We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel ever”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We spent last year 10 days here and had the most amazing time ever. So amazing that we want to go back this year for our honeymoon. Staff is friendly and do everything to make you happy. Food in the restaurant is awesome recommend the beef! Very clean, calm, beautiful beach...all in all PERFECT!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    241
    50
    25
    20
See reviews for
108
685
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

As part of our honeymoon, we initially booked a sea view room. The room was tastefully decorated - crisp white linen and a modern bathroom. The only issue for me was that after arriving from a luxurious safari in tanzania, where our 1 of 7 stand alone cabin opened up onto the river, the room did not feel as spacious or as private as i would liked it to have been. The following day i went and spoke to one of the owners, who said regretfully their bungalows were all occupied but suggested the Z suite. Oh my goodness...from that point forward everything was just fabulous, i upgraded to the Z suite which was amazing...the infinity pool with sunset cocktails - yes, the restaurant, some of the best seafood i have ever tasted...

A sexy, romantic, uber cool hotel...a huge thank you...!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyfoodlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel over our honeymoon after 2 weeks of backpacking through Tanzania. It was an excellent stay in a beautiful hotel. Even if you are not staying at this hotel it is a great place to go for a meal as the restaurant is lovely and romantic. The swimming pool is beautiful and looks over the ocean. The staff was very nice and the manager was excellent and sent us some treats to celebrate our Honeymoon.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite and it had amazing balcony's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have stayed there four times. Every time I leave with a feeling of sadness. The response time to inquiries by e-mail can be disturbingly long. The online reservation system never worked. And yet I am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed for Christmas 2011 and it was a gift to the both of us to have stayed here. The attention to detail was splendid and the staff dealt magnificently well with some difficulties arising as a result of a significant storm that lashed the island the day before our arrival. Staff was great and food was delicious. We tried out the numerous restaurants in the area but nothing beat the selection at the hotel - it remained our favourite. I would highly recommend the Z Hotel to anyone looking to fully immerse themselves in a little island relaxation!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheembro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a wonderful time here, went for our 15yr wedding anniversary & it was the perfect place without the kids!
The rooms were beautifully decorated! And the rain showers divine! All very romantic in a modern way.
Rim-flow pool that was warm (slightly weird) and great cocktails at the pool bar - DARK & STOMRY's rule!! Breakfast was very good but they excelled with dinner.
Very helpful and accommodating staff (letting me have the couches with champs for a sunset on our anniv. thanks!) I liked this hotel as it is small & boutique.
Also they had the best beach - when it is low tide you can still swim. Beware that the sand is so white it reflects & you can get sunburn!
Another good thing is the walkway behind the group of hotels there - was nice to walk & "visit" other places, but food was best here. It has some markets & stall on this walk.
We dived with the East African Dive Company located not far from the hotel. Absolutely wonderful! Great & Professional service with a smile & good recommendations about which sites to dive.
Yes the power goes out a few times, but the hotel has a generator - so no real interruption.
It is 1 hour from StoneTown by taxi & the last few miles are EEEEKKK! But that is not the hotel's fault. Just when you start to panic - you arrive at this oasis :D.
We can highly recommend this hotel & the area & the diving centre.

Room Tip: Higher floor will have less vegetation in front of the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PdSonHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed 6 nights in Z Hotel last month and absolutely loved it. We have chosen the hotel with good recommendations of our friends and reading the reviews in tripadvisor. When we arrived the hotel we understood that it was an excellent choice. We had the most wonderful relaxing holiday possible in Zanzibar.
We stayed in a sea view deluxe room which had a magnificent ocean view. The decoration was stylish and facilities in the room were sufficient. Our bed was decorated with flowers every day. The location of the hotel is on a beautiful beach with white sands and turquoise blue waters of Indian Ocean. The sea was ideal for snorkelling and we were impressed with the colourful starfishes in the sea. The infinity pool was amazing and watching the sunset from the pool was a pleasant memory for us.
The restaurants were also good and we really had delicious food everyday.
The staff were friendly and helpful all the time. The hotel was attentive about cleaning and security. They fulfilled more than our expectations. We definitely recommend Z Hotel and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,037 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing