We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel, with very helpful management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at the Z Hotel for 4 nights in early august. The stay was very enjoyable and the hotel made every effort to make our stay relaxing and comfortable. We satyed in both a garden view and sea view room. They were both spacious and clean. The bathrooms were excellent and had a modern stylish feel that we were not expecting. The restaurant food was good with the food served in the Saruche restaurant being particularly good. The only downside was that the service was slow, but nothing that couldn't be handled when on holiday in Africa!

The hotel management were particularly good- I have never stayed anywhere that the General Manager's wife came and said hello within five minutes of us arriving. They gave the place a friendly feel and went out of their way to help and advise us when we needed to buy supplies from Stone Town. It is also really nice to stay somewhere as luxurious as the Z Hotel but discover that they are putting a lot of time, effort and money into helping the village that is next to the hotel. It is luxury without too much guilt about the poverty that is present on the island.

Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Z Suite at the Z Hotel on our honeymoon. We initially hadn't considered it when planning our trip because we got a great rate at the Doubletree Nungwi. But in walking down the beach we ended up at the Z Hotel for happy hour (some creative and tasty drinks for sure!), and really enjoyed the location and ambiance of the place. So we decided to look at a room, and then the (penthouse) Z Suite. The location, views and arrangement of the suite were just lovely so we decided move over from the Doubletree. The staff was very attentive in arranging an early check in. We had been enamored with the Z Suite, including the jacuzzi, when we looked at it. Unfortunately we were informed at check in that the jacuzzi was broken. We renegotiated the room rate to compensate for this, which worked out nicely.

We couldn't stop comparing the absolutely beautiful location and amenities of the Z Hotel to what we had just experienced at the Serena Inn in Stone Town. While the Serena was lovely, our tiny room there really couldn't compare to the Z Suite, which is about the same price. The infinity pool and deck were lovely and relaxing - even being on the beach it still felt very private.

We had some mixed experience with the food. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was very good. We also ate dinner one night at the restaurant and one night with room service. We had the prix fix menu at the restaurant - the seared tuna was outstanding, the seafood grill upgrade for an additional 20,000 shillings was disappointing and not worth the additional price. We were surprised that the seafood was bland and overcooked/mushy. The tamarind mousse was very tart and not tasty. Room service was ok. The chef was committed to serving what we ordered, though the word 'rare' was not understood by the wait staff even after 3 attempts. We spoke directly with the chef and then we were squared away, so it worked out ok in the end.

The only less-than-impressive part of the room experience is that our sheets were not changed, which was obvious due to the sand in the bed from our feet the previous night. Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable stay! We hope we'll have another chance to stay at the Z again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittymama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We moved from the south of the Island to the North of the Island, and whilst it was a relief to move from a dissapoint hotel, this was much better. However again my husband and I were dissapointed with the hotel.

Whilst the Z hotel prides itself on being a boutique hotel, the rooms are small and appear to be furnished with Ikea furiture, mattresses on the beds are uncomforable and the pillow are polyester. The rooms are certainly very expensive for what you got and the service from staff was not amazing. Whilst staff were friendly service was slow (if they remembered to see you). For the price charged per night it is not the luxury expected. Their "private beach" is shared with other hotels on this side of the island, with a few sun loungers in one corner. The sun loungers by the pool are cramed in so that I would be just as close to my husband as I would be to the other person sitting on the other side.

The hotel is not secluded and is surrounded/built up around many other hotels and restaurants. It is next door to a bar, which on weekends blair music out until the early hours of the morning, fab for a night of partying, but very annoying if you just fancied having a night in one night!

The beach is certainly more beautiful on this side of the island than the south side with a particularily good restaurant (and surprisingly cheap) at the end of the beach (the beach is very small). Our stay was pleasant at the Z hotel. However it was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed here for three nights a few weeks ago and was very pleased when we arrived. The hotel is in a great location, and has to facilities. The rooms are well appointed and have bags of space.

The only let down, and the reason that has prompted me to write my first negative review of anything, is the attitude of the staff and level of service in general.

The hotel is only small (30 rooms i think), and seems to be well-staffed, but despite this all the staff take ages to respond to the simplest of requests. We were left waiting at reception for half an hour when asking if we could have a bottle of water (advertised as free). We were left waiting in our room for an hour when we realised that there were no towels and we needed to shower. We were left waiting in the restaurant for about an hour between ordering our food and receiving it.

This hotel seems to have everything in place to be a top luxury boutique, but frankly it is just not worth paying $220 a night to go somewhere and be treated like a piece of crap. No apologies were ever offered for these delays, it was more common to get a rude or abrut answer when we tried to ask why things took so long.

I would definitely not go back here, which is a shame because it has the potential to be so much better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nungwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Z Hotel is a perfect choice to have fantastic see and high services level,
The see in really nice, food very good, very difficoult to find something similiar in Zanzibar

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

we stayed here as part of our honeymoon and overall had a wonderful time. The beach and ocean were lovely as was our room. Service in the restaurant could be a little hit and miss at times, there were occasions when our order was wrong, and not the quickest service we've had, but generally the staff were very friendly and as long as you realise that this is a very laid back hotel and sometimes the staffs performance reflects that then you'll be okay. Dont get me wrong, we loved it but we soon learnt to have an equally laid back attitude.
Pros: great location - the view from the balcony was outstanding
Cons: service (though they were very quick to respond to problems)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I am intrigued by the varied reviews; we had one of our best holidays here. I completely doubt the review that said there were issues with cleanliness. There is indeed a cat that sits watching the sea, but I like cats. There were also some tortoises. It is indeed a hotel where pre-sentientsare not allowed. Why not? The teens who were staying seemed to enjoy themselves, but as a parent myself I would still say why should every hotel welcome toddlers? Particularly one that seems so suited to honeymooners. We had a rooftop apartment which had a sensational view of the Indian Ocean, and was spacious, with its own sun deck and separately a large veranda, but I can't speak for the size of other rooms. The TV had good movie channels and sport, the bar had great cocktails, the internet was free and easily accessible, there were more than enough recliners by the pool, and the staff were delightful. These details, like the cat, will be important to some travellers and less important to others. There is a generator that kicks in when Zanzibar has its (frequent) power cuts: this is a definite one up on many hotels on the island. To sum up: it is a well run hotel of European boutique quality in a stunning setting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulVincentHumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
668 reviews
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nungwi
1,146 reviews
22.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Zanzibar

Address: PO Box 4807, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £149 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Z Hotel Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, boutique hotel located on the northern tip of the Island, blends contemporary design with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique, cool and relaxing environment. Set in a lush tropical garden with direct access to white powder beaches and the Indian Ocean, the Z hotel has been finished to an extremely high specification. Each room has floor-to-ceiling glass doors leading onto a balcony, which looks out across the crystal blue ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Z Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Nungwi
The Z Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing