We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay... When in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The name of this hotel is in true sense to the word - ROYAL i.e. the hospitality, the service, the staff along with the breath taking environment. The three infinity swimming pools makes it look like you are swimming towards the sea making it seem like it never ends... which honestly, i didn't want it to end!! The bathrooms and rooms in general were extremely spacious and the hygiene and cleanliness was profound. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to spend a few nights away from the hustle and bustle of the city life and take a relaxing weekend away. The Royal Zanzibar really went above and beyond my expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea front are not only beautiful, but the sea waves noise makes it heavenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

After a long period of time at work, all my wife and I needed was a break where we could relax and get in touch with our inner selves. When we arrived we were welcomed with a refreshing drink and the breath-taking view of the sea from the reception. The rooms were nice and spacious with large bathrooms and balconies that faced towards the sea. My wife and I loved spending our time in the front pool which is where we ended up spending most of our time. Most beautiful were the sunsets by the infinity pool. I must recommend the hospitality of Fredrick who we always found by the pool. After 5 days, we were tanned, a little more plumper and unwilling to return back to England. We had a lovely break and we would definitely recommend it to anyone needing a break. Pizzas, Massages, kayaking - We had a splendid time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I really wish their were more stars to give this amazing hotel but it is only limited to 5 stars. This is truly a great hotel. the bedrooms are spacious it is not crammed like other hotels. Dont get me started with the swimming pool. the three infinity makes it look like you are swimming towards the sea. I think the bar in the center of the hotel it a great touch. You dont need to go tho the bar to get a drink, You just swim towards the bar located in the middle of the swimming pool. The service was very fast. Their was no long wait to get your food, excellent buffet. The staff was kind and really helpful.

Room Tip: Choose room L21. Best view of the Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Having booked this hotel as an add on following a safari in Tanzania, I was initially a little worried by some of the reviews but having spent 4 nights there I can say that these were unfounded. The room was clean and spacious with an excellent view of the beach. Air conditioning worked superbly and quietly. All the staff work very hard to maintain the hotel, from the gardeners, cleaners & reception, to the bar & restaurant staff. This was our first experience of an all inclusive hotel and again we were pleasantly surprised by the choice at breakfast and dinner. Two nights a week (Mon & Thurs) the evening meal is taken on the beach with entertainment provided and again the effort of the catering staff made the night very enjoyable. For lunch we used the Coco Bar overlooking the sea where you could enjoy lovely fresh baked pizza, club sandwiches, seafood salads and a decent cappuccino! Particular mention to Catherine and her fellow staff who made lunch times here a pleasure. Yes we had a minor issue - the shower didn't work despite a visit from maintenance, but that was vastly outweighed by the friendly staff and allowing us to stay in the room until 14:30pm on the day of our departure. Thank you everyone at the Royal Zanzibar.
A few thoughts on Zanzibar in general - it comes as a bit of a culture shock if you've never been to Africa before. The contrast between driving past the most basic of homes, seeing people live a very different lifestyle to most westerners and then arriving at a beautiful hotel through guarded gates is unsettling. Most of the hotel guests (Italian & German in the main) seem to spend 2 weeks by the beach and pools, but you should make the effort to go on a 1/2 day tour of Stonetown to see the way life really is in Zanzibar. It would appear that western investment has been happily used to create a false paradise along the shores of the island, what is still needed is investment in it's own people and their welfare.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xjs_jag_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

we went to the Royal Zanzibar, after contemplating many other resorts. We were very pleased with everything at the Royal, the staff were polite, the food was good, the rooms were large and well maintained. It was easy to book tours with the beach boys. The bar staff were on the ball, and rarely did we wait more than 15 minutes for a snack (pizza or burger) at lunch time. When in Africa, one cannot expect 5* quality, however we were pleasantly surprised, and did not sweat the small stuff at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank poppins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We got this hotel after our other hotel "dream of zanzibar" fell out of electricity. great reception with good english speaking staff.
Rooms are very big and clean. Bathroom is really huge. There is a bathtub so large, there will fit 4 people in it. Great open shower. Nice.
Great view from the balcony on the ocean.
Lot of swimming pools but everybody is around the main pool at the sea.
Food is ok. Same breakfast everday, but nice.
Lunch can be taken at the buffet restaurant: fresh pasta, salads, meat, fresh cooked vegtables, grill...wide assortiment. Or at the Cocobar: fresh made pizza, french fries,...
Diner is at the buffet resto: one good advice, come early because when some dishes are finished, they are finished. Like dessert. I think that they make one cake of everything and that is it. Lots of fresh fruits. 1/week african night at the amfi theatre with BBQ.
Only thing negative: lots of Italians, whole day italian music,....Ti amo, Guente di Mare, Cosa della vita,...animationteam is also italian. Staff speaks also italian.
Nice second offer to continue our holiday but would i picked it from the start....i dont think so because we came from the other side of the island (kiwengwa) and there the beach was more beautifull with palmtrees, it was more quiet, and more idealistic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verossassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Royal Zanzibar and we will be back very soon!

Such clean well supplied rooms with great sea view!

And the beach, wao! clean!

Every detail about this hotel is excellent, we will definitely make it our second home.

Lovely lovely hotel!!

Thanks
Sally Richmond

Room Tip: Never say you have been to Zanzibar if you have not visited Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sallyrichmond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.2 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £204 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing