We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Attention to the details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Such a shame......my husband and I stayed at this resort after a week on safari....one 1st glance lovely hotel huge rooms great staff and beautiful setting HOWEVER..got eaten alive by tiny ants in bed patio doors didn't shut properly or lock. The resort is mainly geared to Italians so animation staff speak little English WORST is the food or lack of it. Little choice. Cold covered in flies or under cooked..we avoided buffet and lived on pizza n burgers from the snack bar.....LASTLY don't expect any help from the manager RUDE & UNCOOPERATIVE MAN won't be returning....

Stayed: September 2011
1  Thank Lorna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

What a stunnig Place. We like going to Zanzibar, but I must admit this was the best time we've had. Nungwi is definetly the most beautiful part of the island. There was fun things for the kids, big and small to do. Entertainment every night. We had a ball! Can't wait to go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeonieCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This review has been a long time coming for which we apologise! Like many of the other reviewers we were a little wary of some of the other comments for the hotel as we were travelling with other members of our family who had agreed to witness our wedding in paradise! We arrived on boxing day 2010 for a ten night stay including wedding ceremony before flying off for a three night safari and then returning for a further four nights at the royal zanzibar. We experienced nothing but the highest attention the whole time our party of eight were in the resort, from the upgrade we received as the happy couple, to the service in the restaurant and bars. True the hotel caters mainly to Italian guests (due to the direct flights available from Italy) but we found this made the staff even more eager to speak English with us. Life takes on a different pace to back at home so a little understanding of this makes you realise things may take a bit longer but they will get done in the end. Our wedding ceremony was absolutely fantastic and they couldn't do enough to make our special day so memorable. The food was some of the best all-inclusive fare we have had and the way the staff move the whole dining operation down to the beach for the twice weekly bbq is wonderful. All in all a holiday of a lifetime in a truly stunning location

Room Tip: upgraded rooms facing beach with good sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J0hnandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Though the resort is in a very good location and is well made with excellent landscaped garden and large swimming pools its the other aspects which it mails miserably in, the food is pathetic, prepared from low quality ingredients, flies in the dining area, unhygienic, chefs roam about in dirty uniforms, choice is limited, though they boast of a specialty restaurant its nothing more than a diner, the restaurant does not have even proper linen, cutlery etc... the food is bad except the freshly baked pizza's. The room are large and clean but if you are looking for safe, hygienic quality food this is the place to avoid. In the name of a spa they have two small massage room with untrained staff and for that they are highly overpriced.The focus is on Italian guests as 90% of their clientele are Italians, so entertainments, menu's are all made keeping that in mind.

Room Tip: Though all room balconies have view of the Ocean choose the first floor room in Block "I"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicureansilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My Husband and I visited The Royal Zanzibar for a ten Day Trip for our Honeymoon. What a beautiful place Zanzibar is.
After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little dubious, but let me assure you there is nothing to worry about.
From the moment we stepped foot into the resort we were treated like royalty. Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful beyond belief.
We went at the beginning of January and the weather was glorious - very hot indeed! With only one day that was cloudy (but this didn't matter, as it was still boiling hot!).
The setting was like paradise with over 4 pools to choose from, overlooking the sea, what more can you ask for. Not to mention the pool bar, where you can swim right up for a drink! All drinks are the real thing, i would recommend Pina Colada made with coconut milk - delicious!
For lunch we would quite often eat down near the beach, overlooking the sea, where they serve things like - Salads, including seafood (highly recommend), Burger, Pasta, pizza (made in an authentic pizza oven) and much more. Dinner we dined in the main restaurant where there was always a lot of choice, fresh salads that was always varied, soup, pizza, pasta, fresh fruit, desserts along with approx 10 main dishes to choose from.
The staff really make The Royal Zanzibar, they really look after you, nothing is too much trouble. The beach party's were the highlight for me. Such great fun, dining on the beach, being served as if you were in the restaurant. A great band, acrobatics and dancing, such brilliant fun. And the best bit is the staff can join in. It was brilliant being able to see the friends we had made in the staff get up, have a dance and really enjoy themselves. Thank you Royal Zanzibar for an unbelievable trip and thank you for making the beginning of my married life a very happy one!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, if possible to upgrade definitely do so, as then you will be right on the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whitewine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

After a spectacular safari a few days here to chill was lovely
The hotel was not up to the standards that we found on the main land
Although the staff were very friendly their English was not always good and they sometimes nodded and went away, you thought they were getting your order, but they had not understood and nothing happened
The food was buffet style and bland, although the Pizza and Pasta were great
The site was wonderful the sea and pools were fabulous
A great way to erst and recover

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqueline57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A friend and I stayed at this resort over Christmas and New Year 2011/12. The resort is lovely, with a great beach and pool facilities (5 pools I think). We were well looked after by the staff and enjoyed the food (one traveller also a vegetarian). There's a lot of focus on the italian guests (high numbers of) and we did have some difficulty in finding out what was going on.

The one downside was the room which, although large was not ready when we arrived, missing a safe etc, and there was wet paint inside the wardrobe which got our clothes, although the laundry staff did manage to clean then well.

All in all a lovely holiday and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LJT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22.5 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £195 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing