We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$313
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$130
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
842
273
54
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
273
54
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barsaruche restaurantreading roomrooftop suiteinfinity poolcinnamon restaurantour honeymoonboutique hotellobster dinnerstone townbeautiful beachnungwi beachwatching the sunsetfantastic hotelgreat cocktailsocean fronttour operator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
734 - 739 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for one week in the ocean-front cottage. It´s a bit more expensive than the normal hotel-rooms, but it´s worth it for a honeymoon. We saw the other hotel-rooms as well, they were also very nice, just smaller, most of them with ocean-view. The view out of our appartment was amazing. The rooms were very clean. The stuff was very friendly. Nice endless-pool and beach access (cristal clear turquoise water) with enough sunloungers for everyone. Good food at the beautiful restaurant, direrctly at the waterfront. Good honeymoon special: lobster dinner for two, massage for two, sparkling wine with fruits at your room). Definitely a place you should go!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent 7 nights at the Z Hotel after a Safari in Tanzania. The Hotel location was fantastic, right by the beach and great views over the sea. Our room was welcoming and had a great view over the gardens towards the infinity swimming pool. The staff were great and the food amazing. We would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

we had a fantastic time in zanzibar, we first heard of it through word of mouth. we had no complaints whatsoever, we went by seaplane which was an extra cost but very comfortable and efficient if youwant to get there quickly. we got back by ferry which actually is very 1st class, speedy and luxorious!
in the time we spent there we experienced the best food at the Z hotel resturant itself also i must say that the hotel room and service were suberb. staff were always very friendly especially our dear friend adam who was a water sports organiser and always helped us organise our activities for e.g. bringing in jetskis from another part of the island which was acually very exciting for us, we also did snorkelling and dhow boat fishing trips. not to mention the fantastic crystal clear beach, the water was always warm with no currents and the infinity pool was also very nice. very easy to meet new friends and a very plesant and welcoming beach, the staff would always organise volleyball and football later on in the evening after 5,
offering refreshing drinks without fail.
as a honeymoon couple we got to dine on the beach with a very tasty lobster included
as a final conclusion zanzibar is a go ahead place to visit!

Room Tip: high floors have the best view. on the right side you also have a view of the whole beach
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akbanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

we made a reservation for Z hotel for 4 nights, but when arrived there, decided this is where we want to spend our vacation, and stayed for 9 nights.
the hotel was amazing- the staff was so kind and did their best to make our staying there perfect. the rooms were clean and had everything, though they were smaller than expectations.
the food in the restaurants was great, and everytime we tried any other resaturant on Nungwi beach, we had a disappointment, and came back to Cinamon and Saruche.
breakfast was also good, but the flies there made it a non-pleasant place to start the day. but i have the feeling it's like that in every hotel on the beach.
and i can't think of any other place on the beach that looked so good, gave so much tranquility and un at the same time!
we were in a honeymoon, so we got so many presents from them: a Cava bottle, a Dinner in their restaurant and Massage to each of us...it felt very generous.

Room Tip: the seaview rooms are great
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8Annab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I had done a lot of research on hotels, and found the Z hotel to be one of the few that offered twin beds in our price range, which was the main reason we went with it.

The pros:The facilities are beautiful. The inifity pool is very nice, good lounge chairs, beautiful restaurant, very well kept grounds. The massages were amazing and I highly recommend.

The cons/other: After confirming our airport pickup the week before ( I had read that someone else was forgotten) we were then forgotten at the airport. I realize the hotel contracts with a travel company for the pick-up, but it did not make the trip start out stressfree. After calling the hotel 3 times from the airport-and not receiving the promised return call, and a bunch of confusion with several drivers having our names on their cell phones- 45 minutes later we were on our way to the hotel. Management was very apologetic when we arrived, and assured us that we would be compensated in someway ( which never happened, and arguably wasn't necessary as we did make it to the hotel-but would have been a very nice gesture and would have been expected from a top quality hotel). We checked in right away and were escorted to our room. We were on the second floor and had a partial sea-view.

Unexpectantly there was a LOT of seaweed that washed up on the beach-which may or may not have caused the flies that surrounded any drink or food we had on the property-not management's fault, but did affect our experience. Also the northern beaches are beautiful, but full of touts. You can not walk down the beach, or relax on the beach without being harassed. I understand that a lot of people make their money on tourism, and I all for it-but be aware that the beaches are not the most relaxing environment when you are hassled every 5 seconds. The hotel has an area on their property where you can look out on the water and not be hassled, but it can defeat the point of being on that beach, and thus make other hotels more desirable. The bathroom smelled very foul, and as previous posts had mentioned once the A/C goes off during the power outages, you have to manually turn it back on, so will likely wake up to the heat. The rooms are small, and there isn't that much space to put things especially in the bathroom. They do have internet, but the wireless would regularly go out. Nearby restaurants were a lot cheaper.

In closing, it is a beautiful hotel and we did enjoy our stay, although it wasn't as carefree as the rest of our vacation in Tanzania. If you are a reasonable person and can understand that Zanzibar is still very much developing (ie power outages are to be expected) this is a fine place to stay. Again have reasonable expectations or you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: highest floors have the best views...normal sea view will be partially obstructed.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews