We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I don't know what more they could have done for us if we were sultans ourselves. Our vacation there could not have been more perfect. Let me begin by raving about the amazing attentative and friendly staff. They were so gracious and helpful that we could have stayed in a mud hut - which this place is not - and been almost as happy. The hotel design itself is gorgeous combining all the advantages of Europe and the States with the exotic, adventure and charm of Africa. I never sat to think of what it must take to pull together a concept for a hotel, but the attention to every detail had me actually contemplating whose grand ideas it all was while I sipped away at one of the delicious mixed drinks from my beachfront lounge chair. Ok so flat screen TV's, mosquito nets, air conditioning, beach, sun, friendly, helpful folks and all of it so white and clean. There were even flower petals on the bed every night. I won't even begin to try to describe the food and suffice it to say that despite the heat and subsequent supposed lack of appetite - my pants fit a bit snugger on the plane ride home - who thought one could gain weight on fruit and seafood - which the menu is by no means limited to. Also important to mention that despite having all the conveniences of a large resort including a spa and inhouse diving school and tour guides and someone always ready to tend to your every need - we felt as if we were the only two people in the entire hotel - never overcrowded. The sun seemed to rise and set just for us and the world around douted on us. Lastly I can not conclude this review without mentioning the inhouse tour company - Mambo Tours. They come with our highest recommendation as they worked tirelessly to think of everything from having an early breakfast prepared for us before the kitchens even opened to arranging private tours that exceeded all our expectations. We swam with dolphins, visited endangered monkeys and tortoises, learned about spices for cooking and medicinal purposes, about the people of Zanzibar and the economy, shopped in the exotic markets, bought squid from fisherman on the sea and had it cooked by a private chef over a fire on a sandbar. Our experience in Zanzibar was priceless partially due to the hotel and staff and partially due to our excellent tour guides and individually designed tours. This was the grand daddy of all vacations and the one we will compare all future ones to. Many thanks to The Z Hotel and Mambo Tours!! Asanti!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessy1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    232
    48
    25
    19
See reviews for
103
659
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

Unbelievable combination of first class service, food and cleanliness in the most beautiful spot along the African coast. Plenty to do if you fancy activities or plenty to enjoy if you fancy R&R by the pool or on the fine white sand.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We have visited the Z hotel this Sep and basicaly had a great stay.
The area is beautiful,the hotel is well decorated,the staff was very friendly,especially the manager Mr,Hafiz that gave us a lot of advice and took care of us during our stay.
(We had ome problems caused by our trip to Mnemba....)
The only thing is that the place over priced to people that are used to
European standarts.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the price....:)
  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danaenglans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

We have just returned from a week long stay in Zanzibar. The Z Hotel was gorgeous, the rooms are excellent, the pool is heaven and the staff do everything they can to make you feel welcome and looked after. I'd highly recommend this fabulous hotel, with great food and ambience, to anyone!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie075London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

We stayed at the Z Hotel for 4 nights in July 2009. We chose one of the rooftop suites as none of the seafront cottages were available and the standard rooms seemed too small for us. This is a relatively recent hotel, hence probably not the most famous on the island, but it is probably one of the best. The hotel is relatively small, with all the rooms facing either the sea or the swimming-pool. The infinity-style swimming-pool is very nice, with a good but somewhat limited lunch menu, and next to one of the best beaches of the island (a bit disappointing though was the fact that the deckchairs facing the beach are not complimentary, they have to be rented).

The room is spacious, nicely decorated, and very comfortable, with a large balcony and a sundeck that we used a lot as it looks directly to the sea (contrary to what the hotel website shows, the sundeck is actually not attached to the room, so you actually have to get out of the room and cross the stairs to access it, which can be a bit annoying at times).

In conclusion, this is a good hotel, that we would recommend to those looking for a comfortable beach resort with all amenities. To be fair, it is also a bit overpriced, especially when it comes to food and drinks. However, there are cheaper options of restaurants and bars all around, so this was not a big issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

I stayed at the Z Hotel in October for 10 nights. From the moment I arrived I loved it - the staff looked after us so well and a special mention must go to Hafis the General Manager and James the Ops Manager - charming guys and they run the hotel to perfection! The Rooms are very nice, although I would suggest you try to stay in a seaview room, although the garden view room is nice. The food is all delicious - in fact I ate far too much of it - a good wine list although some of the wines were not available, but some good choices. All in all I would highly recommend a stay at the Z - you don't really leave it once you arrive, mainly because its so nice you don't want to leave! But did go on a couple of boat trips which were organised by the hotel and were amazing, sunset cruise and snorkelling. Go and try it for youself!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyLondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

We transferred from Selous game reserve to the Z hotel for a 5 night stay. Arriving at the hotel, you're transported into an oasis. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the rooms were gorgeous with nice little touches. We had two treatments at the Spa which were so relaxing. The view from the infinity pool is to die for and the sunsets during happy hour were gorgeous, not to mention the cocktails. The only criticism would be the choice of food in the two hotel restaurants - there wasn't much variety. However, you don't need to venture far for a number of other restaurants along the beach.
One tip - watch your head on the bed frame-mounted TV's!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supajodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
16.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Property: The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Family Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing