We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique on the beach - heaven!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After hearing about the beautiful hotels in Zanzibar and Nungwi we arrived at the Z Hotel and the view took our breaths away. We arrived early and the people at reception took us for a tour and then told us that they would hold our bags until our room was ready. We had the most beautiful room overlooking the swimming pool and the incredibly turquoise ocean. The rooms were clean, each bed had a flat screen tv attached to it, there was a huge shower in the bathroom and it was large enough to hang two wetsuits in and still shower undisturbed.
The restaurants are great, the views to die for and the wanders on the beach make this hotel is dream location!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and the beach on the higher floors are def worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beansy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

I'll admit this is one of the hardest hotel reviews I've ever written.

Why?

Because it reminds me how much I wish I was still there!

I'm astonished to see a few poor reviews posted over the last few weeks. The consistency in quality reviews on this hotel was what we went on to make our booking and from our experience of 6 nights there (until Monday) was absolutely reflective of the extensive number of positive comments that influenced our choice.

Z Hotel is a great place in a fabulous spot on a pristine beach in Nungwi. We booked direct with the hotel and the helpful attitude we received over email in organising our stay was evident right from the start as we were collected from Stonetown. We had a very warm and effortless welcome (by Julie) complete with welcome drinks (I think the dirty glass experienced by one reviewer really was a one off as we didn't see any dirty glassware etc - the hotel is very clean and very well maintained).

With touches reminiscent of the Zetter and Soho Hotel in London, the facilities are of a high standard and create an atmosphere that is a real enjoyment to be in. Touches like ipod docking stations, quality bedlinen, robes etc add to it being a level above the competition. The food was good and the view from the Saruche terrace, where breakfast is served, is truly fabulous. The pool is perfectly positioned to take full advantage of the view of the beach and the sunset; you'll certainly be very content after happy hour (for which the choice of cocktails and accompanying music is spot on!).

Service is attentive and the hotel management team (led by Keith) are exceptionally friendly, helpful and proactive in ensuring your needs are met. If you do experience any issues (which we didn’t), it’s clear from the attitude that permeates the place that customer service and ensuring a quality experience to those staying is the top priority of the Z Hotel team.

I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this place and to visiting again.

Book now.......you won’t regret it.

Room Tip: For the best ocean view ask for a room in the block directly facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mindy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Z Hotel for 6 nights and would highly recommend this hotel. The food was very good, staff very friendly, service was terrific and the location superb. The rooms were very clean and well serviced. We also used the diving company affiliated with the hotel and would also recommend their services. Well worth considering when you are looking for accommodation in Zanzibar. My only minor comment would be that at times the service in the restaurants was slower than what we would normal expect. However, we were on holidays consequently we were not in a rush! Management is very attentive to the needs of their clients and were very welcoming and helpful to us! We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolina155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Maybe my expectations are just too high, I can't understand how these reviews are so different from what I experienced. And these reviews are how we picked this hotel.

The good news is that the rooms are clean but the bad news is the musty smell in the room was overwhelming. Maybe it was just the suite that we occupied but it was so bad I had the front desk give me air freshener. It was impossible to mask that smell.

The Z bills itself as a "Boutique" hotel. We often stay in boutique hotels and this one does not fit the definition.

This place has so much potential, but they don't pay attention to details. Aside from the awful smell in the room, my bath towel had a hole in it. The pool towels look and feel as if they have been in use for the past decade. The pool area is sandy and while we were there it was never swept, in the morning would be a good time to clean that area up. The glasses the welcome drink arrived in looked, well let me just say I declined the offer.

The hotel does have two computers in the library. A flat screen in the suite. A safe too.

On a positive note: The garden area around the hotel is well maintained and very pretty. The housekeeping staff and the security guards were very nice. The location is good if you want to be in walking distance to many restaurants, shops and tour offices.

Perhaps if they worked on their customer service and started to pay attention to details I would reconsider. This place has potential but I can not recommend it. If we hadn't pre-paid so much for this place we would have moved hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KJSFt_Lauderdale_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Z Hotel really is beautiful. Set on the white sands of Nungwi beach with the turquoise Indian Ocean lapping the shore.

We were a little worried at first as the hotel was overrun by boisterous South Africans in cowboy hats drinking copius amounts of beer in the pool - totally not what we expected at a Boutiquq Hotel aimed at couples.

There was however a wedding taking place there, and the Bride and Groom (who seemed to be the only members of the party staying at the hotel) had the hwole of their family and friends around from other hotels in the area.

After their wedding took place, and they left. The hotel was a tranquil paradise, ideal for lazing aon sunloungers and alternating dips between the ocean and the sun-warmed pool.

Rooms are well equipped with air-con (which does go off regularly in the night due to power cuts) so you will wake up with the heat. Beautiful 4 poster bed, with the most beautifully draped mosquito nets.

Spotlessly cleaned rooms with a great turndown service in the evenings.

Food is great - but becomes a little boring after a few days as the menu is repeated, although would reccommend taking advantage of the Swahili BBQ's and feasts on the beach. For those evenings that the galas don't take place - bag yourself a table over the Ocean and watch the tropical fish, crabs and squid under the twinkling sky (even better when there's a power cut!).

Happy Hour for cocktails is great - but wouldn't reccommend getting anything blended of fruity given the flys that surround the fruit that's left out.

Was hugely dissapointed on the last day there (before making the 24 hour journey home) when I ended up with food poisoning form the Tempura Prawns, where the "black bit" hadn't been removed.

Seen several girls also enjoying the same lunch - and apparently at breakfast the next morning, there were several men dining alone. But, that's the think with seafood such as prawns.

Everything is reasonably priced in dollars, and we lived like a King and Queen for the whole ten days we were there (getting two of those nights free through one of their deals!) and spent pretty much next to nothing living with no expense spared.

I would reccommend staying in and touring Stone Town at the beginning or end of your holiday if you're going to - as the excursions from the hotel are pricey.

On the whole - an amazingly beautiful place that I'd reccommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mornnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Great beach, sea and pool. The Hotel is all style and no substance having fancy IPOD docks that due to the frequent power cuts the time flashes contiuously and has to be re-set, has fancy TV sets but has very noisy overheating fridges. The rooms are reasonably clean, towels are not luxury, however bedlinen good. The main restaurant is slow at breakfast (waiting an hour for pancakes) and slow for a la carte. However on the theme evenings the food was good and given that it was buffet service all was a success. The top (lunch/snack) restaurant is much more consistent and better. The pool loungers are again very stylish but one of the most uncomfortable pieces of furniture I have ever come across. We opted for the beach where they were much better.
The Hotel basically needs to train it's staff in knowing the menu, being efficient and they will go along way further to improving their reviews. They need to be more customer focused and forget some of the style, as we all know, however fancy something is, if you dont have good service it is pointless.
Zanzibar is very tropical but unfortunately full of flies and waste fill dumps (one very close to the hotel). You cannot walk to the village of Nungwi from the hotel without a guide, why is that? The hotel security is very good and you can sit on the beach without being bothered by salesmen.
I hope that the hotel takes note of these comments and tries to improve on it's customer service and comfort. It has the chance of being a very good hotel given it's location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed at the Z hotel with my friend in July 2011 after climbing Kilimanjaro and going on a safari. It was just what we needed after a busy few weeks in Tanzania. We had the lovely surprise of being upgraded when we arrived at the Z (although I don't think this is normal - our agent had doubled booked the room)! This probably made our stay all the more special - we had one of the seafront cottages which was simply stunning. The beach at the Z hotel is lovely - pure white sand and delicious turquoise waters with lots of Dhows sailing past. The pool at the Z is an infinity pool and particularly at sunset, looks beautiful. The small details at the Z really make for a special stay including an ipod docking system in the rooms, designer furniture, thick towels, fresh flowers in the room and a flat screen tv built into the gorgeous 4 poster bed. We enjoyed eating at both of the restaurants at the hotel, although the cocktails were a little unpredictable! Overall, a special hotel that we had a wonderful time at.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
642 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#6 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £135 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing