We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$531
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$301
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$789
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,554)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveller rating
909
447
115
45
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
447
115
45
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bathsamaki restaurantcoco barspices restaurantcaptain marcoanimation teamrooms are hugemain restaurantitalian chefpool barhakuna matatastone townlocal spiritsmasai guardsbuffet styleall inclusive packageour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hi,

First of all - massive apologies to Kim the GM for the incredibly slow posting of this review!

I stayed here with my wife, for our Honeymoon in November 2012 for 6 nights before safari. The location was amazing, beautiful sands, weather. The food was lovely as were all the staff.

What really set this place apart for me was the incredible assisstance from Kim when my luggage went missing. This was not the fault of the hotel (Airline was to blame), yet Kim sent out someone to purchase clothes, toiletries and anti-malarials for us. Luckily my wife had her luggage, but this action, at the start of my honeymoon averted a near disaster for me. She even liased with the airline, repeatedly, and managed to trace my bag which I received when I landed back in London (It had gone to Nairobi and ended up in Galsgow!?....).

THANK YOU KIM!

The suite we stayed in was immaculate, huge bathroom and bedroom, with amazing views of the.

Zanzibar is an amazing place and I woudl advise everyone to visit Stone Town.

Thanks Kim, you helped make our Honeymoon.

Stuart and Emily.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saber27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Stuart and Emily,

Thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, happy to know that you were able to collect your missing bag when you got home and appreciative of your generous praise! No apologies for the delay are necessary.

We will share your kind words with our staff and with Jennifer and Anderson, the wizards behind the return of your luggage. This is one of those times that I just make phone calls and send emails, but other people are doing all the real work. I know that Jennifer will be thrilled to know that her hard work paid off and that your belongings and more importantly, the borrowed piece of luggage, made it safely home.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future... perhaps to celebrate an anniversary!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
gm@royalzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Royal Zanzibar is beautiful, with well tended grounds, gorgeous pool areas, multiple restaurants, and friendly and attentive staff. The rooms were very spacious, with TV, a large verandah, huge shower, and gigantic bathtub! The bathroom also featured amazing bath products. I especially liked the cinnamon and clove soap made by locals.
When we first checked in our phone and safe weren't working, but both issues were promptly resolved.
The hotel is on a beautiful cliff overlooking a pristine beach, and features gorgeous sunsets.
There is a spa tent overlooking the ocean too. My massage was great!
I hated leaving Zanzibar, and hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolo1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you so much for your really lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and the wonderful photos you posted!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and were especially pleased with the mention of the soaps we provide in our guests rooms. They are locally made by a women's group, assisted by an NGO. All the ingredients are from Zanzibar and we love the positive environmental impact as well as the amazing scent!

We are sorry that there were some issues with the safe and phone not working on your arrival, but glad that they were promptly looked after.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
gm@royalzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I went to the Royal Zanzibar in June / July 2013 and were very impressed as soon as we arrived. Beautiful grounds, gorgeous white beach, huge room and the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive to all our needs.

Even though when we visited not all restaurants were open, the staff worked extremely hard to keep the menu interesting and the food was always delicious. We were blown away (almost literally) by the generous measures of alcohol in the cocktails and spirits, which was a real bonus for anyone that likes a drink.

The only issue I had is that there were not the advertised water sports available during our visit. The member of staff responsible for this had moved all the equipment to another location and we were told that we would have to pay to use it ($20 an hour for a kayak!) even though this should have been included in the all inclusive package.

If possible, I would very much like a response from Kim to acknowledge this issue and to make sure it can be rectified for future guests. We had a fantastic honeymoon, the hotel is wonderful and it was just a shame that the water sports weren't available, which was a big reason why I chose to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Matthew,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and have happily passed on your positive comments to our team.

I am sorry about the problems with the water sports, unfortunately my response comes in two parts. The first problem is that the information your travel company had on which water sports are available and part of the all inclusive package was incorrect. We have never had windsurfing boards or catamarans available, they must be rented from other companies on the island at the guests expense. We are now working with our travel partners to ensure that that information has been corrected in websites and brochures. .

The second part addresses the problem with the kayaks and peddle boats that are in our all-inclusive package and kept on our property. There are never charges involved for these items, if a staff member was trying to charge you for them, they intended to pocket the cash. We had a situation like this once before and the staff member was dismissed, however at this point, we don't know who was involved. We have spoken to the entire team, reminding them of the consequences should they take these steps.

We are very sorry that these things damaged what you otherwise called a fantastic honeymoon and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
gm@royalzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We went on honeymoon to the Royal Zanzibar on 24th June and had a lovely time in what is probably the best-placed beach resort on the island.
We arrived quite late at night and it's more than an hour from the airport or from Stone Town if you want excursions, but the journey is worth it - so much to see en route! We'd travelled for 36 hours to get there the day after our wedding and expected to fall asleep in the car but couldn't take our eyes off everything we passed.

There was a bit of a hold-up at reception as we had different paperwork to what the staff were expecting, but this was sorted out within 15 minutes and the chef, Alex (quite a character!) was arranging dinner to be sent to our room for us to save us having to make our way to restaurant. However, we opted to do just that so we could get a feel for the place and we had a lovely buffet-style dinner then off to bed.

Our room was huge and pristine! We had mossie nets and an effective air con but on our second last night we and our entire block were moved rooms because there was no hot water. We were then moved to a beach-front room (which we were secretly hoping we'd have been given from the start as part of the honeymoon package but sadly not). This room was so big, you could've played tennis in it! And it opened right onto the beach but this did limit privacy somewhat. So if you want a beach view, ask for a room in block 'A'.

The staff were, in a word, incredible. We didn't see one who wasn't smiling, they love to hear about where you're from and show a genuine interest in you. There is nothing we can say in criticism - simply amazing people.

The beach was beautiful and white but the beach boys became a serious pest. They're not allowed onto the hotel's grounds, but this didn't stop them from pestering you with waves and shouts if you made eye contact with them from the beach bar area. The best tip is to use the steps from the sunlounge area to get in and out of the sea quickly, rather than walking across the beach. A firm 'no' should send the lads away but some are seriously persistent, and if you make conversation with one then they all flock to you.

A visit to Stone Town is a must but take a guide as it's a rabbit warren of narrow streets which are full of speedy scooters. And remember to cover your shoulders and legs if you're visiting, it's only polite to respect other cultures. It can get very hot walking around so a guide will arrange an itinerary to avoid the hottest hours, but I beg you to visit this amazing place. We also went to Prison Island to see the giant tortoises - again, a must. Just beautiful, bewildering animals. And the Jozani Forest monkeys are worth a visit, they're awesome.

We were a bit disappointed in the lack of water sports which we had been led to believe the hotel offered but it turns out we were there at low season and this became more obvious throughout the week with serious cleaning and setting up of various bars in operation! We were also gutted at the lack of a swim-up bar in the main pool which was being refurbished, again this caught our eye when we booked it as it looked lovely. However, if you visit any time from now this will all no doubt be rectified.

A few tips:

* Try the pina coladas - heaven! The 'dawa' cocktail is also fab (made with sugar and honey).
* Book Mussa from Island Express tours in Stone Town for excursions, he was truly amazing and really made the trip special for us.
* Use the beach steps for accessing the sea to swim.
* The geckos won't hurt you so no need to scream.
* Beware of the roads - you think the UK is bad for potholes? You'll receive a free 'African massage' on your way to and from the hotel!!
* Visit the Mnarani aquarium along the beach. If you can run the gauntlet of the beach boys, turn right onto the beach in front of the hotel and walk all the way up to the lighthouse (about 20-25 minutes) past the village and spend $5 to see the rescued sea turtles etc. Amazing.
* Grab a seat in the beach bar, upstairs, to watch the sunset with a cocktail. Truly spectacular!

Overall we had a great time and would fully recommend this place for a base to explore this fabulous island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in block A on the beach. Huge rooms with bath robes and slippers!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumblebeeluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We're delighted that you enjoyed so much of your stay and appreciate the recommendation to future guests. More than anything, I love being able to pass on your generous words of praise regarding our staff. We're very proud of them all and it's such a pleasure to share this kind of feedback from our guests with them!

We are sorry that there were some missteps in your stay, the hot water problem was poorly handled on our part, the communication between the departments just didn't work and we must also apologise for the closure of the swim up bar.

You also mentioned the problems with the beach boys and I would give anything to be able to better address this point. Unfortunately, by law, all beaches on the island must remain public. For some areas, where the tide comes all the way up to the cliff, it is not convenient for the beach boys to gather, but it is the one area in which having a beach at all times hurts us as they can be there all the time and we can't do anything about it except to meet with them to try to convince them not to be so aggressive. We will continue to do this and I apologise that they were a bother to you.

Finally I would like to address the lack of water sports. We recently discovered that we had approved incorrect information for some of our suppliers to use in their brochures and on their websites regarding which sports we offer. We are asking our travel partners to send us links so that we can ensure that their information is now correct. In the meantime however, the kayaks and peddle boats were still to be available, it appears that they had been relocated by some of our staff and we're very sorry that you were not able to use them.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, please feel free to contact me directly when you're travelling so that I can ensure a more trouble-free vacation for you.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
gm@royalzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The rooms are spacious , well set out . The hotel must have the best , cleanest part of the beach of all the resorts on the north side of the island . The pools are spectacular and big enough for every body to have their own piece of pool and that you don't feel crowded . The animation team is super and is the heart and soul of the resort . The food is well presented and tasty . The fish skewers is a must for lunch . The variety of drinks is good and the Dawa cocktail is brilliant . The overall service received at the resort is excellent . Their are a variety of tours available but i recommend the Spice farm , Stown town and prison island tour . These are great and give you a good feel for the island and its people . Overall a brilliant holiday .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

What a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we've passed on your thanks in particular, to the animation team. We think they do a great job and are delighted that you feel the same. We've also thanked the Chef and the Bartenders!

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
gm@royalzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews