We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place - Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Z Hotel in February 2014 for 6 nights after a week on safari. We couldn't have chosen a better place for our post-safari rest.

Rooms were amazing, food was fantastic (even after a freak storm damaged the restaurant roof), the staff and management couldn't do enough for you and everybody worked so hard to repair the damage in no time. The location of the Z hotel is ideal, being directly on the beach and close to other bars/restaurants, which were easy to walk to if you wanted a change.

Both the management and staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble.

We enjoyed our stay that much, we have booked to go back next year!

Would totally recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewbsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I visited the Z back in January and was blown away by this beautiful boutique hotel on the beach... If you are someone who enjoys a stunning location by the sea, white sandy beach, palm trees, friendly service, great food and some funky chilled-out music and a few cool cocktails to watch the sunset by, this is the place for you! The location is perfect, just on the beach and it feels very private, yet it is very close to other bars, restaurants and shops if you want to wander out. The hotel and rooms are decorated with an eye for design, with local influences but all mod cons you need for comfort. The staff are very helpful and genuinely lovely, they made us feel very welcome and looked after us well. The infinity pool is gorgeous, the bars have a great selection of drinks and the food in the restaurants was delicious. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heidiyliojanpera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Outstanding hotel in idyllic location. Everything about the hotel from friendly and attentive staff to the spotless and well appointed room was all we could have wished for. Bar, restaurants and, particularly, the pool area were brilliant. We will definitely return when we can.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, the "cottages" are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Setting is great, staff very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast and supper. The rooms are spotless and the beds are made up with flower decoration every morning~ honeymoon couples would love it. The infinity pool overlooking the sea is fantastic with beautiful sunsets.
We got a few wonderful tips from the Z Hotel that we have implemented at our guesthouse~ Stadium Guest House in Green Point, Cape Town. Leana and myself would love to return..

Room Tip: The top garden rooms are excellent! Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Its far away enough from the hustle of the north beach but still accessible, Room was amazing and infinity pool area is pretty awesome. overall great hotel and highly recommend in this price range if you are travelling north.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I took my parents to Z Hotel for a week, we had a lovely relaxing time. The staff and management go out of their way to help you. There is good variety at breakfast, happy hour is well catered for, the pool and access to the ocean perfect. I'd love to go back another time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in two of the best rooms the Z has to offer, The Z suite for the first half of our stay, a huge room over looking the beach and pool, and also had it's very own sun terrace with sun loungers, and separate huge balcony. We then moved on to one of the two cottages, split level houses on stilts right on the beach, this was my favourite I would say, over looking the tide and people watching on the beach also fishig boats etc and a wonderful sunset, again with a huge sun terrace with out door shower.
Apart from being hit by the worst thunder storm in 30 years which led to a day of not so great weather and choppy sea, it was an amazing holiday.
Staff were great and catered to our every need,
Also a short walk down the beach is a turtle sanctuary where you can swim and feed the rescued turtles is a must!
Plenty of restaurants in walking distance as well as the 2 the Z has to offer, we really enjoyed the fish and seafood here.
A real piece of heaven would highly recommend a visit to the wonderful Z.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loufinc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,759 reviews
1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nungwi
1,165 reviews
22.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £141 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing