We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Resort looks like paradise! The best place to relax after a safari on the mainland.
We were there just before the season started (last week of july), so it was very quite (we really liked that).
The rooms are beautyfull! Very clean, a kingsized bed (only a bit to hard), big closet with a free safe and very big bathroom with a double bath!!! The rooms also have a terrace and we looked out at the swimming pools and the ocean.
In the mornings and the afternoons we stayed at the beach. The sunbeds are good and you can get free towels. Its great to go out snorkeling in the morning. You can see lobster, squid, pufferfish, starfish and all kind of other colourfull fishes. Watch out for sea-urchins and jellyfish!
We also went out diving. At the beach of the hotel it's pretty expensive, but wenn you ask Marco Polo (captain of the Tata - he always hangs around at the beach in front of the hotel) then he will bring you to another PADI divecentre, were it's much cheaper.
I can also recommend to take a massage at the hotel by Winnie. You will feel reborn!
Every day around 5 o' clock in the afternoon we "hang around" in the swinging chair at the Coco bar. We always enjoyed the sunset. We've also seen dolphins coming by during the sunset, nearby the coast. Fantastic! The bartender at the Coco bar is Mbarack. It's a very friendly guy and a good bartender. He makes delicious Mojito's! He remembers you and likes to make a chat with you. We can recommend to order a pizza and a hamburger at the Coco bar.
The buffet in the main restaurant is good: all kinds of pasta's á la minute, eggs (just the way you want it), rice, fresh fruits, all kinds of bread, and much, much more!
We're from Holland and one of the executives chefs is Dutch (Alex). At the beach we saw that you can have a lobster dinner. He arranged that for us. It was the most romantic dinner we've ever had and will have! They made a bed of cushions at the beach with a low table in front of it. We were there all alone at the beach, with a beautifully started sky! Haji (waiter from the Coco bar) served the food and the wine. He did a excellent job! Christopher (chef de parti) prepared the dinner for us. It all was very tasty (the starter, the soup, the lobster, the dessert). I still get water in my mouth just by thinking of it. We've never seen such a big lobster! We've had lobster before, but never so good as Christopher prepared for us. It was so amazing delicious! Thanks to Christopher, Haji and Alex we've had a unforgatable dinner and evening!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pas-Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and very detailed review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will happily pass on your compliments to Winnie, Christopher, Haji, Mbarack and of course Chef Alex. It's always nice to be able to share such positive remarks with our team.

We also appreciate your comments regarding the dinner on the beach. This is a fairly new event that we're trying and it's nice to hear that it was so memorable for you.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    383
    96
    38
    32
See reviews for
267
798
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

From the moment I arrived, the attention to my needs was faultless. Staff were always smiling and made everyone feel at home. Rooms impecably clean and very well appointed. Food was great and in abundance. Activities were many and well supported. This is the place to stay in Zanzibar. I aslo stayed at Dream of Zanzibar this trip however Royal Zanzibar outpaced it in all aspects. For those who have not been to Zanzibar I recomend the Nth East caost as the beaches and activities are far better than the West coast. For example, you can take a boat trip litterally from your doorstep as the boats are nearby as opposed to West coast where you need to travel to the boating area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your kind comments during your stay with us and for this wonderful review!

It really was a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and I'm looking forward to sharing your review at our upcoming meeting for all of the staff. They are working hard and it's terrific for them to hear that the results are so positively noticed by our guests.

Thank you once again for selecting the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Until you get to the hotel from airport it looks sad.
However when you get there you enjoy one of the nicked beach I have seen.
The hotel itself is one of the best the welcome the food the large rooms and bath are outstanding
Also we had a massage,which I recommend to every one ,very professional and relaxing
Go there

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We're so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and will happily pass on your positive comments to our Spa Team regarding your massage.

We know that the poverty that is so visible along the drive to the hotel is sad to see for many of our guests, but we also hope that you know how important tourism has become for the island and what a good impact it is having. Aside from the almost 150 local staff that our resort alone employs, there are countless others who are positively affected by the purchasing we do, as all of our food products and many of our other consumables are sourced locally. We hire various local workers for small projects and we are working with local NGO's who are already supplying the lovely jams that are on the buffet for breakfast and we hope will soon be supplying the soaps for our guest rooms as well. It doesn't fix everything, but we trust that our guests will understand that in many small ways, they are helping just by coming to Zanzibar!

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your vacation, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

From day one we found ourselves in paradise. We started with a rest in the swinging chair next to the coconut bar, ocean view, and the bartender, mister Barack (Obama :)) went out of his way to make us a nice cocktail and explained to us what we could chose for food en drinks with our all-in. We were suprised! You can chose from about ten cocktails (mojito!) and they make them excellent, no quick premix or anything. The hamburgers were very nice with reasonably good fries (I am spoiled here in Belgium).

We proceeded to our room and found we had the best possible view! We were in the K-block and looked out over the infinity pool and the ocean, amazing! The bed is huge, although fairly hard. The bathroom was clean and sooo big! The double bath is great.

You also have a roofed terrace with a sunbed and a chair. This prooved great around sunset and when it would rain (the mornings tend to be a bit cloudy in August, by midday the sun comes out).

For dinner we tried the buffet in the main restaurant. There was a large variety of foods and all seemed very hygienic and fresh. You could order pasta à la minute and would cook it in front of you. The african cuisine was great with the curries and the zanzibari special (of course expect an indian touch). For breakfast they would cook you english breakfast, eggs in all ways possible, just the way you want it.

I think a huge asset of this resort is the limited rooms (I think about eighty) and the spacious grounds, located on the end of Nungwi beach. It never gets too busy and you can always find a quiet spot for sunbathing or having a peaceful lunch/dinner. When you walk on the beach, you can see all the other resorts have packed their rooms and facilities all in a small spot and it looks crowded.

When you go to Zanzibar, don't forget to go snorkeling! We went with captain Marco Polo who has his own boat, the Tata, right in front of the royal zanzibar. He is reliable and not pushy like other beachboys. He charges fairly and goes out of his way to make the trip unforgettable. We especially loved our daytrip to Mnemba island. We saw dolphins on the way, as promised, and went for a walk on a sand bank. We went snorkeling around Mnemba and as he promised, we saw all kinds of fish. He made rice with vegetables and fresh fish on a nearby beach.

This is paradise...

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet room, ask for the J or K block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgianLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We will pass on your remarks to Barack, it's always a pleasure to be able to thank our staff for adding that extra touch for our guests! It was also good to know that you enjoyed the peaceful ambiance that we try so hard to maintain. It's nice to have so much space for our guests to spread out and relax in and good to hear that you enjoy it too!

We are trying to source some foam toppers for our beds, for guests who prefer a softer sleeping surface. I hope that by the time you come back, we'll be able to fix that particular problem for you.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to travel to Zanzibar again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Away from the hustle and bustle, this resort has amazing grounds with 4 pools spread out amongst the beautiful gardens. Breathtaking views over the sea are everywhere in this resort from the pools to the bars, to the seafront restaurant.
The suite villa's which are right on the beach front are the best to take advantage of the amazing sunsets - a perfect spot for couples.

The all inclusive food and beverage option gives a huge selection of foods/drinks to pick from, in addition to other selections if you wish.

The entertainment directors are amazing and make your experience enjoyable from joining them for aqua aerobics to walks along the beach and the evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Definitely the seafront suites upstairs for the spectacular views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLoverNZx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the resort so much! I love the views all over the property and it's always nice to hear that our guests share that sentiment.

We will also pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage and Animation Teams, they all work hard to ensure the best experience possible for our guests and it's nice to be able to let them know that they are appreciated.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What an incredible experience we had at the Resort as a family celebrating a sixeth aniversary (birthday). The service and accomadation was immaculate forour needs and surpassed the expectations, especially for our grandson Daniel who celebrated his fourth birthday on the day of arrival. Without asking the staff a birthday cake was made and prsented to him that evening. Khaled Fathy the Food & Beverage Manager and his staff thereafter made sure that Daniel did not want in anyway what so ever, even his late evening bacon requests were done and presented to him with special attention and fun.
The accomodation was great and comfortable, with large rooms excellently serviced, with huge bathrooms and a bath that was huge.
All beverages and food were of superb quality, and the soups were the favourites of the family. Bread was baked fresh for every meal, breakfasts made you roll out of the dining area.
We had a wonderfull time.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It is such a pleasure to hear that we were able to WOW your family, especially young Daniel! Khaled and his team take a great deal of pleasure in being able to deliver memorable moments and it's wonderful when they're recognized like this. Chef and his team also love making good food that our guests enjoy. We'll be happy to pass on your message to all of them.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort in the near future, so you can roll out of the dining room some more!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel beach was the best we saw. Amazing sunsets. Nice selection of food on the main restaurant's buffet, good pizza and ... Very friendly service!
Many thanks to lovely Zainab and Charles, who took perfectly care for us in the restaurants and beach bar. Not to forget Margrit aka Whoopy. ;)
We can highly recommend the hotel for relaxing days at the beach and for enjoying a sunset boat tour with one of the boats waiting for clients at the beach as the Tata boat.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're delighted that you enjoyed the beach so much and of course the pizza! Most of all however, we love being able to share with Zainab, Charles and Margrit that they made your stay memorable. We take great pride in our staff and it's a pleasure to be able to pass on your recognition of their efforts in such a direct manner.

Thank you again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Property: Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing