We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“most amazing holiday you could ever have” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“most amazing holiday you could ever have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

if you ever need to forget about work and relax this is the place you have to go, but if you are looking for fun as well you will find this in abundance.
the hotel is so comfortable, so well organized you really dont have to think, it is there for you or done by the very competent and happy staff.
i would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends, i live in Dubai and the standard of living here is very high, this hotel if in Dubai would defiantly be ranked one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    224
    48
    24
    19
See reviews for
97
625
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Some reviews on TA are critical of the Z, as if it is a huge hotel in Hawaii that should have very conceivable service. It is not. It is a 65-room boutique hotel on a lovely beach in Zanzibar, East Africa. There are limitations built into this, but we thought the Z was terrific for some relaxing days after a safari. The design is really good, making the most of the beach site. We liked both restaurants. The staff were friendly and did their jobs well. The pool is nice, and there are things to do like a sunset sail on a dhow with snorkelling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. Perched right on a white sand beach in amongst an assortment of restaurants, little shops and other hotels, it's not exactly 'remote' but the boutique atmosphere and brilliant staff make it a real home from home.

We had a few issues with the room, but Julie, the guest manager was right on the case every time and even when we mentioned an issue with one of the trips we went on after we got home, her response even then was immediate. No hotel is ever perfect, but what makes the difference is how they react when alerted to issues and these guys are an example of how to do it!

The pool is not huge, but big enough and the poolside area and service is great. Nice touch is 2 four poster beds each with TV's. We watched a couple of Bond movies over a cool beer when the sun got too hot!

A bit of noise at night from the surrounding clubs who seem to think that all the tourist want is club music all day and night, but doesn't keep you awake. This affects all hotels in the area, even the supposedly more remote ones like Gemma Del Est.

The location allows you to wander down the beach for hours in either direction to the local fishing village and the sea is crystal and warm.

Negatives? Food was good, but not brilliant but there are loads of local options. The wine is a bit expensive compared to other, but again, don't let that stop you coming here. All in all a top place. Go there, you'll love it.

Room Tip: Many 'sea view' rooms are obscured by palm trees. In some cases the higher floors are worse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Amazing hotel, lovely location (although a long way from stone town), any problems sorted quickly and easily.
The staff were attentive, rooms clean and beautiful and food delicous.
We booked all our trips through the hotel and the only one which wasn't amazing was the trip to stone town. I think that was mostly because we were struggling with the heat more than the trip wasn't good!
I would definitely go there again, and would recommend it to anyone going to zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We came to Z Hotel to recover and relax after climbing Kilimanjaro, and it didn't disappoint. Location, pool, restaurants and room were all great. The only issues were the power blackouts, which really are to be expected, and the late night music was a bit much.
Service was enthusiastic and very friendly, but yes a little on the slow side. Any issues we had we were welcomed to raise though, for them to be dealt with quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMB0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Well designed, swish, amazing location right on the beach. A little pricey for what you get. A little aloof with pretentious feel. Good food. Fell slightly below my excellent expectations. Mainly due to annoyance of staff. Card machine was not working for 2 days, which is hotels problem and I got hounded several times each day to settle my bill. Machine out of order each time I turned up. Not something I expected on my Honeymoon. Hence reduced to very good rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We went here after a very rude welcoming at Langi Langi and received the most friendly welcome. The whole hotel staff was incredibly friendly, and tried their best to always meet our requests. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean, the hotel pool just gorgeous and the food was excellent, and very reasonably priced! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing