We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Nearby Hotels
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
842
273
54
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
273
54
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barsaruche restaurantreading roomrooftop suiteinfinity poolcinnamon restaurantour honeymoonboutique hotellobster dinnerstone townbeautiful beachnungwi beachwatching the sunsetfantastic hotelgreat cocktailsocean fronttour operator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We are having our honeymoon at the Z Hotel at the moment..We booked it online before coming here.. Today we walked all around the Nungwi and found out that The Z is the best with the price - quality - service and the most important one with the location of the beach.. All staff is friendly to everyone.. I worked for the international chain hotels and must say couldn't observe a quality service like The Z has for a long time.. I am a partner of a travel agency based in Istanbul at the moment and I highly reccomed The Z Hotel all the customers and friends...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hakan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The thing that makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They are very attentive, polite and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast buffet would put many large chains to shame with its wide choice of cold and hot food including a cook-to-order station not to mention the fresh tropical fruit. The location is excellent although the arrival is a bit disconcerting as you bump through some very rough, unmade roads and shacks but once there, it all seems well worth it. The beach is white sand with clear blue water and dhows coming and going on diving trips or sunset tours. The rooms are modern and well-equipped with air-conditioning and a fridge. The hotel has sufficient generating power to take on everything during the frequent power cuts (many hotels can't power the air-conditioning when the main supply goes off). Julie, the English manager, is very helpful with a wealth of knowledge about the local restaurants and Stone Town.

Room Tip: The garden view room we had was delightful. We had our own balcony with a view of the vegetation between the rooms and the pool. A glimpse of the sea was possible if you peered in the right direction but we didn't miss having a sea view (which is extra). The view from the suites is probably spectacular but comes at a price.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed for a week and had the most amazing time. Property was immaculately kept and staff were always smiling. Rooms tastefully decorated in authentic Tanzania style.

Julie the GM takes great pride in running the hotel and is always there to see to her guests needs.

Location was amazing, infinifty pool overlooking the beach one could move there permanently!

Only flaw i found was the bathroom was tiny with the toilet and sink almost atttached to each other.A bit crampy

Breakfast was average- had the basics, could improve

on the hold had a great holiday and would definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room but the sea was still visible, had to climb 3 flights of stairs though, however it was worth the view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bash78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had the best time at The Z Hotel, the staff were all just so lovely, they always had a smile on their faces. The food was amazing, so many things to choose from, our rooms were so beautifully presented with the flowers on the bed and every day the staff would change the design. My Husband and I had a romantic dinner on the pool deck under the gazebo, it was very magical. The pictures you see on the internet are exactly what the hotel looks like. We will be definitely going back.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was great as there was no stairs to climb and being that it was about 90% humidity it was perfect.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely hotel, we got a free lobster dinner because we were on our honeymoon! I loved the food there, there are also lots of bars and restaurants along the beach so it is a good location. The beach is BEAUTIFUL and the water is lovely too! Leafy green trees give it this tropical look and the village is within walking distance. The staff is super helpful too :)

Try the chappati rolls at the upper-deck restaurant!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aisha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews