We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it- We didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at The Z Hotel--- it far exceeded our expectations! The rooms are big and very clean.. our "sea view" room was absolutely perfect and such a great place to wind down after 8 days on safari. The service is very friendly and the hotel has pretty much everything you need for a great stay. The food is really good, the included breakfast in the morning was fresh with a pretty decent selection and they have a good selection of food & drinks that you can order pool or beach side (where we spent the majority of our time!)and the prices are very reasonable. Also, security does a great job of keeping the locals that are trying to sell you stuff out of your hair when you are on the hotel grounds, so they don't bother you when you're on the beach trying to relax. There are 2 really delicious restaurants on the grounds, and tons of other awesome restaurants within walking distance (try Sunset grill right down the "boardwalk"... amazing fresh seafood!). Reception was easy to work with arranging transportation. Overall, we had a GREAT stay and did not want to leave. It was soo relaxing and beautiful! Oh, and some of the absolute BEST sunsets we have ever seen!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

As soon as we got to the Z hotel myself and my girlfriend where told that we had been upgraded to the Z suite free of charge! The suite itself was absolutely amazing, as was the hotel itself. Food was great, staff where super friendly and helpful! Heaps of restaurants along the beach in either direction. Only problem is the annoying people trying to sell you stuff on the beach, there are lots of them in nungwi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My boyfriend and I spent three amazing nights and days at The Z Hotel after a 3 week camping safari through Kenya and Tanzania and it was undoubtebly the most wonderful hotel experience I've had (though I may have been on a high from sleeping in a real bed!). We were part of a tour group but left them at a hotel down the beach while we enjoyed some peace and quiet.

On arrival, we were greeted with complimentary drinks and a very warm welcome and we were also informed that we had been upgraded from our oceanview room to a rooftop suite, free of charge! I will be honest, there were tears of joy (stemming from my exhaustion, no doubt). They gave us the option of being shown to our rooms immediately or take a tour of the hotel which we opted for while they brought our bags to our room.

Staying in the Rooftop Suite does require a reasonable amount of fitness as there are about 4 sets of stairs to climb but oh-my-goodness it is worth it! We could not get over the gorgeous sunsets sparkling on the ocean and people watching from the tippy top of the hotel. Plus the thatched roof gave it an extra holiday feel. The room is large with a big huge four poster bed, a walk in wardrobe and safe, fridge, robes and a lovely bathroom. The water pressure in the shower was amazing. Plus it was so very clean, the room was serviced daily.

We spent our time lounging by the gorgeous infinity pool attempting to try every cocktail on the menu, walking the clean white sandy beach and generally just doing nothing. I had a massage on site which was really lovely and had my nails done which I probably wouldnt do again. But we ate at both restaurants on site too. Both were phenomenal. Try the tuna ceviche.

We were loathed to leave this place, and those sunsets from our balcony are something I will never forget. So incredibly romantic.

Thank you SO much to the team at The Z Hotel, you added the cherry on top of our African adventure.

Room Tip: If you're willing to pay, the rooftop suite is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Iheartmauao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our group of 4 stayed here after a safari and being at a wedding in Dar, so were in need of some relaxation! We stayed on the B & B rate as we thought that we would try some of the other restaurants and beach bars nearby, but to be honest the food and service at the Z was by far the best. We booked direct with the Hotel, which because it is owned by a couple from the UK and has British staff on the management team, was stress free, The fact that they do not load single occupancy rooms was an added bonus.
We found all the staff, very accommodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they always had a ready smile.
A really relaxing place. The pool area is clean and there were plenty of beds to lounge on- even if certain of our Continental cousins were up early to reserve them! The beach was clean and we were not pestered too much when walking along the beach, a few polite 'no thank you' and they take the hint!
2 of us went on a snorkeling trip with 'Divine Diving' who were professional and appeared to have the most reasonable rates.- make sure you put on plenty of sun screen!
The main language is English, but an attempt to speak a little Swahili to the staff is appreciated.
The main currency by creditcard is the Dollar, however, be warned that there is no cashpoint-ATM at Nungwi. make sure that if you want to pay for local curios or meals at local restaurants in Tanzanian schillings then visit a cash point in Stone Town before arriving at the Hotel. There in a place at the Amani Bungalows next door that will change currency but the rate for GB£'s was 2300 as opposed to 2800 from the cashpoint. The locals will happliy quote in both Dollars and shillings.
Our flight back to Dar was at 1815, so we combined a trip to a Spice Farm and a walking tour of Stone Town on the way- arranged with the Hotel Tour Office. We can certainly recommend both trips and the Spice Tour was especially interesting.
Thank you to Celine, Judy, Helen and all the staff for looking after us so well and being such excellent hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Garden rooms are on the ground floor and view restricted by greenery. First...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerHWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 10 nighs! I have to tell the money you pay for it, worth it sooo much! Amazing place, really nice room with ocean view and very kind staff! It was really clean and new! The pool is amazing, beautiful sunset from it! I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I had a great time in Zanzibar at The Z Hotel. The people, food, and room were more than we expected. It is well located at the Nungwi village - one hour by car from the airport - surrounded by a great beach with transparent water, white sand and amazingly clean.We went to Zanzibar as a "detour" of our original plans, in Tanzania. We were supposed to climb Mount Kilimanjaro, but I had feet problems among other issues making impossible to go. So, our travel agent Peter from Gosheni Adventures, put together this trip to Zanzibar recommending The Z Hotel. Marvelous choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaudja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice beach side hotel and pool side deckchair area is ok. For the price, rooms are a bit on the small size but clean and comfortable. Bathroom is nice, big and modern. I wasn't impressed by the tiny turtle enclosure - seemed too small.

Good food at the main restaurant. However service is nowhere near what should be expected. My family of 4 arrived at the empty restaurant on our first night and requested a seat overlooking the beach but we were refused, and told these tables are only reserved for couples!! However a group of 3 were subsequently sat there.

We were also made to wait outside the restaurant from 10 minutes in the pitch black one night. During one of many power cuts (and a broken generator), our hotel room was pitch dark, as was the whole hotel complex. So we made our way to the restaurant with light from our phones as it was getting to dinner time and we knew there were candles on the tables. However as we were 10 minutes before the restaurant opened for dinner, we weren't allowed in. We did explain that we wouldn't order anything, we just wanted somewhere to sit and wait out the powercut, and we were eating here later anyway. The restaurant was all set up and the staff were chatting by the bar. However we were refused in until the exact opening time, and waited on the dark road outside. Unacceptable service. As we had booked half board we continued to eat there, but wouldn't have done if we hadn't paid already.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
643 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £135 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing