We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Z hotel for 3 nights of our honeymoon in Zanzibar in July 2013 and loved every minute of it. We were received at reception by Julie the guest relations manager and her wonderful staff and taken on a tour of the hotel before being shown our room. We inquired about whether we could get a room with a better view of the sea and Julie very quickly organised the best surprise of our honeymoon - an upgrade to the roof terrace with the best views of the sea!
The hotel is very clean and the grounds has gardens that are very well maintained.
The Saruche restaurant is a must visit with the ever smiling head chef Amos on hand to ensure guests were well looked after. It has amazing views out to sea and the lobster dinner was fantastic and surprisingly affordable for what you get.
The beach is only meters away from the hotel and with great sand - no seaweed.
All in all we had a very pleasant experience. Thanks Julie, Amos and everyone else. Sorry it took so long to write a review!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiongo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We absolutely loved Z Hotel in Nungwi! We only had two nights here and wished we had more time. If its available, its definitely worth booking one of the Oceanfront cottages - they were amazing with two levels directly overlooking the beach (bedroom, bathroom and balcony on upper level with a kitchenette, living room and two-level terrace on lower level). The hotel has everything you need (2 restaurants, pool bar, infinity pool, dive shop, spa, tour company, shop, beach lounge chairs, etc.) but there is also a ton of other options within walking distance so its easy to try some things at the hotel and go outside for others. The staff was helpful and the free wifi worked well. Great experience! We also loved this beach as you could swim at high and low tide without worrying about sea urchins. The only downside is that Nungwi is a busier beach so you're always in the company of others and are hassled by touts more than on more secluded beaches in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: As for a room with a seaview and if available, definitely splurge on an oceanfront cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was all business for me, when i went to Zanzibar Dec 2013, i was impressed, amazing beach, great staff, food was great it sure did feel like home away from home, i most definitely have to stay here again.

Room Tip: The fact that i could see the ocean from my room, was magic for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We came at the Z hotel last week after spending three nights in Stone Town. I had wanted to spend more time here but there were no rooms available for the third night. To begin with, the hotel is beautifully designed with a cool design sensibility. The infinity pool is gorgeous and it's located on the best beach of Zanzibar so you just have to walk a few steps to get from the pool into the ocean. They have a spa, activity center and dive shop facilities along with two restaurants. The room was really lovely with turtle wallpaper and a spectacular view of the pool and the ocean. Having a bar right by the pool is also a great idea for guests to sip cocktails as they lounge by the pool.
My only negative comment is that this hotel has become very popular with Europeans and I was there in peak season so it was really crowded. We had asked for an early check in but due to crowds had to wait 3 hours before we got our room. Even the pool deck was super crowded, it was like beds in a dormitory lined up one after the other. On my last day, they had scuba training in the pool as well so there was just no space to swim. If you're coming in lo/shoulder season, I think you'll be absolutely fine but during peak season keep in mind that it's going to get very crammed. Restaurant food was ok, pool cocktails were nice. Their dive shop is supposed to be the best on the island and they gave us good advice of not to dive on the days when the weather was rough.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a lovely balcony with a view of the infinity pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasreenmayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the Christmas week so understandably the resort was packed to the hilt the downside to that was that the resort (especially the pool area) is really small so me and my wife felt no sense of privacy as there were too many people always in our face. Also the pictures on the website make the place look much bigger than it actually is. The upside is it has a great beach just in front and the restaurant food was really nice.

Room Tip: try and get a King size bed, queen size bed was really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kumar Aditya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 days there last week and had an amazing time! We received an extremely warm welcome on arrival from a very friendly staff, whose friendliness we experienced all through our stay! The daily romantic set-ups in our room made us feel right at home and the food from both their restaurants was d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s! They also have quite an array of activities to choose from within the hotel compound, which made it easy to plan and explore. Their happy hour by the poolside everyday at sunset was a highlight - there is nothing better than enjoying a cocktail while watching the sun go down after a nice refreshing swim! We definitely plan to return! - Karen from Nairobi

Room Tip: Ocean-facing rooms have an amazing view - especially in the evenings at sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenWanyoike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, General Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Karen, it was an absolute pleasure having you & Nyamu stay with us in December & we're delighted that you both so enjoyed our hotel & the facilities that we offer & yes, the sunsets are truly breathtaking & so much more enjoyable with a cocktail in hand. You're both very welcome back at any time-hope to see you soon.

Julie Hind
General Manager
Z Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed there for a week with my wife and parents. Small but nice territory. Good swimming pool. Beautiful beach. Helpful staff. Everything is great. Food in the restaurants is rather good. Perfectly located. The only point - prices on Zanzibar are twice higher then in Mombasa and you get the same service, the same white beach and ocean - that is why I don't think I will ever come back.

Room Tip: All are facing the ocean - take any, it doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuzunguM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,125 reviews
22.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £154 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing