We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$535
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,217 results
Traveller rating
844
273
54
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
273
54
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barsaruche restaurantreading roomrooftop suiteinfinity poolcinnamon restaurantour honeymoonboutique hotellobster dinnerstone townbeautiful beachnungwi beachwatching the sunsetfantastic hotelgreat cocktailsocean fronttour operator
Filter
Updating list...
897 - 902 of 1,217 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Z hotel, very sad to leave. The hotel is about 40 mins north from the airport and it was lovely to travel through the villages, each with different characteristics.

When I arrived at the Z I was welcomed with a much needed passion fruit juice (wonderful) and led through beautifully kept tropical garden to my ground floor garden room. Rooms are beautifully decorated with cool wallpaper and modern touches but include wonderfully comfortable handmade local four poster beds with flat screen tvs! Bathrooms are all limestone mosaic and big shower heads (very important - although water is a precious resource so short showers are best).

I spent most of my time sunbathing, getting great massages from the hotel spa and reading around the gorgeous infinity pool looking out into the white sand and bright blue sea with the elegant Dhows sailing past. The sea was down 4/.5 steps and tides were confusing at first but I soon got the hang of them, far out in the morning with wonderful shells and bright red starfish along the beach then really high up late afternoon. The water was great for snorkelling with crystal clear water, not too salty and no nasties!

Breakfast included great Spanish omelettes cooked to order and fresh fruits. I can highly recommend chilli squid with lemon mayonnaise from the pool bar for lunch. Dinner on the deck or cinnamon cocktail bar was very good great for watching the sunsets with cool music and great cocktails. I went through much of the menu – with tuna steaks and the most amazing lobster (huge). The chocolate brownies are to die for! Service was always with a smile and the staff were all very friendly.

I visited during Ramadam, which did mean that some of the local restaurants were closed but it was easy to find those that were open. The hotel location was great. It was lovely to stay somewhere that was easy to walk along long stretches of the beach and walk into the local village (remember to dress modestly with covered shoulders and knees), I saw boat building, a turtle sanctuary where they rescue and release turtles and wonderful herons that occasionally appeared on the beach!

I would highly recommend a relaxing stay at the Z, clean modern hotel with the Zanzibar touch, good food and wonderful location – not to noisy or busy but with enough going on

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
4  Thank kip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHotel, Hafis Shariff (General Manger) The Z Hotel Zanzibar at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2009

Dear Review,

The Z Hotel Team and I take this opportunity to Thank you and we hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Z hotel in the future.


Kind Regards,
Hafis

_______________________________
Hafis Shariff
General Manager

Z Hotel
PO Box 4807
Nungwi, Zanzibar

Tel: +255-732-940303
Mob: +255-774-254254
Fax: +255-732-940171

Email: gm@thezhotel.com
Web: www.thezhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at the Z Hotel for 5 days in a cottage that was beautifully decorated and appointed, and celebrated my father’s unniversary.
We were warmly welcomed and picked up by a hotel driver at the airport.
First off all, I will say that this place is beautiful when you get in there. There is beautiful garden, amazing pool and beach, our cottage and entire resort were absolutely gorgeous.
HOWEVER, we were very disappointed with our experience.
At time of booking we were requested birthday cake and received confirmation by e-mail. One week before our stay our order was reconfirmed. During our stay no birthday cake was provided. We had to ask about it... Just a promise. Thanks!
I read the reviews about the food and service being great, are these people serious?! Now if you don't have any experience staying in a fine hotel, receiving great service and eating wonderful food you would probably think this place is Great !!
Saruche Restaurant served main course meals for dinner that sounded great on menu but when they arrived they tasted and looked like they were prepared the night before. After 3 days at this ‘amazing’ hotel we received a ‘gift’ – food poisoning.
Check out was terrible with very slow and unfriendly service. They tried to sneak on an extra meal that we didn't have. They give us an opportunity to pay extra meal charges meal that we didn't have.
They have a beautiful property it's shame the service and food does not measure up.
Will not be coming back to this one!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nmm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtienneZ_Hotel, Executive Food & Beverage Manager at The Z Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2009

Dear Reviewer

I do find this report very alarming and disturbing. Most of my clientèle are used to fine dining as they are bankers and lawyers and it is not cheap to come to Africa. Yes this is not the UK but Africa and we strive to have the best possible service that we can offer.

I am sorry that you had a bad experience, maybe it had something to with your flight being cancelled and arriving a day late as well. I spoke to you every night and your response was is all good. So to come on trip advisor and slack the food and service i do feel is not right if you had chance to tell me and i could have corrected anything that was wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Everything was brilliant; trendy hotel, great room, lovely staff and pictureque setting.

We stayed for 6 nights following a safari in Kenya, it was perfect for some much needed R&R.

We upgraded to a Z Hotel Cottage, which was well worth the money. 2 floors of accomodation with a large private sun deck over looking the sea. The cottage was probably as nice as anywhere we have ever stayed.

The local staff were amazing, could not do enough for you and always hadd a smile on their faces - this added to the experience

In addition, the surrounding beach was great and had 2-3 local bars where you could relax and watch the sea at night. The drinks at these bars were very reasonable (£1.50 per beer).

One point to note (unrelated to the hotel) was that Zanzibar still has some very poor areas - particularly around the airport so be ready for a bit of a shock if you haven't visited this part of the world before. Do not feel guilty though as tourism brings some much needed money and employment to the country and once you are out of the immediate surroundings of the airport the scenary is amazing.

To summarise, Z Hotel was perfect, I couldn't speak highly enough about it!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeedsDaleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We had the pleasure of staying in this amazing hotel on the second part of June. We had chosen Zanzibar to spend 2 weeks of honeymoon.
First of all, arriving at the Zanzibar airport, we arrived earlier than planned. Therefore we wanted to contact the hotel to have a shuttle. We just couldn't contact them, noone answered the phone... A bit worrying. Finally, after finding a taxi we arrive at the Z hotel. Welcoming was very good, they managed to pay for the taxi as we didn't have their shuttle. Very Nice.
Then, our room is shown to us. We had chosen a "Roof Top Suite" (to our opinion, best possible choice). The room is simply amazing. There are 2 terraces, with view on both sea and swimming pool. The room is about 42 m2, a nice queen size bed, leather sofa, flat screen TV, Ipod cradle... The roof is made in a traditional Zanzibari style (wood), really nice looking and original. The only problem was a minor leak in the toilets when it was strongly raining. I am sure by the time we are writing that, it has been fixed.
Regarding the room, we stayed 2 weeks and it was cleaned twice a day. They just forgot couple of times to leave us botle of water.

Restaurants:
2 restaurants are available "Saruche" and "Cinamon". "Saruche is the one where breakfast is served in the morning. Breakfast is kind if disappointing. Same buffet of fruits ever morning, and almost no choice out of the fruits.
Dinner menu at Saruche proposes a mix of Zanzibari and International food. It's quite creative, the result is delicious and sometimes surprising. Prices are high compared to the rest of the island, but reasonnable if you take into consideration the quality of the hotel.
We have been only once to Cinamon. The atmosphere is more of a bar one. You can enjoy nice cocktails (we advise Monkey Busines ;o)). Food did not leave us a great impression (sushi was not good at all, and, the seafruits were much too salty). But again, we have been there for dinner once only.
You can also have dinner on the beach or in the village, max 2 minutes of walk around the hotel (The Nungwi Inn has a restaurant on the beach, very simple looking , but you will enjoy King Prawns or lobster at a cray price...)

Service:
Very friendly people, at all levels from the house keeping to the manager of the restaurants.
A quite surprising Zanzibari habit is to wait long for food and have your plate taken out one second after you finish, and that you put your fork next to plate... You'll get used to it.

To summarise, we spent 2 weeks there, without feling bored at any moment, despite what everyone was saying/advising to us.
If we would have to do it again, we would do just the same, for sure ! It was a fantastic honeymoon, we'll go back there one of those days (for anniversary ?), that is sure.
Jambo!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParisMoonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I just spent the most glorious two weeks at the Z hotel! From the lovely welcome by the very attentive staff to the last day, we had a truly wonderful and memorable experience!
All the staff are lovely, the rooms are great and the food was really varied and of a high quality. We arrived needing a break so spent the first week by the beach and not doing much but swimming and having massages and cocktails, then the following week went for a sun set cruise on the local dhow boats, fishing, diving, turtle, monkey and dolphin sighting at Jozani and Kizimkazi respectively, and then also slipped in some kite surfing.
Wish we could do it all again!
Thanks to all the lovely staff at the Z for making our stay so special :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews