We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, delightful, best beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Arusha Region, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy, delightful, best beach!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a great idea in Zanzibar...one of the few quality hotels that accept only Bed and Breakfast in case you want to spend the day out, or try nearby restaurants or bars, very green beautiful garden, and the best beach location, situated in the area with less tide movement, guaranteeing clean, clear, nearby beach the whole day through.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    241
    50
    25
    20
See reviews for
108
685
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Zanzibar beaches are famously tidal - with the tide out most of the day, exposing reef and long stretches of sand that house razor clams and urchins (wear sea shoes). Z's location is perfect - the water is swimmable most of the day, and the sandy beaches are blissfully free of urchins and reef. It is one of the only beaches in Zanzibar's main island that is this way - so it is a bit more developed than other areas.

The Z is the nicest. The restaurants are good, if a bit on the pricey side, the views are amazing, and the pool facing the ocean is one of the prettiest and cleanest that I've been in. There's a bit of a local nightlife here too at the little local bar next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank san_shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Z hotel offers everything you could want on Zanzibar. It has a pool with the most amazing views and sunsets imaginable. It is clean and the staff are very friendly. They go out of your way to make you happy. They are very proud of the hotel and their Island and it shows. Sea view rooms are beautiful and always clean and wonderful presentation. Gillian who works in guest services was great in making sure we were getting everything we needed and was great with information before we arrived. The owner, was so kind and personally organized and help me decide on dive sights and dive trip. Breakfast you don't want to miss as it is really great. The area of nungwi the hotel is situated in is really great and very easy to and safe to get to explore the other beaches and see the turtles. I can really say that the high rating on trip advisor is spot on with this hotel and I would go back every time. Thank you for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rryan1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Z Hotel in February 2014 for 6 nights after a week on safari. We couldn't have chosen a better place for our post-safari rest.

Rooms were amazing, food was fantastic (even after a freak storm damaged the restaurant roof), the staff and management couldn't do enough for you and everybody worked so hard to repair the damage in no time. The location of the Z hotel is ideal, being directly on the beach and close to other bars/restaurants, which were easy to walk to if you wanted a change.

Both the management and staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble.

We enjoyed our stay that much, we have booked to go back next year!

Would totally recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewbsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I visited the Z back in January and was blown away by this beautiful boutique hotel on the beach... If you are someone who enjoys a stunning location by the sea, white sandy beach, palm trees, friendly service, great food and some funky chilled-out music and a few cool cocktails to watch the sunset by, this is the place for you! The location is perfect, just on the beach and it feels very private, yet it is very close to other bars, restaurants and shops if you want to wander out. The hotel and rooms are decorated with an eye for design, with local influences but all mod cons you need for comfort. The staff are very helpful and genuinely lovely, they made us feel very welcome and looked after us well. The infinity pool is gorgeous, the bars have a great selection of drinks and the food in the restaurants was delicious. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidiyliojanpera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saham Toney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Outstanding hotel in idyllic location. Everything about the hotel from friendly and attentive staff to the spotless and well appointed room was all we could have wished for. Bar, restaurants and, particularly, the pool area were brilliant. We will definitely return when we can.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, the "cottages" are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Setting is great, staff very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast and supper. The rooms are spotless and the beds are made up with flower decoration every morning~ honeymoon couples would love it. The infinity pool overlooking the sea is fantastic with beautiful sunsets.
We got a few wonderful tips from the Z Hotel that we have implemented at our guesthouse~ Stadium Guest House in Green Point, Cape Town. Leana and myself would love to return..

Room Tip: The top garden rooms are excellent! Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing