that the galas don't take place - bag yourself a table over the Ocean and watch the tropical fish, crabs and squid under the twinkling sky (even better when there's a power cut!).

Happy Hour for cocktails is great - but wouldn't reccommend getting anything blended of fruity given the flys that surround the fruit that's left out.

Was hugely dissapointed on the last day there (before making the 24 hour journey home) when I ended up with food poisoning form the Tempura Prawns, where the "black bit" hadn't been removed.

Seen several girls also enjoying the same lunch - and apparently at breakfast the next morning, there were several men dining alone. But, that's the think with seafood such as prawns.

Everything is reasonably priced in dollars, and we lived like a King and Queen for the whole ten days we were there (getting two of those nights free through one of their deals!) and spent pretty much next to nothing living with no expense spared.

I would reccommend staying in and touring Stone Town at the beginning or end of your holiday if you're going to - as the excursions from the hotel are pricey.

On the whole - an amazingly beautiful place that I'd reccommend to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mornnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Great beach, sea and pool. The Hotel is all style and no substance having fancy IPOD docks that due to the frequent power cuts the time flashes contiuously and has to be re-set, has fancy TV sets but has very noisy overheating fridges. The rooms are reasonably clean, towels are not luxury, however bedlinen good. The main restaurant is slow at breakfast (waiting an hour for pancakes) and slow for a la carte. However on the theme evenings the food was good and given that it was buffet service all was a success. The top (lunch/snack) restaurant is much more consistent and better. The pool loungers are again very stylish but one of the most uncomfortable pieces of furniture I have ever come across. We opted for the beach where they were much better.
The Hotel basically needs to train it's staff in knowing the menu, being efficient and they will go along way further to improving their reviews. They need to be more customer focused and forget some of the style, as we all know, however fancy something is, if you dont have good service it is pointless.
Zanzibar is very tropical but unfortunately full of flies and waste fill dumps (one very close to the hotel). You cannot walk to the village of Nungwi from the hotel without a guide, why is that? The hotel security is very good and you can sit on the beach without being bothered by salesmen.
I hope that the hotel takes note of these comments and tries to improve on it's customer service and comfort. It has the chance of being a very good hotel given it's location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank princey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed at the Z hotel with my friend in July 2011 after climbing Kilimanjaro and going on a safari. It was just what we needed after a busy few weeks in Tanzania. We had the lovely surprise of being upgraded when we arrived at the Z (although I don't think this is normal - our agent had doubled booked the room)! This probably made our stay all the more special - we had one of the seafront cottages which was simply stunning. The beach at the Z hotel is lovely - pure white sand and delicious turquoise waters with lots of Dhows sailing past. The pool at the Z is an infinity pool and particularly at sunset, looks beautiful. The small details at the Z really make for a special stay including an ipod docking system in the rooms, designer furniture, thick towels, fresh flowers in the room and a flat screen tv built into the gorgeous 4 poster bed. We enjoyed eating at both of the restaurants at the hotel, although the cocktails were a little unpredictable! Overall, a special hotel that we had a wonderful time at.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Z Hotel was our final destination on a long trip through East Africa. It was also the hotel we were most excited about after having viewed their website. We were disappointed that it did not live up to our admittedly-high expectations.

It is a beautiful hotel. The grounds are exquisite (and exquisitely-kept), the view is outstanding (though be careful of the "Ocean-View Room", as some views are seriously obstructed), and the decor and fixtures in the rooms are luxurious. The infinity pool is serene, as is the open-air covered reading room. It is also one of the few places we visited in Africa that had air-conditioning.

The little things are where the cracks show through. The bar's stock was so low that we were rejected three times before we finally ordered a drink that could be made. In the rooms, we sometimes got fresh shampoo, and sometimes not. The towels were sometimes not changed when we wanted them changed... and sometimes were changed when we would have kept them an extra day. Sometimes they were replaced without removing the old towels, which is a minor incident except that the rooms are very small and prone to clutter. They have modern iPod docks with clocks in each room, but they don't put the battery backup in these, so the clock resets daily when they switch back and forth from generator power. They provide instant coffee at breakfast instead of fresh-brewed, despite the fact that Tanzania produces some of the best beans in the world. They advertise free internet access throughout the grounds, but it did not work throughout our five nights at the hotel. These may be nitpicky items, but they are the sort of thing that are keeping the Z Hotel back from being a truly world-class resort.

The restaurant is hit-and-miss, at best. We had a tasty lunch, but breakfast ranged from poor to adequate, including once when we waited 45 minutes for eggs, and then had to send them back because they were so poorly cooked. Our first night's room service had the potential to be delicious, but took so long to arrive that by the time it did, the meal was tepid and the ice-cream-topped dessert was a soupy mess. To top it off, everything on their menus is listed in US dollars, which deftly hides the fact that prices are about 50% higher than most of their nearby competition!

During our first 24 hours at the hotel, our room's power cut out multiple times due to a faulty circuit-breaker, and we had to phone each time to have the breaker reset. The air conditioning, of course, failed as well, leading to an extremely hot and muggy night. To their credit, the management was very apologetic about all problems, providing us with free snacks and drinks, and even refunding our first night's payment for the air-conditioning problem. Still, we would have much preferred to have had an exceptional experience rather than an extra $200.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpotechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medfield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in Z Hotel for 4 nights in late July 2011, after 5 days of safar. The hotel met all our expectations and more! It has a breathtaking view of the ocean and was rated by my teens as the best beach ever (Z has the nicest beach in the area - none of the beaches at the other hotels were as good). At high tide,the water is literally at your door step letting you have about 4 hours to enjoy a good swim; the rest of the time it is not deep enough to swim but is a feast for your eyes while you sit on the sand with your book. The infinity pool was amazing and a quiet relaxing reading area with amazing views especially at sunset.

We stayed in the sea view room which was very reasonably priced and had a fabulously big balcony and room. The three kids had a garden view double but Julie very kindly added a third bed for no extra charge. There was little moving room but that did not really matter as the room was only used for sleeping. The TV had a good selection of movies for those lazy afternoons and Wi Fi worked great and was free.

Breakfast had a big selection of hot food, cereals and fruit and was good. The terrace restaurant was good for fast food. We recommend the Langi Langi for dinner; it has local spicy food which makes for a pleasant change . There are also a lot of food options around.

Most important of all is the quality of the management: friendly, helpful and very pleasant to deal with. Julie, the manager, is great - hands-on, courteous, flexible. We highly recommend this hotel for its location and price. It was the perfect end to our vacation.

Room Tip: Speak to Julie!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing