We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
910
288
62
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
910
288
62
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar reading room saruche restaurant rooftop suite infinity pool our honeymoon cinnamon restaurant boutique hotel stone town nungwi beach beautiful beach watch the sunset great cocktails ocean front sea view the general manager tour operator
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Our room was out of this world. When we first walked in, my wife's jaw pretty much dropped. The accomodations and all the food was great. They also made very tasty drinks. We needed an adapter to charge our phone/alarm, and the front desk ran out. They said they would sent the next available to our room, and when walked by the managers office she asked how we were and what we needed. We told her, and she took one from her office and gave it to us to use.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 384troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I had a garden room on the ground floor. Very close to the pool. If i went again I would take the higher up sea view rooms. The breakfast area is in a great spot overlooking the ocean. Lots of choice for breakfast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We were very fortunate to get a room here after our air bnb failed ( I know now not to ever attempt this in Zanzibar).

Considering where we might have been forced to stay this was better for sure.

Pros:
Comfortable room and bed
Lovely beach/ wonderful views
great breakfast
friendly, attentive staff

Cons:
AWFUL roads to get to the hotel...I mean worse than anything I experienced in TZ including the Serengeti. (I wouldn't recommend driving in here if you are pregnant)

Limited lunch and dinner options
Nothing else to do other than the beach
Stingy bottled water supply
AWFUL WIFI

All in all I had a good time here. I was so tired after my safari and so relieved I wasn't forced to stay in a disaster of an air bnb, I was satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mskradtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Location: Good. Along the beach it is next to some basic local beach bar/restaurant, shops, and a medium tier resort with their bar/restaurant facilities. You can even walk to larger resorts when the tide allows.

Room: Good enough. All hard tile throughout so a piece of carpet or rug would be welcomed, as is an entry mat, and indoor-slippers, otherwise its sand everywhere. Bedding is comfortably firm. Pillow a bit lumpy and bedding quality is just okay. Bathroom on the smaller side, fixtures leak, but water pressure and heating is great. AC blows strong and cold.

Beach: Good. A small section of beach is private with cots and recliners. To the shoreline it is not private, with plenty of "beach boys" pestering guests nonstop. Resort security occasionally comes out to assist. Personally, I think they strike a good balance of protection vs 'laissez faire'. However, it is understandable others can find it annoying. Tide comes in in the afternoon, so water is very swimmable and enjoyable.

Connectivity: Atrocious. Multiple devices fail to to connect and bounce from access point to access point. Barely better in different areas of resort. When connected to network, external (=internet) connectivity is unreliable. The time-bound voucher system works poorly. I realize we are on an African island, but the wired computer in the reading room works reliably, so really it is just a matter of hotel's networking equipment and implementation. Not demanding netflix streaming quality here, just a steady connection for making a VoIP call or actually download an email. Atleast there was no issues of power outages.

Facilities: Okay. No gym. 2 restaurants and 2 bars with decent food for a week's stay--casual restaurant is forgettable; nicer restaurant has diverse menu and good quality. Roof bar open very limited hours, and not a "social" scene. Reading room is nice. Pleasant infinity pool which is never too crowded.

Service: Bad. Most staff put on a cheerful face, and probably trying their best. Some days room cleaning don't start until late afternoon. Once after seating at dinner - normal hours, not full restaurant - no menus presented unti we flagged down an employee after 15 minutes. 30 minutes after seating, we had to flag someone down again simply to take a drink order, etc. Not single'ing out the restaurant - just an example of the hit or miss quality. Overall, theres a gap to what can be considered a competent and efficient staff.

Value: Bad. We paid 200+ for a room with breakfast. Without getting into a breakdown of local wages, infrastructure and access, taxes, local competition, or making global comparisons... simply we dont feel that price justified. 100-150 USD feels more appropriate for the experience.

P.S. There's a nearby bar/disco/restaurant that plays obnoxious music late into the night.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We booked here on recommendation from a friend who had stayed three times and we would be equally happy to recommend it to others. The location is fantastic, powdery white sand and safe swimming beaches with turquoise water, just stunning, At low tide you can walk for miles. Along the walk you pass much larger resorts including the Royal Zanzibar and Diamonds which also looked nice but did have the big resort look about them and not the friendly boutique feel of the Z. The location of this hotel is in a little bay of it's own at high tide apart from a few beach bars to the left of the hotel beach which are equally lovely to chill out and relax in and watch the local villagers appear late in the afternoon to play soccer or beach volley ball or out stage each other doing backflips and handstands on the waters edge. From what we saw they were happy to include the guests who showed an interest in playing with them. Some evenings there were drummers on the beach, other days roaming cows and it's also an area where you can go on organised diving expeditions, Dhow cruises and snorkelling or fishing excursions, always something to see. In saying that the actual area directly in front of the hotel is private and has beds and waiter service for food and beverages from the pool bar located on the deck above the beach, which also has a very attractive infinity pool with the coolest sun umbrellas I have ever seen, linned with bold African print fabrics. Beach vendors could be a nuisance even in the private beach area, I think the security should have been a bit more on top of this.
As for the hotel, the rooms, as other have mentioned, are on the smaller size but nicely decorated, we were in block D on the second floor and had nice views over the pool and toward the sea, the room was nice and light and sunny and the modern four poster bed made out of beautiful wood was donned with a mosquito net and had a TV attached to the frame which my husband was a great fan of with it being World Cup time! I chose the view from our balcony with it's comfortable chairs instead! The facilities of the hotel are very nice, roof top bar which is lovely and great for happy hour cocktails and light bites and sometimes had live music, great to watch the sunset from. The casual restaurant on the second level was OK, food wasn't amazing and service was poor. The main restaurant 'Sauche' was much better in terms of service and the food was also better, the location though is superb and you can forgive a few things with a setting like that. The main restaurant is also where the breakfast is served which again is idyllic and a perfect spot to watch the fishing boats go past and the Dhows depart with their excited day trippers on board. The breakfast selection as Ok, good live cooking station for eggs, and tasty hot food options which changed on a daily basis. There is a very nice gift shop attached to the hotel which is very reasonably priced and what was nice was that half the proceeds go back to local charities, there is also a nice spa.
The hotel to the right has a walkway which links up to other restaurants and bars which means you have quite a choice of eateries and a few other shops to look at. Enough for a choice and not so many to make it rowdy or touristy. If you get chance just a few minutes from the gate is a fabulous french restaurant run by a french chef and set in the garden of his villa.
A few people have said the road to the hotel is poor, it is rough but it is the nature of the Island, and I think adds to the charm of the place, from what we saw of Zanzibar this could be said of many of the roads around the Island. The hotel is next to the village and it a great place to walk around, very safe and fascinating, but do dress appropiately, we saw visitors who didn't and it's really disrespectful.
Back to the hotel, staff are fabulous and very obliging, rooms are nice but a bit small, facilities very good, beautiful infinity pool, tad on the small size, no gym unfortunately, very reasonably priced food and drink, amazing location, beautiful beach setting.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews