We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here! Very attentive and friendly staff! Nicest spot of Nungwi beach and beautifull large rooms. 2 very small remarks: 1/ the music! Always the sames compilation CD of the worst of 80's and 90's music 2/ daily use of detergents in the room making it smell like hospital. But that's just to say something negative for the rest it's perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
It was really great to have very understanding guests as you - Thank you very much for such an amazing review, means a lot to everyone of us at The Z hotel.

We love to make sure all our guests are well taken care of and that they are enjoying their stay with us. In the event we feel otherwise we right away approach the guest and see what we can do to ensure their stay remains a memorable one and we take remedial actions promptly, if any required. Our guests remain the primary focus at all times of their stay.

Warm regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    232
    48
    25
    19
See reviews for
103
659
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Z hotel has a mixture of both relaxation and livelihood. You'd find lots to be done around the day and you can also relax on the beach or the by the pool and get a swim every now and then. It has a couple of restaurants and dive center which serve a variety of food giving you different options. In the early morning and before noon the water usually has lots of seaweed yet it's still swimmable however in the afternoon the water becomes clear and warm for a perfect swim. The staff were helpful and there's lots of shops and restaurants nearby for whoever wants to have a walk or a snack or even go buy some souvenirs and antiques. It's a bit far away from Stone Town though, yet very near to Mnemba Island if you're up to some snorkeling or diving.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IShams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your amazing review here.

It is really nice to see that you had a great time during your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and setting of the hotel.. As you have kindly pointed out, there is as much or as little as you want to do on a daily basis & thank you also for pointing out that our guests are not restricted to the hotel, there are plenty of other establishments they can visit that are within a safe & easy walking distance from the hotel.

I do hope that you have fond memories of your stay at Z hotel and if there is anything we can do on your next stay with us, do not hesitate to contact my team or myself.

Warm regards

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My daughter & I stayed at the Z after our safari. What a beautiful place, so quiet & peaceful. We were welcomed on arrival with cool cloths & a cocktail. The rooms are gorgeous with lovely bathrooms, robes,toiletries etc. The beds were really comfortable ....my daughter said it was the best bed she ever slept in! The bed rooms don't have wifi but there were plenty of places to log on around the hotel, including the reading room which was a lovely place to relax & keep cool with paperbacks to borrow.The food was fab......the breakfast was exceptional with a huge array of things to choose from.It was so lovely being right on the beach and we loved the infinity pool. The veggie pizza was perfect between us for lunch by the pool......a really thin & crispy base.
The staff were really friendly & helpful, especially as we had to change flights which was proving difficult to do myself.
My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Hopefully it won't be too long until we can return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
My team and myself are delighted to receive your feedback.

Thank you for these wonderful remarks! With gratitude I will pass them on to the team. It will make them feel as proud as I am!

We’re so glad you had a cool, relaxing time with us; we equally loved having you here. Thank you for making the most of the hotel facilities & you are both most welcome back at any time.

Kind regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

It is a really great place! Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Meet cool cocktail :)
Room with a huge bed, all very stylish. Huge bathroom, excellent plumbing. Our room had a view of the ocean, great views. The hotel has its own beach where the rest just hotel guests. Entrance is closed to outsiders. Lovely breakfast, all fresh, great choice. Room does not have wi-fi. If necessary, wi-fi, you can use the library, which also has a desktop computer. Without a doubt we can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Warm greetings from the Z hotel Zanzibar,

May I first take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to you for selecting the Z hotel as your preferred hotel for your holiday in Zanzibar and I sincerely appreciate your honest and constructive feedback to our services during your stay with us.

Improving our Wi-Fi connection is a priority for us & there have been some vast improvements thus far but we continue to strive towards an excellent service.

Kind regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My brother and I visited several hotels around Zanzibar and Z Hotel was by far the nicest. The location was terrific. Unlike many of the other resourts, the beach at the Z did not disappear at high tide, and unlike the east side of the island, there were not strong winds. The hotel itself was fantastic. It was new, stylish, and had a fantastic pool. The staff were extremely friendly, and due to the small size of the hotel, you received personallized first class service. Z hotel is the only place I would stay in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
My team and myself are delighted to receive your feedback.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your amazing review here.

It is really nice to see that you had a great time during your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and setting of the hotel. Thank you again such a positive response spurs us on to even bigger & better heights.

Kind regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a hotel for couples or people how want to relax.I had a room in the second floor whit balcony.Nice in the morning and wake up to a white beach and the sound of the waves:)That was a good memory.
The staff was very nice ,clean room.
I was here dec 2010 not 2012.
It was perfect for me!

Room Tip: I think all the room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your amazing review here.

It is really nice to see that you had a great time during your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and setting of the hotel. It’s great to feel that we created a lasting memory.

I do hope that you have fond memories of your stay at the Z hotel and if there is anything we can do on your next stay with us, do not hesitate to contact my team or myself.

Warm regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

As a couple who travel frequently and seldom return to a place, it was a novelty for us to return to a hotel we had stayed in previously (as I had sworn my husband to a return visit before I would leave the first time!) - we were not disappointed. The hotel is just perfect - small but having all the amenities we required, in a fantastic location on a beautiful beach and in an area that is not yet overcrowded with large hotels. There are a number of restaurants nearby providing choice of where to eat out of an evening. The hotel rooms are lovely and the staff extremely helpful. I would not hesitate to return again or recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bocarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Warm greetings from the Zhotel

My team and myself are delighted to receive your feedback.

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome back this wonderful couple. Needless to say, we love receiving repeat guests; it is like greeting old friends & regarding this lovely couple.

We all take this moment to express our heartfelt gratitude to you for choosing again the Zhotel Zanzibar as your hotel of choice for your holiday and we hope to see you soon again!

With warm regards,

Mohammed Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
16.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing