We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent resort! Beautiful setting, not crowded, private beach, huge infinity pool, 2 more pools, jacuzzi, good food, need i say more. The room we had has to be the largest room we've ever occupied in a resort. The bath is so large, it could be a room in some hotels. Very large bath and shower. we had the ground floor room, overlooking the ocean. Words cannot describe the beauty.

Room Tip: Choose the sea facing room on the ground floor next to their spa. I suspect most of the rooms are ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokuphiwa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We think the property is beautiful too, but we could be considered biased. We will also pass on your comments to the Chef and his team regarding the food, I know that he'll be pleased to hear that you were happy with it.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    387
    98
    39
    34
See reviews for
274
812
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Had a good meal here. However, we paid cash and the resort charged us over 10% on the going rate for usd to tsh, much more than any rate we've seen elsewhere on the island. Left a bad taste in all our mouths and they've hence lost our future business.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Bryan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and to speak with me while you were here.

We're pleased to know that you enjoyed the food and the service at the Samaki Restaurant and appreciate your fairness in commending both in your review in light of your other concern.

We have had a discussion and will be revising our exchange rate to come closer to the rates being offered in other establishments around Zanzibar. We hope that might encourage you and your friends to try us again in the future.

Thank you once again for choosing the Samaki Restaurant.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the resort over Christmas. The best part about the resort is that even though it was fairly full, it never seemed crowded. The was enough space to swim (there are 4 huge swimming pools and the sea!), and no queues for food, drinks etc. The rooms are big and spacious as well.

Dinners were themed. We enjoyed a dinner on the beach, and dinner in the gardens, all with live music. There were also shows at the theatre (Michael Jackson and Acrobatics). The food was good, not amazing (there was one day when a few guests including myself were sick). Due to the large contingent of italian guests, the pizzas and pastas were really really good! The mini bar in the room were always fully stocked, and we generally had fruit delivered to our room.

The other really great aspect about the resort was the staff...everyone has a smile on their face, and greats you with a 'Jambo' every time they see you. And due to the fact that there are at most 200 guests at the resort, they tend to get to know you (and your drinks order!). The staff also get involved in the activities e.g. Beach volleyball every afternoon, water aerobics, Petangue, and actually enjoy the activities with the guests.

A great stay! Well done!

Room Tip: Every room has its advantages...some are closer to the beach, others are closer to reception and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Darryn,

Thank you very much for your terrific review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and for posting photos as well.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and will thank our staff for ensuring that you were warmly welcomed wherever you went on the resort. We're very proud of the entire team and happily share reviews like this at various meetings throughout the property.

I'm sorry to hear that you were sick during your stay. Fortunately this is not something that happens often. We will take the opportunity to remind our Executive Chef and his team to be certain that hygiene standards are rigorously followed at all times.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

From the moment we arrived at the reception, it felt like we were on a different planet. Every person from the Bag carrier to the garderner to the tea lady had smiles on from ear to ear, nobody could have been more helpful or more accommadating. with four pools, open bars and all day restaurants, there was not a moment where i was unable to satify my every craving. in the end it was the staff at the Royal Zanzibar that made my holiday just that much more incredible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Mathew,

Thank you so much for your outstanding review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It's truly a pleasure for me to be able to work with such a lovely team of people. Their kindness and flexibility with our guests makes me proud to work with them every single day. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and will be thrilled to share your words with the entire staff at our upcoming year end party.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was the most spectacular place that we have been to. Thank you for a well maintained holiday resort and extremely friendly staff (Jambo)!! The small things made it extra special (the flowers on the bed) and much appreciated.
Rooms are spacious as well as the bathroom. The extra effort with dinners on the beach and in the garden show the extent to which the resort will go to make the stay memorable.
We were accommodated with some extra time in the room as check out is at 10.00am and we were only picked up at 14.30pm as our flight was only at 17.30. This was really appreciated.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank leachthelma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Jambo!!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and for your promise to return!

I'm not sure that there's a bigger compliment to a resort so far off the beaten track than guests willing to make the journey again, just to stay with us. Thank you very much for that. We're delighted to know that you enjoyed our dinners around the resort, as much work as they are, I think that the management and staff enjoy being outside almost as much as the guests. I'm also glad that you liked the flowers in the room. There's an ongoing battle between housekeeping and I to ensure that they don't strip the flowers out of all our beautiful gardens, but reviews like this help convince me that I need to relax about it just a little.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We left Stone town early only to find check in wasn't until 2pm. Saying that we were made welcome the room was turned around and we got in early(thank you Mohammed)
The room was huge; we have stayed in rooms that were the size of the bathroom! spotlessly clean and was kept that way (thank you Fatima)
Public areas and grounds were well kept and you can find your own space around the various fabulous pools.
Dining, buffet style with lots of choice at each meal time and good quality.
ALL the staff are super friendly, hard working and helpful.
Special mention to Ramadan who helped keep us rehydrated with water and Zanzibar fruit punch.
Brenda used the spa and Grace delivered what was described as an invigorating massage and was thoroughly enjoyed.
We had the pleasure of meeting the General manager Kim Bird who is genuinely interested that you have an excellent stay and a great experience. (She is also very entertaining)
All in all a great place to relax enjoy the sun and kick back.

Room Tip: If leaving from Stone town take in a tour or just explore it yourself for a while before heading up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johnbrenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Brenda and John,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and will happily share your comments with the team, particularly Mohammed, Fatima and Ramadan and Grace. I know they'll be pleased to hear that they helped make your stay so special. Thank you from me as well, I've been called many things in my time, entertaining hasn't been one of them! What a nice thing to say, although I think I had just as much fun speaking with you.

We continue to work on the situation with the beach boys. We appreciate your understanding that by law, it's public property and I'm glad that they didn't deter you from using the beach.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A week is not nearly enough in this beautiful place! Kim, the GM and her incredible staff were on hand to make us feel welcome and pampered all day and night. A perfect location; large rooms and bathrooms, situated within magnificent gardens and swimming pools (5 of them!) all looking onto the turquoise Indian ocean. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Barbara,

It's hard to find words to thank you for your absolutely wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and for your promise to return!

It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your whole group and we're thrilled that we lived up to your expectations. We're proud of our beautiful property and even more so of our hardworking team. I can't wait to share your lovely message with all of them! We're looking forward to your return and will ensure that the Dawa's are ready and waiting.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, do contact me directly when you're coming back!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
16.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,087 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Property: Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing